April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

WhiteSpace

by argo15 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

WhiteSpace

Huge thanks to timtipgames for helping me get this to work on AMD, make sure you check out his game MONO
http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/ludum-dare-26/?action=preview&uid=15341

Controls:
WASD to move.
Mouse to look around.
Click to send out a pulse.
The world is completely white, when you click the mouse button the edges of objects around you get colored in, and a pulse gets sent out to give you a glimpse of where to go next.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#200Innovation3.61
#235Theme3.89
#566Mood2.86
#584Overall3.14
#595Graphics2.99
#816Audio2.25
#940Fun2.56
#984Humor1.63

Comments

NiftyLlama says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33am

Windows said that it could not run the .exe but it looks good.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:38am

Couldn't run the game, I got the following error:

The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect. Please see the application event log or use the command-line sxstrace.exe tool for more detail.

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

Thanks for the info, looking into it.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:40am

Very interesting concept. Nice use of the theme.

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

Thanks guys, working copy should be up now. (Curses to VC++ 2008 compiler)

NemoStein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58am

The world doesn't show to (white only) like in the YouTube video.

AlgidPlasma says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:45am

Had some potential. Really reminded me of the unfinished swan. Keep working with this!

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07am

Can't close window after playing

Martze says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:07am

Doesn't work for me. The walls don't show up, even when I pulse.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:08am

Ingenious.

baldwinthree says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11am

Couldn't get past the second level after a couple of tries, but I absolutely love the aesthetic and the pulse noise. Very clever idea, and mad props for building it in native OpenGL and GLUT.

pjchardt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:15am

Nice. I had no problems running the game on a Windows 7 64 bit OS. I enjoyed the short range/permanent markings coupled with the long range/temporary markings of the pulse. Nice balance.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02am

Very fun! Although I found it frustating sometimes but I guess that's the point. I'll play again :)

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:02am

Nice game and interesting concept.

A few things you need to fix IMO : the pulse sound effect is making my ears bleed, and the pulse should be more limited (30 pulses for the first level is way too much, I would slow the effect down a bit, make it "wider" and give way less pulses to the player). It would be nice to send a pulse automatically when you switch level too.

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:06am

Crashes at the very beginning, Win8 64bit. Error name is just "APPCRASH", exception code is 40000015 (if it helps).

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:09am

Ran fine for me :) Got up to Level 5, but couldn't get passed it :( I think it was my "enthusiastic" use of the pulse xD

Broxxar says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36am

Couldn't get the strategy. Though I've been lost in a corn maze for like 4 hours before so when I can't even see the walls of the maze I'm in I don't stand a chance.

Neat concept though, gameplay wise it's missing something though I can't quite pinpoint what.

timtipgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:32am

Would like to play this, but all it shows is this:
http://tinyurl.com/clyh2wq
Will check back later to see if there's a fix

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:33pm

If all you're seeing is white, try clicking and looking around, that is intended.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Cool idea, very good application of the theme. Liked the camera trickery. Mouse sensitivity was a little high for my taste.

whiteravens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Unplayable. Just loads a white screen with no walls, and only the UI present. Also, the mouse disappears that I had to open Task Manager to close it.

Beerman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Cool concept. I couldn't quite work out what the rule was as to which walls stayed visible after the pulse but I managed to just about make it to level 2 anyway.

Cosine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

I think this game is a pretty interesting, but I would like to see a little more instruction.

SirJson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Only a white screen here :-/

Covenant says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Unfortunately, couldn't play it as well... Just a white screen... Sometimes I would see something, but only when the camera was pointed in some weird way, and it wasn't dependent on the pulse...

Too bad, I really wanted to try this one, seemed like an excelent take on the theme!

atraxgames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:58pm

Not bad, cool "pen drawing" style.

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:03pm

I wish I could resolve some of the issues commented here. Any info such as OS or graphics card?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Very clever!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:09pm

YouTube video looks cool but when I run the game I only see white. It shows my stats and says use WASD to move and when I click I hear a sound effect but nothing happens.

AstroEngiSci says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:13pm

Very clever concept, this game has a lot of potential if fleshed out.

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:53pm

just a circle and nothing else ....

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54pm

nice concept

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:39am

Really innovative I feel. Definitely is minimalism!

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:40am

This was incredible well done.

I love the way the game works and the mechanics. It frustrates me (in a good way!) that only the short range of your "ping" will actually remain.

maloki says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02am

Reminds me of Daredevil withe the "sonar" thing. Nice work, but quite frustrating from the start. Would have been nice to ease in the player before going into more complex layouts.

Nice work building this game, with a cool concept, too!

stromchin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:51am

I love the graphics style.

Prelucid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18am

I like it. Kind of like a echolocation game.

Infernal says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:47am

only white screen except for the circle when pulsed.

Xaychru04 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:22am

Cool game, reminded me of Antichamber :D

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:20am

Good take on the theme, and well realised too :) Check out my game, I tried to go for a similar thing with audio only - it didn't work out so well :p

Stiju says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:38am

Really nice concept.
The last level was hard, took me a while to find the exit.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:29am

Innovating game, pretty cool, but i think you can really improve the mood with a background music !

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

Tried again, so here is what happens:
Pulsing doesn't show anything. World stays white. Only the circle is showing up sometimes. The pulse sound does play. Neither moving nor looking around does help.
Windows 7 64bit, Gfx ATI 7950. Will come back...

argo15 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:21am

thanks tim, I'm a bit busy for a while so I'll make an edit note in the description when I attempt a fix for it.

4BitLightning says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:43pm

As baldwinthree said, congrats for making a functional 3D OpenGL game in the two days, it is a little unfinished (like my own entry) but a good puzzler. If you want to know my sugestions for the game I would say, make the pulse last longer, if possible you could make it fade out slower but have it quickly fade if you move so you can take a slower approach to the levels. Also pits or areas that reset the level would stop people just wandering blindly to try and finish a level early. Very cool idea though.

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:51pm

The game runs fine, but when I pulse, nothing happens =\

jolle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Cool concept, but it appears not to work entirely for me. It runs, but I don't get to see wall outlines, not even when pulsing. I do get to see the target sphere, and can almost play it by be feeling for walls by walking and seeing if the sphere stops moving etc, but I never see the walls.

I have an AMD card and is running Windows 8.

boboKat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Great idea and well executed. The simple elements of design (time pressure and limited resources) are enough to make it fun and challenging. One suggestion - some auditory signal that the time is running out.

psychomonster says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:35am

That is a great idea. I think this game prototype could be a good long term project... cannot remember for a game like this... thx for this entry!

Jorjon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:14am

Broken for me, on Windows 8, card info: http://gpuz.techpowerup.com/13/05/01/h93.png

Jellycakes says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:25am

Really cool, I like the pulsing mechanic. Makes the game really interesting. Good job!

Diamonde says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:29am

Very cool concept! A few more gameplay elements and I believe this game could become something really great :)

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Sorry, it doesn't work properly so I won't rate.

BrothersT says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:12pm

doesn't work, pulsing does nothing. I can see the walls brifly if I turn, but for the most part I just appear to be in white space with a couple of lines around me! :(

Chronodrax says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:32pm

The pulse didn't work for me neither. If that helps, my graphic card is an AMD Radeon HD 7900. I really wanted to test this one; I even finished the 1st level without seeing any walls, just the exit :D
The concept reminds me of the Unfinished Swan, and the recent Pulse that has been kickstarted, yet in a more minimalist way :)

Fritzendugan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:24am

Interesting concept. At first I was like "well I'll just spam the echo" then quickly realized there's a limit (which makes sense to make it challenging). The game's only sound effect quickly grew tiresom. I think you could've easily incorporated sound into your game a lot more. Maybe everytime you sent out a ping, when it reached the exit, the exit would "resonate" with an intensity of how close you were. This would give you something a little more to go on rather than wandering around in a void. Also, maybe leaving what you've already explored colored in dimly with the black/white wireframe, but color things hit by the pulse in with a little more detail that fades as the pulse fades. Music would've been cool, too. Of course, I realize all of this is a little unreasonable for a 48hr compo, but it's just stuff to think about.

Other than that, pretty cool for what it is. I've often though of similar concepts for games, but you actually pulled it off. Well done.

timtipgames says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:45am

Concerning the not working versions it doesn't seem to be a win8 but merely an ATI problem, doesn't it? :) Still wanna play this and will come back every now and then :)

argo15 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:05am

Thanks for believing in me tim XD. It works on some ATI cards so this is pretty difficult to diagnose, since I don't have a broken machine to test it on and I'm working based only on comments.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Good idea. Minimal view from what is closer to you. Nice job!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Great mechanic. Crazy universe that you have created.

Spiridios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:17am

Doesn't appear to work with my AMD Radeon HD 6800 nothing but white no matter how many times I click, move the mouse, or push WASD. You also seem to have an issue with mouse capture as the mouse escapes and starts clicking on other windows requiring that I exit the game.

Orni says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:14pm

the idea is great!

this is a wonderful proof of concept. I'd really like to play a post compo version of this

well done :)

argo15 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:37am

Got it working on AMD, big thanks to timtipgames.

alcazar says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 8:16am

I like it, it's remember me a game with the same concept, called "Wander"
gg

GreaseMonkey says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:04pm

This is a compo entry. WHERE'S THE SOURCE CODE.

Thanks.

argo15 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Source code is included in the download. Although it needs to be updated to include the AMD bug fix.

May 7, 2013 @ 5:58pm

Sadly I get a Runtime error message when I try to start it on my Win XP (32bit) laptop. :(

The message:

"

May 7, 2013 @ 5:59pm

"Microsoft Visual C++ Runtime Library

Runtime Error!

Program [...]\WhiteSpace.exe


This application has requested the Runtime to terminate it in an unusual way. Please contact the application's support team for more information."

TurboDindon says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:37am

Crashes at the very beginning too.
What a pity, I wanted to play it! :'(
It seems to be a good visual experience.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Spiridios says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:25am

Very interesting game play. I like that you get brief pulses of vision. Not sure how I felt about persisting the vision for nearby walls. I almost think it would be neat to simplify the mazes and ONLY rely on pulses... But that would require some play testing to see if it works. Great job on innovation!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]