April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Astral Offset

by bytegrove - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Timelapse: http://youtu.be/j0HmuHKOBvU

Steer - W/A/S/D or Arrow keys
Sword slash - Left Mouse Btn / L Ctrl
Move crate - Right Mouse Btn / L Alt (recommended in webplayer)

You can also play using an Xbox 360 gamepad or similar:
Move crate: A | Sword slash: B

--------------------------------------------

I didn't manage to implement a tutorial on time(might add it in a postcompo version based on feedback. The following are some hints on how to play the game, as it might be a little confusing:

--------------------------------------------

I wanted to incorporate the theme in the gameplay somehow. I decided to try to create a game in which you have two representations of the game world.

In Astral Offset you play in a 3d world while overlooking a simple minimalistic 2d world as well; the "astral plane". Pay attention to what happens in the astral plane and what effects it has as you play the game.

More info here:
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/04/29/astral-offset-mini-post-mortem

Potato enemies can be killed with the sword, the astral beings however must be defeated in their plane of existence.
Keys are scattered around the world and you'll need all of them to win, enemies drops keys as well. Crates can be pushed around or beamed as energy to the astral plane by slashing them with the sword.

--------------------------------------------

Found bugs:
* Sword slash active even though animation has stopped.
* Teleport cubes/crates sometimes get stuck far away from the player(feels like the camera controls them).
* More than one teleport cube can be slashed at the same time, and none is returned on hit(game breaking).

Feedback:
* Add mouse lock
* Improve depth perception/avoid dizziness
* Sword combat weird/hard/glitchy, maybe add auto targeting+ranged weapons?
* Tutorial to better explain concept
* More content :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#224Innovation3.57
#296Graphics3.43
#440Mood3.04
#468Audio2.84
#634Overall3.10
#648Humor2.10
#835Fun2.68
#1301Theme2.38

Comments

Diamonde says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Cool concept and cute graphics.

It feels kind of like playing two games at the same time, where you have this astral, calm world and the more action filled grounded world. I like the concept although I fail to see a relation to the theme.
I also feel that I grasped the concept after quite some time, and would have hoped for a few more levels as a reward! :)

Shigor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:08pm

How do I get to the astral?

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:34pm

Neat concept! Love the toque! I had a hard time hitting enemies with the sword though.

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:43pm

A winner is me!

I absolutely adore your art style and the perpective, especially since it's even relevant to the gameplay. The potato monsters are a little annoying in that they almost always seem to get two hits in before you can kill them, but it becomes manageable after a few tries.

I guess like always it's important to read the instructions that come with the game but it took me a while to figure out how to kill the box moster thingies. A real cool idea for that, though! Now we want MOAR CONTENT!

Shigor: You don't actually _go_ to the astral world, Diamonde is talking about the box monsters coming down from the sky.

PyroSneak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Pretty good game, nice graphics, and the music's pretty good too :)

Kitch says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:31pm

really like the "log rolling" world... made for a really neat effect. nice little set of mechanics in there as well. nice job!

omaromeir says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56am

Nice graphics and character, loved the concept but it was difficult to hit enemies with the sword at times :(. Good luck :D.

mortus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Are most enemies invincible? Or I just can't aim.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:19pm

@mortus:
The astral enemies that appear from the sky can't be killed directly with the sword, you must kill them in a different way.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Kinda neat & good art style but I seemed to run so far that stuff stopped spawning. Also the lack of depth perception fighting a bit of a pain. Maybe with an auto-locking ranged weapon that would be more fun.

T800 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Inteeresting gameplay, like the sounds very much!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:38pm

Love the art style.

paulmcgg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46pm

I love the idea of exploring the connection between the 2d and the 3d. Ideas like this fascinate me, metaphorical connections, and I actually wanted to work it in but there wasn't enough a time. Music was pretty nice too& rotating world.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:30pm

Love the graphic and the concept is very cool ! :D

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Kinda confusing but interesting concept. Although it doesn't really have much depth as it is. Artstyle kinda reminded me of the good old PSOne games.

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Nice entry

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:18pm

I love this! That faux-3D rolling-cylinder world concept is great, I might steal that idea. :) Really nice graphic style, and the map-in-the-sky astral plane idea is great.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Really awesome, I love the titular mechanic. It takes the whole Animal Crossing-style scrolling to a level beyond just aesthetic. My favorite I've played so far. Nice job!

Andrewves says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:03am

I like the idea and visual style of this game, good job.

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:18am

Awesome concept!
I like the vertical scrolling, pretty cool!
good job :p.

Gravity Games says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:34pm

I really liked this game a lot, though combat is a bit awkward from the angle the camera is at (at least awkward before you get used to it). However, there were quite a few glitches, for instance, I apparantly went to far, and was able to control the teleporting cubes with the camera (unless that was supposed to happen), and holding down the sword button allows you to keep attacking, even though the animation stops. All in all, it was a very interesting and cool game, and I would love to see it continued in another form.

May 2, 2013 @ 2:06am

Neat idea. Took me some time to understand what was going on, but still cool.

Pretty neat trick how you got it to look like you're running around an endless cylinder.

gregdevice says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:21am

Nice work! I couldn't hit anything, maybe I'm doing something wrong. There's an easy way to capture the mouse in Unity in the browser window and disable the right click button. Nice Work! Interesting perspective.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:04am

Liked the basic mechanic of the world on a cylinder. I got a little dizzy after a while :)

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:46am

Stars made of bytes fall from sky in an infinite loop while the potato demons try to steal my astral body and the dark squares want to kill me too XD
This is an ironic epopee to find the essential key of life using astral travels, like our dreams? cool!.
I ran out of things in this world, no keys, no doors, no potatoes, no nothing, an empty , void world, just running around XD
I like the idea of walking in a continuously generated world, with dangers lying in wait for us, the key (essential) things of life are hard to know and understand.

bytegrove says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:34am

I'm glad to see that you liked the concept! Thanks for the great feedback! Thanks for the bug reports as well, I will add them to the list! :)

daniel2357 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:08pm

Nice concept, very mice graphics but i could not find the last key somehow. Nice Work :).

Uhfgood says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:42pm

It was a little weird to play, and I didn't know half of what I was doing.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:09pm

Very nice game !

Boiúna says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:14am

Good job. The game overall is very good.

ataxkt says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:40pm

Perspective is cool, but very confusing to the point that its offputting. Needs a shadow or something to help you understand positioning more intuitively!

sudorossy says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:41am

It bugged out on me a little and I fell through the world. Other than that, it was pretty cool to play!

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:27pm

Very interesting game, I love the rolling-pin landscape idea. The stars show you the way

kyyninen says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Love the idea of two different worlds interacting, but I had no idea what was happening in the game itself! Luckily instructions cleared that up quickly. I was little disappointed there wasn't epic end battle in the astral plane when door opened. Going past the end of game and just leaning towards rolling eternity was kinda beautiful though.

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:08am

Ohwow! Not bad, bot bad.
Movement mechanic looking fresh and awesome!

Galvesmash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:38am

Great game! Love the art style!

GameNacho says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:51pm

Woah really cool perspective, it works well! Nice game too!

henrykun says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:12pm

Beautiful game!, graphics are very good and sounds too. The mechanics are simple and fun, great job!

Codexus says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:42am

Cute game, the gameplay idea is really nice but not so easy to understand at first.

Sebastian says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Cool, I love the way the trees pop up out of the horizon. Moving the crates is a bit awkward using alt in the webplayer build. Perhaps disabling context menu for web would have been a good idea so that right clicking would have been viable, or even just auto pushing crates when you're near them.
Anyway, that's just a minor gripe, pretty fun and very interesting looking game overall.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]