April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimalistic Shooter

by Anickyan - Jam Entry

This is the game I made for Ludum Dare 26. I only had very limited time, so didn't set my goals too high. It works, though!

Controls:
Mouse - control player
LMB - shoot
W - move forwards
S - move backwards

I'm working on building for Mac OSX and Windows(and 32-bit Linux), but I needed to enter the game before the deadline.

PLEASE NOTE: The game might have a few bugs, I'll correct them tomorrow.
Also, if you're on Linux, it will sometimes not recognize libSDL_mixer.so in the lib/ folder, and you will have to execute this command:
sudo apt-get install libsdl-mixer1.2-dev

apt-get can be replaced by either pacman or yum

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#355Theme(Jam)3.06
#437Audio(Jam)1.75
#439Fun(Jam)2.39
#534Overall(Jam)2.22
#542Graphics(Jam)1.89
#555Innovation(Jam)1.44
#1775Coolness26%

Comments

josefnpat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:28pm

Nice job!

A few bugs here and there, but other than that, it was rather nice.

With more polish, better choice in sounds and more UI, this game had a lot of potential.

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:00pm

My ears tickle!

PsenFilip says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:36pm

The controls are good except for something on the mouse+WSAD stuff. They seem to conflict with each other.
I would put some work on the background as well (random colored bg would do the trick). Keep it up

Aceria says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:12am

A neat little game.

Give the ship inertia and wrap the screen (like asteroids) for a more dynamic feeling control scheme.

I liked the surprise end of game boss! :D

Xaychru04 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:49am

The graphics and the audio are simple, but that's very hard to dodge bullets without lateral movement.

StMatn says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:51am

Good job!
Nice particle effects.
I really missed moving sideways with A and D.
Knowing ones health would be good.

Anickyan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:56am

@StMatn, I initially though about displaying health, and moving sideways, but I thought it would make it too easy. But I'll add it if I make a post-LD version, for sure.

Sanguine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:01am

Simple, yet relatively addicting and fun :) Good job!

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Can't play, have a mac.

Anickyan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:38pm

@Tokken18 you can always compile it ;)

skintkingle says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:40pm

Wont run on my Windows 3.11 D: Says Windows (all) so i must complain!!

No but seriously. It's fun but it didn't keep me in it for long, Need a score tally as a minimum if nothing else otherwise if i walk away for 5 minutes i might aswell have just begun there's nothing to show how many awesome kills i've made and how far through i've got. If i hadn't read the comments i wouldn't have known to keep going for something.

Kvisle says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 3:32pm

I like it. It would be cool if the camera moved along with the craft - showing the ship at the center of the screen at all times. Would be cool for aiming, I think.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]