April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Cutris

by Tinco - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Cutris

This is a Blockout-like game.

Use the arrow keys to move the block around.

Use 'a', 's' and 'd' to rotate the block.

Use 'space' to send the block down instantly.

Like tetris, in this game you stack bricks with the goal of stacking as many bricks as possible before the stack reaches the top of the game.

You can make layers brick disappear by filling an entire layer with blocks, so position your blocks carefully to get the highest score.

Every few hundred points the difficulty increases.

The game uses HTML5 and WebGL technologies, and requires a browser capable of playing ogg files for sound.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#652Graphics2.91
#956Theme3.09
#969Audio1.90
#1027Overall2.70
#1060Fun2.39
#1188Innovation2.14
#1225Mood1.88
#1636Coolness35%

Comments

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

I like the concept, but I think it would have been a little more playable if there was a side view in addition to the overhead view.

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:52am

A solid implementation and pleasant graphics, sounds are too loud.

aquilicoco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:38pm

Good work.

+1 side view

Tinco says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:07pm

Thanks for commenting guys :) The original game didn't have a side view, so I'm not certain how that would make the game more playable. Though my game has black shadows, which makes it harder to see what level blocks are on.

I agree that the going down sound is a bit annoying, I looked for something better but I hadn't prepared anything for the sound and couldn't find a good sample in time :(

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:11pm

It's a bit hard to understand the rotation controls.

But aside from that, this is freaking cool.

martijn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:11pm

http://tvtropes.org/pmwiki/pmwiki.php/Main/CriticalAnnoyance Other than than, solid game.

jhrrsn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:24pm

I like the idea, very cool. However, it's pretty hard to ascertain the orientation of some blocks, perhaps an isometric view would have been better? Great job though!

ella guro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:23am

cool idea! the one critical problem with it, though, is it's hard to see on what level the blocks are once they're placed - which makes getting lines difficult. other people have mentioned it but i think it makes a game that requires the a high level of concentration like tetris kind of guessing game

rwos says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:43pm

Well, the concept is nothing new, but this is a pretty nice implementation. Well done!

tankete says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:56am

I'm not a great visualizer so this was hard for me right from the start. I also struggled remembering how to rotate it the right way. Happy I made it to the increased difficulty levels, but then I died...fast :)

GFM says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:18pm

This was interesting, but I had trouble rotating the blocks as I wanted.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:32pm

Nice game... Although I got a little confused on rotating the pieces, still I like the look of this game :D

mrexcessive says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:22pm

Not enough cues on the blocks (Lighting/normals issue ?) to tell which way up they are easily, e.g. L shaped block...

Per says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Very solid gameplay!
It is a very challenging game with simple and good graphics.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]