April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

TNAFT

by Mysterarts - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hey,
This is my third entry!
(Sorry in advance for my english)

TNAFT (There's No Accounting For Taste), a small web & mobile game made in 8 hours about colors...

I was traveling this weekend! So I decided to do a "high-speed train Ludum Dare". I took advantage of my hours by train to make a very simple game! No time for sounds and well... a very minimalist art.

Technologies:
- HTML + CSS
- JS + Jquery
- PHP + Mysql

Two steps:
1) Vote for your favorite colors
2) Bet on people favorite colors (one minute game)

The game should display fine on smartphone :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness75%
#48Innovation4.02
#95Theme4.11
#352Overall3.38
#438Fun3.11
#489Graphics3.12
#670Humor2.07
#906Mood2.53
#1047Audio1.47

Comments

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:38am

Nice concept, surprisingly fun :)

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01am

I couldn't stop until I was first in the top scores. Good game and a fun method of figuring out how unique you are (at least in color perception area).

Andy Go says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58am

Super :) !
J'ai fait un score moisi par contre mais c'est paske les gens aiment des couleurs dégueulasses.

ned366 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:00pm

Cool game, it was quick but I too am on a train, so it worked out well! Touch events were smooth and i liked the bumper effect when selecting a color. I played it on an android phone via the android browser.

Rafael Sales says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:57pm

Great concept!

robmozart says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Interesting high score list.

TylerC says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Sticks true to the theme and it's a cool concept. Nice!

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16pm

I'm not sold on the gameplay, I don't think I "get" it? But I appreciate the polish, details and uniformity of the visuals :)

siondream says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Very interesting concept and good as a social experiment! Nice touch the social network feature, it fits within the game :-D.

lulzfish_4 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:17pm

Ouch, I only got 25 points. I guess people prefer more saturated colors, and they don't like shades of purple at all.

It's not boring, but it's not really fun either. Reminds me of the XKCD color naming thing.

rezoner says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:18pm

Great social experiment! Yet I am a bit sad that people don't agree with my colors :)

tankete says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Interesting!

Yakka says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:55am

Very innovating and fun. I loved it.

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Nice job, and good use of the theme! I'm pretty clueless when it comes to colors, and this game measures that accurately, heh. The scoreboard with colors instead of names is a very nice touch.

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Love the idea! I always love social experiments in game form. Will be interesting to see what kind of results you get from the run of the game.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:40pm

Minimal at its best! Nice work - fun and simple. Don't know if I'd play it more than twice.

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47pm

Like everyone else has been saying, very interesting concept! Very nicely formatted/visually appealing I might add. Great work!

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:20am

I love the concept!

patrickward says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:55pm

Neat little social game. It would be interesting to see the aggregate results of how well people did on average (i.e. collect the stats as more people play the game). Good job!

zatyka says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:32pm

A rare type of game to see on Ludum dare. I really enjoyed it. Keep up the good work!

amodo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:50pm

I like this very much. Great idea! People like stupid colors! :D

Robrock55 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:52pm

Great game, unless you are colorblind :P

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Excellent idea. Good job already to do this... very interesting socially in a disconnected way.

Tozy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:34pm

good title xD
it reflects what i felt while playing xD

shiprib says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:58am

What a cool concept! I love the idea of players shaping the content.

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:10am

Huh, that's pretty cool! Seems there really *is* no accounting for taste. ;)

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 11:35am

Nice concept :)

michail says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 12:02am

Simple, but surprisingly fun! I found that any shade of blue was usually a good bet. Really cool concept!

stqn says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 3:45am

Cool idea!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]