April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

There is no they.

by Zer0Kelvin - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Since the theme is minimalism, the only instructions are to use the mouse. Like minimalist art, this game leaves it up to the player to decide what it is.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#624Theme3.47
#758Innovation2.87
#1070Graphics2.33
#1192Overall2.47
#1894Coolness17%

Comments

Tyro says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:18am

Very unique concept and decent presentation! The game crashed when I won, but it ran perfectly. Good going!

gmaker says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:37am

nice! =)

May 2, 2013 @ 8:41am

A beautiful meditation on the nature of war. Thank you.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:20pm

Sweet

Sylvain.p says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Good idea, it's almost a political game (in a good way).

The game cannot be closed on my computer.

bvanschooten says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:08am

It was an interesting experience playing this.

Zer0Kelvin says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:33pm

@Tyro Glad you enjoyed the game! Sorry about the crash, I didn't have any on either of the computers I tested, but they were both Windows 7 (32 & 64). What are the specs on your computer?

Zer0Kelvin says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:37pm

@gmaker Thanks for playing!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:38pm

@CherryNukaCola Yep. I'm glad some people 'got' what I was going for. It was hard coming up for something for minimalism and I didn't want to miss another LD... I've not really done anything like this and was kinda hesitant going into 'art game' territory but I thought it fit the theme. I'm glad you liked it!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:38pm

@EdoMiyamoto Thanks for playing!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:43pm

@Sylvain.p I'm glad you liked it! It's kind of based on a the idea of sides and tribes and the futility of the 'other'.
I found that little bug after I submitted it. I put the quitting code in the main game but forgot to link it to the menu. So if you go back into a game, you can hit <Esc> (twice) to quit. To quit from the menu, you have to hit <Alt/F4>. I can fix it after voting is over I guess?

Zer0Kelvin says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:44pm

@bvanschooten I'm glad you got something out of it, thanks for playing!

Zer0Kelvin says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:45pm

BTW, I just discovered all these comments :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]