April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Murder on the Tuberosum

by thenmal - Jam Entry

tl;dr - Walk around ship and listen to crew members (to make them speak walk into rooms, stay in room until they finish). Attempt to save the crew by brigging the correct person at the correct time. The game is not random in anyway so use your knowledge from previous plays to find the killer.


This is our game for Ludum Dare 26 jam: Murder on the Tuberosum

This is our first completed Ludum Dare game and we hope you guys enjoy it!
We had a lot of fun making it! Thanks to everyone that tries it out, and thank you to our friends for voice acting and writing music for us!

Story:
The Captain thinks a mutiny is underway on the Tuberosum, but is that the only threat the ship faces? As the ship's Security Officer it's your job to save the ship and her crew, but you can only brig a single crew member at a time. Can you save the Tuberosum?

Theme: Minimalism:

Minimal Abilities: You can walk, listen, call red alert, and brig. No guns, No powers.
Minimal HUD: The only HUD element is the brig option.
Minimal Style: Explore a clean modern spaceship with a crew of simple stylized aliens.

Hints:
If nothing seems to be happening you may need to press the 'B' key to call everyone to bridge so you can choose who to brig.
There are many branches, you will need multiple play-throughs to see them, simply reload the webpage to start over.

Credits:
Music - Jeff Craft
Voice Acting - Robert Price and Chris Schulze
Everything else - Joseph and Sonya Utecht

Tools Used:
Unity Pro Trial
ProBuilder Trial
Chat Mapper Trial
Sculpturis Alpha
Blender
Audacity
App Notion
Paint Tool Sai(Read Me-art)
chronolapse - timelapse (will be uploaded later)
notepad++
notepad
friends' voice and music talents

*Update*
Fixed a few bugs found while making the ports to win/osx and linux (however there is still a few more before we are ready to publish them), web version and source have been updated.
If you are experiencing very high mouse sensitivity you may need to turn your mouse sensitivity down as there is no good way to adjust this from the unity web interface, sorry we didn't catch this in development. :(

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness64%
#133Innovation(Jam)3.40
#146Humor(Jam)2.73
#147Audio(Jam)3.35
#153Mood(Jam)3.35
#261Overall(Jam)3.16
#317Fun(Jam)2.79
#354Graphics(Jam)2.90
#411Theme(Jam)2.84

Comments

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35am

Touchy mouse controls.Other than that neat concept gj u two..

BahamutZaero says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:42am

Interesting concept! A minimalistic version of a Star Trek episode, essentially.

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:44am

interesting but there were a lot of empty rooms and I couldn't quite figure out the controls. How do I bring someone to the brig anyway?

netpro2k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:45am

Mouse sensitivity is a bit too high. Cool concept, but was a bit hard to follow what was going on at times.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:46am

Very cool game. Liked the graphics and the sound. Would like maybe a few more hud elements to help gameplay. other than that great job

thenmal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:48am

@bobKat When the red alert is sounding and people are gathered in the bridge (which you can trigger yourself with B) you just walk up to someone and left click (it should say something in the middle of the sceen) once you have clicked on them they will walk to the brig, just follow them to end the day.

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Very interesting, nice.

anjack says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:34am

Awesome! I loved the voice acting! I'm a huge sci-fi & murder-mystery fan so this was a real treat.

Leginar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:43am

This is such a great game. I should be checking out some of the other LD entries.... but I'm too busy trying to figure out whodunnit. :)

hamster_mk_4 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:33am

The voice acting was nice, but the quantity of sound caused this entry to take very long do download.

Switchbreak says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:02am

Really cool idea! I got killed by the mutineers, but I could totally see this going neat places later on. I wish there was an easy way to see who was talking in the multi-person conversations. The controls are pretty hard to get used to, kinda made me motion sick.

But I love love love the concept. You really should make this into a larger game.

pansapiens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:54am

Great idea and a big effort with all that voice acting content. I almost thought I was listening to Commander Tuvok for a second there :) Along with the high mouse sensitivity, I found selecting a player to brig tricky - didn't always seem to change when I centred my field of view on them. Got him in the end though :)

KEFIR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:16pm

wow.. maybe it's Unity issue but this game hanged my Chrome and ate all my memory :(

S0larCode says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:17pm

A bit hard to follow, but a great game nonetheless!

TheCze says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Had a little bit trouble with the controls but really liked the idea.

Ariake81 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:35pm

love the idea, columbo vs star trek. controls are a little twitchy but perfectly playable. Great little gaming experience

May 2, 2013 @ 10:08pm

It's a spacehip! With a bridge and aliens and everything!

Codexus says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:29pm

I love star trek so this was fun. I can't say I really understood what was going on though, I just jailed random people until I got the right one. It would be great to expand the game with an inventory and clues to pick up! Nice voice acting!

MinionStudios says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:30am

Awesome! The voice acting is very impressive!

May 11, 2013 @ 4:00am

has a few physics freak-outs :\

KevinLaity says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:25am

Nice concept, I had a hard time with the mouse sensitivity though.

May 19, 2013 @ 10:02am

I really, really enjoyed this concept. As many have mentioned, it was like an isolated Star Trek episode, and I mean that in the best way possible. The voice acting was great, although I would have liked to see the writing be a bit more robust. If these characters had personalities and motivations to go along with everything else this would be a much stronger narrative.
At the risk of sounding repetitive, I'll echo the issues with mouse sensitivity and discerning who is speaking in group conversations. The music also didn't seem to fit the mood of the story and concept, and ended well before I finished the game.

I hope you continue to work on this game - with fleshed-out visuals, stronger writing and maybe another mechanic or two (an inventory/clue system, perhaps), this could be a really strong experience.

metaldemon says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 12:33pm

nice game, it certainly has an experience going for it :D

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]