April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Citsilaminim

by AngelDE98 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

You play a minimalistic character in a minimalistically coloured cave with a minimalistic goal:
Get out of the cave as fast as possible and collect as much orbs as possible on the way.

Controls:
WASD or ARROW KEYS

Don't blame me for an "impossible win condition". I asked the people on IRC to test my game but nobody tested.
The "win condition" is time and score driven.

Fun fact for developers:
The game supports mods. Look at the source - I will release a simple "win condition patch" mod as soon as possible with source.


WALLPATCH BUGFIX:
Warning: This bugfix will alter gameplay in a way of fixing a bug that I've got too less time to fix. It's a "typo". But hey, who cares?

1. Download the wallpatch bugfix "mod"
2. place the jar next to the game .jar
3. run the game
4. tell me if it worked or not. If it didn't work I may extend to jam.

The source zip contains the mod_wallpatch.jar source.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#311Graphics3.40
#350Audio3.04
#409Mood3.08
#679Humor2.06
#720Fun2.80
#721Overall3.00
#1120Innovation2.24
#1211Theme2.68
#1471Coolness44%

Comments

myachin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:26pm

invalid or corrupt jarfile/ please reupload

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:28pm

I'm getting a "Error: invalid or corrupt jar file" error.

dvdking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:30pm

what can be wrong?
http://imgur.com/gOZtdLu

Smaxx says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

Yep, same here. Invalid or corrupt jarfile.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:48pm

Still corrupt

AngelDE98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Uploading. Sorry about that inconvinience >.<
Eclipse or Dropbox (or both) were kidding me.
True "Ludum Dare Ninjas" could've just compiled the game on their own xD

Could you please "re-rate"? (I'm PMing you). I hate loosing rates for the LD IRC Channel not being able to test my game >.<

AngelDE98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:51pm

Also, anyone running Linux using OpenJDK able to run the jar?

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

I love the palette and the smoothness, but I'm stuck in the first area. How do I go onwards?

AngelDE98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Nah, forgett it. I can't "PM" you I guess..

Krise20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Reall fun game :D

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Very cool. I loved how blocks could push other blocks. The character movement was great too.

Krise20 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:54pm

Reall fun game :D

Ofursnati says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:57pm

I love this game.

Macroz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:59pm

Well done! Had no problems running the game and getting to the end (was slow though).

MagiMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:04pm

The framerate is really inconsistent, but that might just be my computer.

Norgg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:07pm

The jar works for me now. I like the graphical style and the touches like the block physics. I found the way you stick to walls to be pretty frustrating in a couple places, especially the bit where there's several platforms blinking in and out and sticking to the walls throws your timing off.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Fun game, controls felt a bit iffy at some places like wall jumping and such. Title music is really quite grindy. On the whole pretty good for 48 hours :D

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:12pm

Meatboy-ish, quite fun !

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Nice, original pushing blocks and "swimming" mecanism. Getting glued to the walls is a bit annoying.

FredericRP says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:22pm

Nice game
Dark colors make this hard to play in a such small window and the controls could be improved by not being so sticky on the walls, but it's an good overall game. !

bushmango says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:36pm

Worked for me, but I kept getting stuck on walls :(

AngelDE98 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Because of the "stuck on walls" bug I've been working on a bugfix "mod". Instructions and link may appear in the info soon.

Warning: This bugfix will alter gameplay in a way of fixing a bug that I've got too less time to fix. It's a "typo". But hey, who cares?

PhilZ says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:32pm

This was a good game. I had a lot of fun with it.

Smaxx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:29am

I really like the graphical style, but some things aren't explained well enough or simply too minimalistic, e.g. toggles or the ability to drop down through the ground. Also the "walking on water" in the beginning. You should definitely work on the collisions, I'm not sure it's intentional you're getting stuck if you push against solid things (I'd just move the character away as long as he's stuck), plus at least once a platform spawned inside me so I got stuck and then dropped dead into the liquid below.

Smaxx says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:31am

Oh, and forgot to add: You could expand the general appearance (ignoring "Minimalism") and add colored lights, which might give it a completely different (and awesome?) vibe. Just as an idea for later on.

AngelDE98 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:21pm

@Smaxx
1. The collisions were and are buggy. I never had good days with them :/
2. That was on the ToDo list for Shadow before LD but I didn't manage to do that because of weird bugs. I will retry doing a proper light system in Shadow the next few days.

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:36pm

The game is interesting but there are some mechanics I really don't get it, especially at the beginning of the game.

On the suggestion side of things I would increase the player movement speed or give the player the ability to run (on key press or after a short period of time pressing the arrow key).
The level design is OK but the dark atmosphere/color pallete makes it a bit too dark. I would add more vibrant colors to make it smoother to the eyes.

I happened to get stuck inside a dynamic platform. Luckily I got out after it disappeared.

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Fun little game! Well done :)

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:24pm

pretty good -- it was a lilttle too wasy because i seemed to be able to jump as many times as i wanted -- good job

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]