April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Acorn

by DeusRoffe - Jam Entry

You guide a hungry squirrel desperately trying to gather food.

The squirrel is always running, by placing different kinds of boosters you can guide him to the next acorn.

Will the squirrel be able to live till next summer?

(Game requires Java 7 or later)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#242Innovation(Jam)3.07
#278Fun(Jam)2.87
#338Audio(Jam)2.67
#363Graphics(Jam)2.87
#374Overall(Jam)2.87
#518Theme(Jam)2.33
#1828Coolness22%

Comments

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:25am

Game can use some polish. The block placing mechanic is interesting.

doobdargent says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:12pm

I wish I could move the camera. It's too hard to place block while the squirrel run !

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:16pm

Good game! Like the graphic ;)

keksdev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:30pm

I don't understand the usage of the buttons below, how can i switch to other blocks? Its not intuitively!

drstik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:34pm

A great concept. I think the game could benefit from starting off a little slower, although maybe my reflexes are just not what they once were :)

Beldarak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Damn, I suck at this game :D

But it's nice, the game mechanic is interesting

Jod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:44am

Played this on my laptop, sadly couldn't reach the button because the screen was too high :(

aeveis says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Interesting with the block placement, kind of hard to place though. Sometimes the squirrel would get stuck so I would have to start over.

klianc09 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Interesting mechanic, but squirrel gets stuck too easily and maybe moves too fast. I like creating a bridge of slowdown-blocks, it's like easy-mode.

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 5:30pm

I like the concept of modifying the level as it runs. I found it difficult to place the blocks accurately while the screen was scrolling though.

May 20, 2013 @ 11:29pm

Interesting concept. The squirrel needs to be able to automatically try jumping over blocks. Very easy to accidentally trap your squirrel.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]