April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Eraseregg

by OddballDave - Jam Entry

Controls

Cursor keys: Move
X: Jump
Space: Toggle draw/play mode
R: Reset level
Mouse: Erase ground

Instructions

An alien race has stolen your egg. In revenge you must destroy their homeworld and rescue your egg. Use the mouse to erase as much of the ground as possible whilst still being able to reach the egg. You only receive your score upon collecting the egg, and the more ground you erase the higher you score will be. Good luck.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#75Innovation(Jam)3.60
#275Graphics(Jam)3.17
#319Humor(Jam)1.95
#349Overall(Jam)2.93
#352Theme(Jam)3.07
#419Mood(Jam)2.46
#434Audio(Jam)1.79
#456Fun(Jam)2.33

Comments

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:32pm

Interesting Idea!

rxi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

This felt like an incredibly innovative idea, in fact, I don't believe I've ever seen anything similar in concept before.

I found the platforming was a bit frustrating as the protagonist's movement was uncomfortably fast. That being said I still enjoyed the overall experience of the game due to it's originality. It'd be very interesting to see the game's concept explored further in more of a full and polished game.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Really interesting idea, but the player movement made it rather frustrating to actually play. The art is nice.

OddballDave says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:19pm

The controls were purposely left a little rough so that the player has to really think about which parts of the level he can erase and still make it to the egg. Maybe I left them a bit too rough though.

cacciatc says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Best use of the theme I have seen so far.

multitude says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:58pm

I love the concept and the design, but the mechanics are a bit frustrating. But all in all this is a really innovative and nice game!

sboerwinkle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Interesting idea, and I like the scoring system. If you could make it a little more competitive / engaging that'd be nice, but you've definitely done well.

lasergans says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Very interesting idea!

ilovepixel says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:04am

Great idea! this could be something that can be exploited a lot! Nice art too.

Andy Go says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Really nice concept!

brookman32k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:37pm

The screenshot of your game reminded me of lemmings. I like graphics style and the idea is also something new, but I think the controls are to sloppy. A game shouldn't be hard because of inaccurate controls. This makes you think that you are not in control. Also, I think with the right background music, the game could be more atmospheric.

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:41am

Very clever idea! Also like the retro graphics. nice job :)

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:46am

Cool idea!
But I think the move is a little too smooth.
Anyway, Good job :p!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:09pm

I love the game idea, but I think the character jump is too strong.

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:29pm

So what's a good high score? I got 36,532 :) Would have been good to have a... some way of judging your score without having to compare on forums/here - like a bronze/silver/gold comparison score to aim for. Nice original idea, interesting take on the theme, good job.

_Rilem says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:49pm

I like how you interpreted the theme with this game :D
The graphics look nice. The gameplay could use some tweaking though.

Pixelulsar says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Really good use of the theme, and the graphics look nice. It was weird that you didn't fall of the bottom of the screen, it looks like you should have been able to.

miotatsu says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:13am

this is amazing! I was skeptical at first but once I tried it I realized how cool this is. Definitely my favorite entry conceptually so far. I think you are on to something great here :)

Benjamin says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 3:25pm

The gameplay idea is nice, but it really looks like a designer "edit mode" now. If you want it part of the game you should add some rewarding stuff like real-time increasing score on erase, so the player can quickly understand that erasing is the core mechanic of the game. The tiles art is gorgeous.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]