April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Abstract

by PTSnoop - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Since this LD's theme is "Minimalism", I've made a game where you play as a minimalist painter. You are trying to sell artworks to build up £200,000 to buy your own art gallery.

You create artworks by drawing rectangles onto canvas. You can then sell your artworks for money, or leave them in exhibition to increase your popularity, increasing prices of future works.

Oh, and this game is fully Potato compliant. I'm not going to tell you where the potato is, though. You'll just have to find out.

For those of you who don't like downloading things, I've thrown together a WebGL version. However, it's very temperamental, and almost completely untested. I highly recommend you ignore it and download the real version instead.

Written using Lua and the Love2D framework. Perlin noise code was taken from https://love2d.org/forums/viewtopic.php?f=4&t=3304 .

More games by me at http://alteredtree.co.uk .

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#9Innovation4.31
#15Theme4.40
#32Audio3.95
#39Mood3.91
#56Humor3.65
#58Overall3.90
#85Fun3.67
#291Graphics3.44

Comments

amazon says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:46pm

I think I won the game: http://i.imgur.com/dKqnHVd.png

GOTL (Game of the Ludum) !

Neonlare says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:34am

Hilarious, provoking, and just damn right cool. Awesome Game.

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40am

Awesome idea, fits the theme perfectly !

Sanguine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:01am

Great game! The music is very fitting and it was a good reflection on modern art! It would be nice to get a more clear idea on what the artwork worth more though

netguy204 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07am

Love it. Nice music. I may just leave this running in the background. The incomprehensable scoring really captures the essence of art valuatioin ;)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:51pm

Ha, this is a great idea! Love it.

errorage says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:15pm

Yup! Definitely one of the more creative ones!

Cyboot says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:19pm

And this is why I love Ludumdare.
One moment you play a game where you kill cats, next you draw some rectangles on a canvas and get money for it.

JUST AWESOME. I love it :D

I am also very interested how the factors change while you draw the rectangle, maybe I will look at the source sometime :)

Great job!

belickim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Oh, I made a picture, that I really liked and the price for it was ZERO, so depressing :(

The idea is obviously great and execution is quite nice (I liked the subtle background sound).

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:02am

This is both hilarious and touching. There's a real feeling of runaway regret when screwing up what had moments ago been a great work.

Inf says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:26am

bravo.

Korda says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:36am

My favourite so far

RabbitRobot says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:29am

LOVE it.

Royal Railway says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:38am

I love it.

leafo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:20pm

This is a great game. The whole execution is super smooth and it feels polished. I really liked the idea and the background music.

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:24pm

I managed to hit Influential popularity. Fun times.

The score system is sure catching, just like the general art pricing in real life.
The music fits the game really well. Very creative entry.

Rialgar says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:10pm

Awesome, let me choose my colors is the only thing I could imagine for improvement.

karsyf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:11pm

You've made something beautiful, there is a confluence here that is really striking.

Grouflon says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:52pm

Hilarious background story, provocative, very intuitive and smart gameplay, not so long to load, nice music. I really enjoyed the experience ;)

Travis Irby says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:31pm

ooo nice i remember wanting to check this one out from a screenshot i saw. love the concept and the style! fun :D

voxel says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:51am

I actually got quite attached to some of my art and didn't want to sell it. Really loved this. Only change I'd ask is for right click remove to be removed to help make the painting process a little more authentic. <3

JonathanG says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 5:29pm

This is great! I like how relaxing it is to click and create paintings, and the background music really helps with the atmosphere. It's good that the colours are chosen randomly, otherwise it would require too much thinking and not as much "inspiration". One bug I noticed was that sometimes the prices change as you click buttons, before they disappear, possibly as a result of your fame changing?

alts says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 6:53pm

This is incredible. I managed to created the perfect painting, and refused to sell it. After a few near perfects, I explored the depths of the irredeemable. Couldn't manage to get 3 full red bars. There is something here that works very well, and I can't quite pinpoint it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]