April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Gimme back my keys

by raarlac - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Made with Unity3D, Photoshop, FL Studio and 3DS Max
Enjoy :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#31Innovation4.12
#100Graphics3.92
#149Overall3.68
#179Audio3.35
#224Fun3.39
#309Mood3.19
#348Humor2.56
#874Theme3.20
#1659Coolness33%

Comments

zerebruin says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Nicely done!

NemoStein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55am

Cute, but slow and boring. Couldn't find the "Theme" in it...

Thein says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:02am

Very cool idea. Some of those levels are super tough!

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:01pm

clever! would be cool to adapt into more of a typing education game.

whiteravens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Wonderful and unique, but the pacing is very slow, so it got boring too early on :(. Still a wonderful entry though!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:03pm

Nice! :) The graphics are very clean and the sound is not annoying at all.

cadin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

I like this a lot. It's a neat concept and the level design gets really good after you get into it.

I was really confused at first because of the letter Q. I thought I was supposed to press Q. I think if you used something besides the key cap as the target item it would be a lot less confusing. But maybe that was intentional...

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

I don't understand if the letter shown on the "goal badge" has some significance? Some of the later levels become a bit frustrating. But this is very nice and solid work -- very fresh version of a physics-block-collapsing game!

Zed says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:05pm

Ahhhh, the music! It's infecting my braaaaaaain!

...Also really cool game.

hardycore says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06pm

Very cool. This is an interesting concept, using the keyboard like that! Whole game looks really slick! I'm impressed!

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:08pm

Good fun, and it looks really polished. Couldn't really find much challenge early on and gave up after a few minutes though.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:09pm

Loved this one, I'm keeping it up here so I can go back to it. Wish I had speakers on this machine, but everything else was very well executed. Kudos!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Music gets pretty annoying after a while... good game, good execution, cute themed puzzles, but sometimes it was just too hard to find the right key to press after the stack had half crumbled, especially with the glass blocks.

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Pretty fun game overall, it's a bit slow and the last level seems quite a bit harder than the others.

SmilingCat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Nice, well polished feel, and a unique concept.

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:42pm

Man, I love this one! You knocked it out of the Ludum Park! This is one I will be playing long after the compo...

3.14 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:44pm

This my dear sir, was brilliant. There were not enough games that map your keyboard layout to the game space. You filled that spot. It got me thinking what can be done with this idea. Great job.

Ludipe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:54pm

Great game, I saw some screens you posted during the compo and I really wanted to play it.

bytegrove says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:01pm

Cool idea, nice music and clean design. Pretty challenging as well. Nice work!

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:14pm

I love the original gameplay and the smooth graphics, although I would have liked a way to skip the end of the level animation!

Mach60KAS says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:22pm

I really love the graphics and core gameplay on this. Well done!

YsenGrimm says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:49pm

Nice graphics :D

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:56am

You got me hooked with the music, so catchy! Lovely graphics, might need to tweak the title to be more legible.

At first I thought the strategy is to just bang my hands on the keyboard, then the later stages proved me wrong! Great take on the physics block style game!

allinlabs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:03am

Great visual style and nice music !

ecool377 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:19am

Very Cool, would love too see a seaqul

imagnity says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:40am

I so like the design concept. Superb!

qdowngames says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:53am

I have to say, the first things that drew me in were the song and the visuals. Brilliant work!

Zillix says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:54am

really great and intuitive controls. awesome work!

Sebastian says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:31am

Nicely designed.

kyyninen says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:42am

Liked it! Though music shouldn't restart when the level restarts, it becomes annoying in the later, harder levels.

Jiggawatt says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:24am

The premise is a clever take on the theme as it is, but you also explored a lot of interesting possibilities with the level designs. With some above-average visual/audio design thrown in as well, it's a memorable entry overall. Solid 4 stars.

brxtr says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:44pm

Very elegantly designed, and the levels are genuinely interesting and fun to solve. The audio is great too, except that the lack of sound effects for blocks hitting the keyboard felt weird.

hughsk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:28am

A pretty original concept and with a nice difficulty curve :)

martijn says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:53am

Great idea, great graphics

Madball says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Oh, that's very like a finished game! It's very polished, and there is much level design. I liked the music, too.

pythong says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:14pm

idea is great! but you should crosscheck some of your spellings again ;)

SaintHeiser says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:39pm

Well done!
Very good and clean concept!
I like your puzzles as your audio =)

Split82 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:50pm

I love the graphics.

dragonee says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:55pm

Very nice to use whole the keyboard for gameplay. At first using the Q and W in the middle of the keyboard has got me wrong until I learned how to play :)

Dmitrix says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:42am

It looks really awesome.

Colapsydo says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:31am

Both tunes are really nice.
Game concept is interesting, it could be nice to have some feedback regarding the cubes we save, some kind of score or contract to fulfill.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Nice concept...maybe outside of the theme but great game (and fun music).

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]