April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Less

by tomc - Jam Entry

A point-and-click puzzle game about minimalism.

In Less, you reminisce about your past while removing objects from your room. However, you get to choose which item relates to which memory! The ending you get will depend on which objects were involved in each event in your life. Did you give your wife flowers or a potato? Are you moving out to start a new life, have you just been dumped, or has something much, much worse happened?

Less can be suggestive and/or dark at times. It is not recommended for children or the easily upset.

I worked on the writing and the graphics (there are some original pieces of art as well as all the clip-art). My friend Brice (@fractallambda) wrote the code and helped with the writing.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#123Mood(Jam)3.46
#151Innovation(Jam)3.33
#157Humor(Jam)2.67
#305Overall(Jam)3.03
#308Graphics(Jam)3.03
#321Theme(Jam)3.15
#352Fun(Jam)2.70
#1284Coolness48%

Comments

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Enjoyable :)

Masadow says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:54pm

I'm sorry, I'm so so sorry ahah :D I killed my wife ! What a great husband I make ! I really enjoyed to try experience every endings ! However, It was hard to get them all so I missed one :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:33am

Good !

May 2, 2013 @ 8:33am

Really, really interesting. I like how the narrative adapts to your choices. Thank you!

juaxix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:09am

I always end up with the noose!,
need a walkthrough xD
interesting idea and execution , well done

heuermh says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:20am

Well done. Seemed to have a slight glitch at one point, but still proceeded to one of the endings fine.

Tom 7 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:43pm

Very interesting! I liked how my choices produced meaningful text, and I had a lot of freedom. Found a few different endings. Good job!

GarethIW says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:58pm

Such an interesting concept! I managed three of the endings, one was pretty depressing :D

One mechanical issue I noticed is that the text disappeared a little too quickly (IE10 if that matters).

Good stuff!

MinionStudios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:02pm

An atmospheric and poetic game! I hung myself on the first try.

loxo says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Great stories and unexpected endings! Some music would be nice, though. And I would like the text to stay a little longer on screen.

May 3, 2013 @ 10:06pm

Well done, I loved it

May 3, 2013 @ 10:39pm

Great concept. A bit sad as it's hard to get to an ending that's not depressing. I want to select the right things and be a nice guy, but game's interpretations of my clicks make me seem more of a dick for everything I do. Good game though.

zanzindorf says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:41pm

I couldn't read the text fast enough, so I was a little lost on what I was supposed to do. Also, the game kind of wigged out when I would accidentally double click.

_Rilem says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:48pm

Interesting game, love that there are different endings :D
The first time I played I missed a lot of the text and ended up killing myself :P

PsenFilip says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:43pm

I liked it. Graphical decision making and text adventure output.
Some times, the texts fade out just a little too fast to my foreign brain to follow up.

Seems like I'm a really bad guy on there. My ending was... well... full of blood.
Rather engaging and pretty philosophical.

May 11, 2013 @ 2:53pm

More of an interactive story than a game, but innovative and interesting no less (pun not intended). The narration being in haiku format was a nice touch. I got two of the endings; will probably come back for the others later.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]