April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Trapped in Minimalism

by eShredder - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Story
Mr. Family Man was once trapped in a space/time vortex. Horribly enough, he got stuck in another dimension, a dimension in minimalism. Being stuck here has declared him has Mr. Lonely. Years and years have passed by and Mr. Lonely is sick and tired of this place. It is time for a change! He has a plan. A brilliant one at that. He is going to escape this vast dimension. How? One may ask. He is going to escape through a portal...

-----

Mission
0) Build a portal
Follow these steps to build the portal.
1) Gather resources
Destroy rocks by targeting them with your short-range laser and fire it. When destroyed, they will release one of two objects; Minimalisium or Scrap Metal. Collect these!
2) Gather parts
Find and destroy space stations. The debris could be useful to build the portal. Additionally, they will provide your ship with various upgrades.
3) Time to build
Fly close to the centre of space. The central gravity will provide extra power for the portal. Build the portal in said zone.
4) Escape
Escape through the portal whenever it is open.

-----

Controls
Move - WASD
Aim - Mouse
Shoot - Left Mouse Button
Build Portal - Right Mouse Button

-----

A quick warning to everyone who's reading the source. You might feel dizzy, light headed or like throwing up. It is not the safest place to be and I do believe it is contained with all kinds of radioactivity.

-----

Known issues
* Sound may cut out sometimes. No idea why because I used the same code for the sound as my previous LD entry and that one had no problem.
* Sounds may not even be played for some users. Huh....

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#5Fun4.10
#18Overall4.10
#137Graphics3.82
#183Mood3.41
#470Humor2.35
#492Audio2.80
#595Innovation3.08
#928Theme3.14

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:11am

Awesome! Could've used some music, though. :)

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:16am

Pretty awesome. The game was fun--and everybody loves a little space mining. The mobs were hard (them and their predictive firing). The end boss was a surprise and was surprising and entered the screen in a very professional manner.

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:17am

I really enjoyed this game! The controls are very smooth and the animations for the laser fire is superb.

It's just a little too hard - I couldn't kill more than 1 space station without taking too much hull damage.

If you made this into a full-fledged game, I would definitely buy it.

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:18am

Amazing game! Great battle, especially the final boss. I loved taking strafing runs and dodging the fire. Only thing negative I could say is that the audio seemed to cut very early into the game. After exiting the application and starting again it would cut out once again. Not sure what was up with that.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56am

Oh man, that last fight was hard, I had to retreat a few times. So many lasers!

Great feeling combat. Circling a station or group of enemies while firing that first energetic barrage is really satisfying, especially after you get the engine speed and firing speed upgrades.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

This was great. I would love to see this fleshed out even more. The gameplay was fun, and I wanted to keep playing. Way to go.

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Awesome, game feels so finished. Liked everything from user interface to the game itself. Will play again :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23pm

Really nice work. I think you could have made it more fun by reducing the amount of things you need to collect, because I feel like this is way too long of a time investment of repetition. I was able to destroy one of the space stations and collected 10 scrap, that was enough for me. I really liked the graphics style and the asteroids reminded me of potatoes. The gameplay felt solid and it ran really well on my computer.

Tigrounette says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:26pm

Funny game ^^

GertJohnny says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:34am

I genuinely enjoyed this one - I love space mining! Really good final product.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Would be better with Audio but nonetheless very enjoyable!

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:30pm

I really liked it!
Seemed very polished.

gre says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Good job in 48 hours !

fullmontis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:40pm

Slick controls and graphics! Reminds me of a simpler version of SPAZ which is a big plus to me :)

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:45pm

Overall a really awesome game.
If the bigger enemies would also move, that would make the combat more interesting, this way it is only a matter of retreating often enough and just firing the way the enemy bullets come from.

eShredder says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:52pm

@manabreak: It sure would, but I lacked both time and composing skills.

@Mark Hildreth: The sound issue only happens sometimes for me, which is very weird since the code doesn't change between gameplay. What's more odd is that it has worked fine before.

@Xatulu: There are audio. Although, it seems to only work for some users sometimes. Randomness~

@the rest: Thank you all for the comments and feedback. I appreciate it.

lanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Excellent game! Fun to play/harvest. Shooting is awesome. Bosses are tough, but not too tough .) Great cutscene and sounds.

Sh1rogane says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Really great game, very funny to play, only thing i was missing was some music then it would have been perfect

Tapestry says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:00pm

Well made, had fun playing!

Robrock55 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:33am

A very funny game, I have a lot of fun playing it !

May 1, 2013 @ 10:29am

Made me want to play SPAZ. So I played SPAZ & lost like 2 hours of productivity. So, good job.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:14pm

I really really enjoyed it. I also loved the pfx and the difficulty curve, well balanced. Congrats :)

Polar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:47pm

Absolutely loved it, and the plot twist (which, for the sake of spoilers, I won't name) was really good. Actually reminded me a bit of FTL, and one of the best games I've seen so far :)

anbreizh says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:53pm

Very fun, the only thing missing is music. Keep up !

lasergans says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:57pm

Good Job, solid game :)

someone says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:14pm

That was really fun. A good challenge. I didn't manage to defeat the final boss though. Could definitely do with some background music.

cakemonitor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:21pm

This is a great game! I died the first time I tried and it took me a while to realise that I have to be near the asteroids to shoot them, but then I played it through to the end. It was good to see a boss fight to finish on :)

jwolf says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:33am

That was a lot of fun. If I had to pick any one thing, I'd say I liked the weapon effects, particularly from the bases and from the end boss. It kept the pressure up without feeling overwhelming. I'd expect that some would want it to be more difficult though, but then I suppose you could deliberately skip some of the upgrades.

MegaBrutal says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:38pm

Very nice game, one of the bests I've seen so far! It is quite hard, though, I couldn't even beat it. :D After I've destroyed a space station, an entire fleet of enemies started to chase me!

For me it had absolutely no sound. :(

GingerMess says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:18pm

Absolutely fantastic game that kept me playing until the end. Love the reference. I think this may be my favourite so far.

May 5, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Very fun game. The ship's progression is quite motivating and the gameplay is a little repetitive but engaging nontheless. Well done and thanks for sharing this nice piece of work!

Pinkerator says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:56pm

Nice effects and smart AI - it's shooting in places where I'll be in next moment!

Orni says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:15pm

wow, this was great!
I love it, the idea is brilliant and it's very well executed - this is also the type of game I'd like to make to learn some java game dev stuff (since I never made a game with it yet) and looking at your source code will definitely help me a lot

well done :D

kddekadenz says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:55pm

Did not play it till the end. From what I seen, the game was good, but not very good. The graphics are ok (the stars could use some scrolling). The mechanics are well-known.

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Nice game, great job! :D

stefan says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 10:10pm

This is one of the best games I played here so far. It is fun to play, I couldn't stop until the end. The difficulty also nicely balanced.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]