April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

RGB

by Legogris - 48 Hour Compo Entry

HTML puzzle game.

Minimize the field and make it white. You can't step on a tile containing elements of your own color. Stepping on a tile mixes in your color.
In later stages one color is always masked out on the stage.

Tested and works in Firefox, Chrome and Mobile Safari.
Should be somewhat responsive and work either with keyboard or touch controls.

--- WHAT I USED ---
* Libraries used: Hammer.js (for touch gestures) and Modernizr (for feature detection)
* Apart from that it's all vanilla JavaScript, CSS and HTML

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#284Innovation3.47
#371Theme3.73
#721Overall3.00
#843Fun2.67
#1197Graphics2.13
#1894Coolness17%

Comments

Apr 28, 2013 @ 4:47pm

You should rethink the design of level 5...

Legogris says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 9:40pm

@Sebastian: Do you say that because the gameplay is not good or because you don't like the use of buddhist Manji symbol?

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:03pm

Hello, fellow HTML game maker person. I love the concept. Still stuck on level 4 but trying to get past it.

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 11:04pm

Aaaand got past it. The rules for which colors you erase take some time to figure out.

And I must agree about level 5, looks too much like a swastika.

Jaus_LXXIV says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40am

Our games share a name! Of course I had try yours :)
It's a neat concept, but once you introduce the filters I'm completely lost. I passed level 6 through trial and error but level 7 is just way beyond me at the moment.

BortStudios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

These were pretty tough, but fun

FenrisWolf says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:38pm

It's pretty tough, but I love the concept!

DaveDobson says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 4:18am

Cool game! Simple, but a lot of complexity. I tend to think in primary and secondary colors better than in RGB, so that would have been a little easier for me, but it was still fun to try to work out how to do it. It might have been cool to have an undo or savepoint feature so you could backtrack to a certain point where you screwed up. Neat idea, simple but well executed.

iossif says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:57pm

very nerdy. very minimalistic. well done!

rwos says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 11:53am

Very nice gameplay idea! There's still some potential in the visualization - some kind of graphical effects or animations would have been nice. Also, there are quite a bit too many swastika levels for my taste (yes, yes, it's an old symbol and the Nazis used a mirrored version, yada-yada - still, I book that as "provocation"). The game itself is surprisingly fun to play, however!

Benjamin says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 7:12am

Great idea for a puzzle, very innovative. Blocking on your color is easily understandable, the mix stuff is also understandable but is not very intuitive. For a non-programmer or non-graphic designer the game could be messy to learn.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]