April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Unreached City

by dx0ne - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Avoid dangers in cyberpunk world.

Controls:
A/Left, D/Right == move left,right
Space == pause
best played with https://soundcloud.com/perturbator/

It's unfinished but I only used last ~15hours of LD. It was inspired by gif, Perturbator's music and @tomkail's tweet (links on web).

Used:
Starling - http://gamua.com/starling/
Shoebox - http://renderhjs.net/shoebox/
AS3/FlashDevelop

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#271Graphics3.48
#862Mood2.58
#1064Humor1.19
#1283Fun1.89
#1294Theme2.41
#1311Innovation1.79
#1317Overall2.10

Comments

Languard says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:11pm

There's a nice start here, but as you said it's not finished. More a tech demo than a game.

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Very pretty.

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:14pm

It has a good start to it atleast =)

DST says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Sweet style and take on the theme, I like how it's just "danger", it works.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:19pm

It's a very good idea, the graphics are perfect. However it's sad without sound! I know you can't use the music you advice, but i can't listen to it, link seem broken ! But good job !

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:22pm

It's like first person Battletoads, but not so frustratingly difficult

jerombd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:25pm

I like this kind of visuals: it's like riding a bike with Kaneda & Tetsuo in Neo-Tokyo! Really too bad it's unfinished :(

Musicolor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:32pm

i love the cityscape & mood

HybridMind says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:42am

Good start for sure. Too bad it is unfinished but I know how it goes. I like the headlight area as signifying where my player is at, that is a nice touch. The obstacles come a bit fast for me to react very well though (even though they don't really do anything game-wise right now.)

It does make me eventually feel sad that city doesn't get any closer no matter how long I ride...

Nolan C says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:00am

I like the mood, with that music it's super cool

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:45am

nice reflex game and nice mood.
Missing some music and polish (is there a game over?).

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:04am

This a good point for starting, too bad it's unfinished.

lotusgame says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:35am

Nice start.

Orni says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:24pm

great idea and very pretty indeed (it really looks like the gif)

well done

KEFIR says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:16pm

Idea and graphic style is really cool! I think you should finish this!

BlackDogg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Even if unfinished I liked it a lot. While listening to some Kavinsky it fits it's graphical world, it's really pretty and there is a really nice mood. Well done !

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:20pm

Love the art, but I never reached the city

May 8, 2013 @ 6:30pm

Very cool looks, but the steering is a bit slow for those fast obstacles coming along... Should be fixed and finished, it's a good start!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]