April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Robot Boogie

by Skulls - Jam Entry

The idea behind this game is to take a simple platformer and using minimal color effects and music create an experience that is larger than the sum of its parts.

There is also an online high score board for those of you who want to prove you have the best platforming skills. A large part of the game is collecting coins and getting a higher combo score to get more points.

If anybody wants the soundtrack I also included the OST, as many of the songs you won't hear for their full duration.

Warning may cause seizures

Controls
a&d to move left and right
w to jump
spacebar to shoot laser
ctrl to use gadget

Game by: Robert Reed
Music by: Jack Troisi

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#86Audio(Jam)3.57
#125Humor(Jam)2.84
#126Fun(Jam)3.31
#281Mood(Jam)2.89
#310Overall(Jam)3.00
#383Theme(Jam)2.94
#420Graphics(Jam)2.67
#475Innovation(Jam)2.24

Comments

FloatingGhost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:10pm

Very nice sound effects, crashed on me at the stomper thingy.

Skulls says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:29am

Weird, did it give you an error message. I tried it and couldn't replicate the bug.

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:07am

nice game -- i love the sound effect when the dude jumps -- might try again later if i have more time -- want to see how many levels i can get thru.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:09am

I couldn't help but laugh through the whole game because the music was great. I had a good time playing the game.

I can't think of much criticism other than polishing it up. Good game, thanks for making it

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36am

Enjoyed this quite a bit. Sounds and graphics were both quite good! Online leaderboards is always a plus!!!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57am

MediaFire adds an extraneous layer of bullshit between me and the game.

The sounds are pretty sweet, especially the music that plays during the colour changing sequence. More importantly, it plays fairly well.

OnlySlightly says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

Loved the freeze ray mechanic. And absolutely loved when it went into the disco mood. All the colors and music made me really care about upping my combo and really disappointed when I lost it.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

Audio and level design are really good. My only problem is that I didn't feel much need of my gadgets - platforming and shooting was fluid enough.

devPhil says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:09am

I have to say this is a pretty rad game. Boogie mode was hilarious! Dig the music too :)

YSelf Tool says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Wow, that's fun! And good music btw

lorancou says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:11pm

Great game … the double jump is very good …

DBRalir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:54pm

Excellent game, certainly better than most. Level design is very good, but I never used the freeze ray.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:01am

I like this.... it is easy to play and you respect the theme.... tks for this little game

manabreak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:35am

I had no idea what was going on there, but I got like four or five levels by just leaning on space and jumping like a madma... er, mad robot. :)

DesignerNap says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:48pm

Just wanted to say thanks for the Gamemaker advice. Exe exported now and on my page! :D

SuperDisk says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:33am

Neat little game.

Finn Stokes says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:23am

Nice audio and really cool transition at max combo. The gameplay itself was solid although it felt like there was some excess complexity.

Ray_Mickelino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:28pm

Hmm, Pretty good game. I like it.

ddionisio says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:07am

Man, I love the music in all respect. As soon as the psychedelic mode initiated, I just had to keep it going. I enjoyed playing this game overall!

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:40am

I'm on a Mac. Sorry :(

Floko says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 12:23pm

interesting idea! You might want to make some colors less saturate so they can have more harmony

AlexFili says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 2:48pm

I liked the music. The graphics were alright but more work could have been done on the backdrop to make it fit in better. Not sure if it was intentional but there's a gap of a few seconds when switching between normal and disco modes, it's a bit irritating since it stops the gameplay and interrupts the player. Overall though this is pretty fun.

Skulls says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 4:20am

Thanks for the nice comments
@Alexfili
I don't know what you mean by a gap between switching, all that happens is the blocks and background start flashing colors there isn't a pause or anything.

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:06am

Oh man, what a trip it is to play this game! It's been a while since I felt the boogie fever, you certainly brought it back in spades! :D

EggDestroyer says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Let's boogie ! The controls are awkward IMO (confused me during the whole game), I never used my gadgets as only shooting is enough, the small freezes between the modes are a bit annoying and I feel the enemies behaviour is quite random. But the whole "disco" mood is so excellent I still enjoyed the game a lot, and the whole sound design is excellent. Good job :D

CiderPunk says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 11:11am

mediafire are bad! get a dropbox.
loved boogie mode but the controls bugged me, why WSAD when you're barely using your right hand at all??

Pisti says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Cool sound effects - the levels and the skills are well designed!

Zaxuhe says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Loved the music, great combination between game jumps and music!

stefan says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Great game! Who doesn't want to start dancing when playing this? :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]