April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Five

by tzamora - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The game is simple and have an end. :)
( Mouse only, only tested on chrome and firefox )
And the game works very well. Just search how :P

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#265Theme3.87
#824Innovation2.78
#1279Graphics1.95
#1327Fun1.57
#1333Overall1.91
#1535Coolness40%

Comments

alvivar says ...
Apr 27, 2013 @ 4:32pm

this is the most awesome minimal exploration game EVER!

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:52am

Didn't work for me. Just a pop-up msg box saying five, a yellow screen and then nothing.

tzamora says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21am

The game work fine. it works in firefox and chrome at least. Only the mouse is needed.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:07am

Same as @sparkleswirl. I use chrome.

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:58am

Argh. Frustrating. The number 4 allured me for long.

Switchbreak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:29am

All I could get was a yellow screen.

domrein says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:41am

Because all the boxes are divs, I just opened up the web inspector and it highlighted them in the page for me. :)

CrazyGage says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:41am

Definitely have the "minimalism" theme down. Didn't work until I switch from IE to Chrome. Number 4 really eluded me as well, then I discovered it is super easy to cheat using the Chrome developer tools.... *embarrassed*

metalcan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:31pm

Just a popup box and a yellow screen without any explanation might give people the idea that your game isn't working. Other than that, the game is fine, and certainly minimalistic. Some sound would have helped a lot, you could even use sound as an indicator, like a metal detector.

tzamora says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:02am

Metalcan: Yes you are right, I thought that adding an instruction could leave mucho of the exploration left from the game. Thanks for your comment.

Ryusui says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:19am

Heh. Clever idea. I just wish there was more to searching than trial-and-error.

miotatsu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:29am

definitely minimalist, but I am left wondering whether random clicking really constitutes a game, and I suppose that might very well be the point heh...

lekochen says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:50am

I don't know how it worked until I used Developer Tools to check the code. Definitely minimalism. Maybe you can make some puzzle larger at the beginning so the players know what's going on.

cadin says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:39am

Clever.
If you make the window too small then it's impossible to find all the numbers.

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:51am

Interesting concept! It got a little tedious just clicking everywhere to find that last bit I needed to find. I love their little subliminal messages though, it's like each one has their own personality. :) Great work!

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:53am

$("div.boxDiv").trigger("mouseenter");

;)

Floko says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:56am

interesting =]

JonRB says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 1:48am

Very simple, nice idea. A little more direction would have been nice.

Much easier if you scale the window down.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]