April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

energized

by mibbio - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The default download is compiled with Java 1.7. If the game doesn't start on your machine, try this alternative download:
http://mibbiodev.de/download/ld26/java16/energized.jar (compiled with Java 1.6)

Some hints for gameplay:
- your light pulse corresponds to your battery energy
- the blinking diamonds recharge your battery and disappear when fully depleted
- the colored fields drain energy out of your battery to unlock doors. don't touch them too long without recharging

If you want you can make your own maps: https://github.com/mibbio/LD26/wiki/Custom-Maps

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness89%
#505Audio2.78
#537Innovation3.14
#726Graphics2.81
#758Overall2.98
#767Mood2.67
#882Fun2.63
#937Theme3.12
#984Humor1.63

Comments

Fnkee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39am

Aw, this game was sweet! Would love to see more maps.

mibbio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:16am

The game can load external maps. There are instructions about it in the wiki of my linked github source repository.

mchaza says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:48am

appears rather solid, needs tighter controls maybe grid movement?. Also needed a way to show your energy level had no idea when my power will run out. Good job tho.

B says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:49am

Can't get this to work on my Mac. Sorry :/

mibbio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:48pm

@B try to start it in the Terminal with "java -jar energized.jar".
If it show an error like "Unsupported major.minor version 51.0" your installed Java version is to old. Install a newer one or try this download: http://mibbiodev.de/download/ld26/java16/energized.jar

badlogic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:58pm

Solid puzzler, a bit speedier controlls would have been nice. Love that you can load more maps.

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:17pm

Wow nice game!

Merkoth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Can't play it under OSX 10.8. Throws the following error:
Exception in thread "main" java.lang.UnsupportedClassVersionError: de/mibbiodev/ld26/DesktopStarter : Unsupported major.minor version 51.0

cahman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36pm

Fun little game, and nice work with the sounds. I do love eating power packs! But a power gauge would sure be nice.

berkano says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Nice concept! Would be great if there were more levels!!

Michael Hall says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:37pm

Looks really nice and is a pretty unique idea, but I wasn't really sure what the blinking diamonds did

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:40pm

Nice, the controls are a bit slow- but I understand that if you changed the speed the puzzles would need to be changed too. Overall pretty solid game

dasrkrain says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:41pm

Loved it! The controls do need some love, and there should be some type of energy bar to indicate your energy level.

Great concept and fun to play!

Also the first link worked for me in Windows right away. Then I jumped on my Mac and it didn't run. The alternative download also didn't work on my Mac until I moved it into the root of my user folder and then launched it through terminal by typing: java -jar energized.jar

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:43pm

Pretty good, despite the theme I'd say it needs more goals.

kratorspore says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Overall this game has some solid mechanics that I really enjoyed, it's a shame there aren't more levels out of the box. Things I would improve would be faster robot move speed and a better power remaining indicator.

mibbio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:27pm

About the energy: the light/color pulse indicates the level. The weaker the pulse the lower your energy.
The intention of this minimal information is that the player should find a good balance between depleting a charging station for recharge or leave it as backup and transfer energy to unlock doors.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Cool puzzle game! I would have appreciated snappier controls though.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Doesn't work on my Win XP (32bit) laptop. :( It just freezes at the launch.

mibbio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:31pm

Try to launch it with "java -jar energized.jar" in the command prompt. If there are any error you will see it there.

GetFun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Great game, but the controls are a bit clunky :-(

mibbio says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Thanks for the feedback so far. I know, the controls are a bit "special". It's caused by a bug i couldn't fix without wasting to much time.
Currently i'm working on a post-compo version of the game - including better controls.

alts says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:00am

You've acknowledged issues about the controls, so I won't say any more. I would definitely like to see more maps bundled with the game. I think some clever level design could really dive deep into the more interesting consequences of the charge / door mechanics.

petrocket says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:23pm

Nice! Kinda like being on a circuit board. The idea is really cool, though some graphical hints for the diamonds might have helped - i.e. if they looked like batteries or electric outlets. Audio queues were cool too.

EatenAlive3 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Fun for the first level... I'd like to see a second level :P

loxo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:50pm

The game looks good and is fun to play, but i got stuck several times on blocks around the doors. Maybe the collision detection is to strict. The Java 1.6 version worked for me on Mac OS 10.8.

wzl says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:17pm

Interesting concept design. Horrific player controls D:
I like that you get by without using any kind of UI.

Kvisle says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:32pm

With the right mind-bending levels, this can become a pretty good puzzler.

First I just popped up the game, started to drive, and was told that I was out of energy and that I had lost the game. I tried several times, and beat it on the fourth attempt. I think that if you worked on how you were presenting the core mechanic (the transfer of energy from the battery to you, and from you to the world) - it would be easier to dive into.

f7f5 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Solid and original entry. The controls were a bit nasty :) Nice audio.

JonathanG says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:39pm

It took me a while to figure out what was going on (i.e. reading the entry page :P) but once I understood it, the game was easy to complete (there only seems to be one level?). It was good to have sound, but there really needs to be more feedback as to your power level, and that you're providing power to the doors.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]