April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

goldmine

by frosty - Jam Entry

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#121Theme(Jam)3.70
#129Fun(Jam)3.30
#154Graphics(Jam)3.67
#174Mood(Jam)3.27
#174Overall(Jam)3.37
#195Audio(Jam)3.17
#362Humor(Jam)1.80
#499Innovation(Jam)2.10
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

enzo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:54pm

That sunset is super classy, and also the dot in the i in 'goldmine' was a nice touch I think!

h2n0 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Good game love how the art changes as you go into the goldmine

Andrewves says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:18am

I really like the simplistic art style and mood of this game.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:28am

Awesome graphics, gameplay is perfect!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Really liked the style!

Alphonsus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Simple and fun gameplay, and I love the graphics!

Tate says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Fantastic as always frosty. Great job man!

Nick Cash says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:17pm

From my Jammate Brian: "The minimal music and style were nice. The scanlines were a nice touch graphically. Fun to play through real quick."

AlexFili says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:52pm

It's a fun game but a little hard in places. The collision detection isn't pixel perfect but it does a satisfactory job. Good game!

naufr4g0 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:24pm

Good minimalist art design here! :D
I like the game and the graphic style.
I don't like too much collision detection, that have some bugs.

klianc09 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:05pm

At first it is not clear that the cacti harmful, they seem to belong to the background, still the overall art is really pretty. In terms of gameplay, it's a solid platformer, but there is nothing special about it. But it's good that you managed to polish your game.

geepit says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Cool style, nice game

foyosoft says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 6:25pm

Brilliant! Great game. Loved the graphics and game play. Simple controls meant that any dying was the player's fault and not the game. Awesome!!

Harsay says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:47am

Minimalisitc atari-like graphics. I like this kind of games. I found some little collision bugs (I know that it's very annoying to write collision code. Waterfall (?) level was challenging. For future try to implement jump delay after being on ground tile. It was fun to play.

CiderPunk says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 10:58am

Super frustrating on the first screen with the bats but kept me coming back, i'm not sure i like the way he falls either, otherwise very nice!

Pisti says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Awesome graphics, blends nice with the music! The level with the 4 bats was a bit tricky - the collision also resolves in a weird way when you jump into the top tile. Nice entry!

Mach60KAS says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:47pm

Wow, I really enjoyed this! The music wasn't made in an autotracker, which was rally refreshing! The graphics fit the theme well, I thought the visual style was very strong. Well done! :)

MinionStudios says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 2:58pm

Well done and very challenging!

Zaxuhe says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:29pm

I liked the game, simple and minimalistic

lorancou says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:24pm

Quite a classical platformer but I like your art. Kudos for that!

metadept says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 4:33pm

This was a lot of fun! The graphical style worked very well, and the simple audio also fit perfectly. The levels were pretty well designed with a good amount of variety. If you keep working on it, it would be worth spending some time on the edge mechanics for jumping and landing on platforms, because it was sometimes too mushy and sometimes too touchy. Great job all in all, though.

May 20, 2013 @ 10:50pm

Enjoyed the hell out of this. Great art, levels and music. Collision was off and could be polished up but short and sweet and I played till the end. Good stuff.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]