April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

zOne

by baldwinthree - 48 Hour Compo Entry

** EDIT #2 **
Just got told by a friend the ammo powerups weren't working - I made them not do anything after level 8, and mistook a > for a <. New version is up!

** EDIT **
Just in case, you have to run the ld26hoff_windows.exe. It's also in the readme. Have fun!

Created during Ludum Dare 26.
Used SFML 2.0 and MinGW for compilation.
Audacity for sound editing, Gimp for what few images I had, and Sublime Text 2 for my "IDE".

Started out as a gun-emplacement style shooter, but got changed to Asteroids after I saw the similarities.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness70%
#277Theme3.85
#376Mood3.12
#520Overall3.20
#565Fun2.98
#574Audio2.68
#596Graphics2.98
#958Innovation2.55
#961Humor1.67

Comments

notajetski says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14am

this game is pretty sweet!

larsendt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:18am

The menu is awesome :D

Rose says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:26am

This game is really elegant - the best example of minimalism I've seen so far.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:30am

I like that the aim of the game is remove as many things as possible, very in touch with the theme. I think the colors for the power ups might go against the main aesthetic, a change of shape alone could have suffice. It had me furiously clicking for my life, so it was engaging. Good work.

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:23am

As for as fun factor goes, this is the most fun I have had playing a game so far.

TheBenjaneer says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:16am

Nice game. I really love the Ui!

fishbrain says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:09am

Nice and minimal, good job!

May 3, 2013 @ 7:41am

Scoring it high on the theme because this seems to be one of the most minimalist games I've come across thus far. Well done.

May 3, 2013 @ 8:17am

I found the game to be too repetitive after the first couple of levels, and I didn't bother to continue playing. Maybe the game could have used some sort of ambient soundtrack?

Good job on the minimalism though! ~

free_napalm says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:22pm

I played through the whole game, but I found it too easy. It was exciting at first, but then I realized a collision with my triangle does not end the game. It appeared very hard to lose while holding down the shooting button.
Nice minimalist design though, great job on the level number display.

BipoleMoment says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:33pm

Loved this! I felt like it was a zombie scenario, where they keep crowding you and there's always more and more.

And more. And more. And more.

Cyboot says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:11pm

nice asteroids game. Like the others already said it really fits to the theme.

Good job!

glbs says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Nice game, visually attractive and with a title describing exactly what we experience. I really like the way the circles seem to be moving randomly until you see they're actually all aiming at you!

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:57pm

Fun and addictive game. Good job!

I wasn't really clear on when the power-ups would shoot out. Was it at random?

The game is basically Asteroids without the ability to move. It's a neat idea and, as I've said, it's enjoyable, though after a while, it seems like there's simply no chance because so many circles are closing in on you with no way for you to get away.

The simple graphics were effective, though the "zzzzhhh!" sound effect when you get a power-up seemed kind of out of place since it sounded like someone making a buzzing noise with their mouth, while all the other sound effects sound synthesized.

Overall, it's an enjoyable game. Nice work!

baldwinthree says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:12am

@Cybearg:
All the sound effects were actually done by mouth - whistling or "doop" sounds filtered through audacity, but I definitely agree on the powerup noise.... not much of an audio guy :)
You're right about the endgame (and even the middle-game). I spent the last few hours flopping between making the game way too difficult and way too easy, and finding some way to make it more skill-based than it is (like @free_napalm says, all you really have to do is hold down the mouse button). Unfortunately I couldn't find any way to do that which was within the no-instruction theme I used. Definitely learning a lot from this though - thanks for the feedback!

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Nice game, very minimalist great job!

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:57am

Great new spin on classic gameplay!

Ninjaxio says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Very great game, and DEFINITELY fits the theme!

May 20, 2013 @ 11:39pm

A fun game. There was very little feedback on powerups, if they were working. Really only seemed to get that yellow tracer-like round. The enemies drifting towards you all at once got a little too difficult in some stages.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]