April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Planes

by moomoo112 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Inspired by the classic "Game and Watch" games, comes a airborne shooter with the same style.


Arrows to move side to side. Space to shoot. 1 or 2 to select a game mode. S or M to toggle sounds.
Or just press the onscreen buttons.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#270Theme3.86
#348Graphics3.34
#387Humor2.51
#456Audio2.87
#523Mood2.92
#804Innovation2.80
#825Overall2.92
#835Fun2.68

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:43am

Oldschool! haha! Nice job!

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:12am

Holy Nostalgia. Well done.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:13am

That is really faithful! I appreciate how much care you put into getting the feel of those games down.

Much like those old LCD games...
I have no idea what the difference is between the two game modes.

Dietrich Epp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:18am

I got 1600 points without getting hit... does it end at some point or does it go on forever? The sounds are just perfect for it!

moomoo112 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:24am

@nintendoeats: game 2 starts off quicker and the planes are more likely to shoot and change lanes

@dietrich: nope, just a never ending arcade game

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14am

I like the tile as the plane shifts lanes, nice touch

ahm99 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:21am

Cool game. Really liked the old-ness. Good job

richtx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:02am

Really enjoyed this one, even if exploding planes can shoot at me :). Fantastic!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:01am

wow -- what a creative idea -- it would have been nice to save me the horror of pressing the buttons but i will let it pass because it was so cool -- great effort

metadept says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:06am

Makes me want this as a handheld version! I like the mix of keyboard + virtual hardware buttons controls, and the grayscale LCD. Well done!

I did notice at one point in Game 2 I managed to get an exploding plane stuck at the far right bottom enemy slot. Not quite sure what specific action caused it other than shooting at point blank.

moomoo112 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:21am

So glad to hear this style is welled liked, thanks for playing!

@metadept: I'd like to know what causes that too, just one of the smaller bugs that didn't get fixed, along with if you die while an enemy is changing lanes they'll get stuck there

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:23am

Wonderful! Really captures the feel of those old games. The sound, the embedded graphics. Perfect! Not particularly challenging, but certainly a winner.

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10am

I really like the idea of this type old games. It is perfect match on the theme!

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:22am

Nice retro work!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Graphics and audio were perfect! I used to remember being addicted to one of these games wayyy back. Good job on recreating that!

timtimtimtim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:31am

cool fun theme. good job

invaderJim says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:36am

This is great! I demand an android/iOS port, and then I demand more games from you in this style. Get to work! ;D

robcozzens says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:14am

Ah yeah. I remember having games like this.
Thank you!

gmaker says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:56am

cute! _)

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:27am

Was there any sound? I clicked the sound button, but I couldn't hear anything.

JustinMullin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:50am

I've never seen anyone do this before, and now I'm wondering why. It's genius!

ecool377 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:59am

Very fun! I liked it alot even the lack of audio. 4/5 stars

moomoo112 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:32am

@PaulSinnett: there should be sound effects, like moving and shooting, no musics though

Thanks for the feedback!

whilefun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:02am

High score for me was 225! I thought this was very original, and pretty neat. I don't know if it was intentional, but the audio was coming from the rear channels. It was effective though as they made the game have a bit more aural depth.

stefenism says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:01am

GOOD SHOW!

TehSkull says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:42am

Very arcadey and fun. I want to play this on a GameBoy Pocket.

Bernhard says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:43am

Captures the look and feel of a Game&Watch game very well. Cool idea for this theme! Got 2640 Points in Mode 1 and I think I made the game crash in Mode 2 by shooting too much :-)

May 2, 2013 @ 6:55am

Very clever idea! Brings back memories of some of those kind of old hand held LCD games I had as a kid. Nice work.

Ithildin says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:42am

Nice! I had one of those as a child, you've portrayed them very accurately =)

manabreak says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:21am

Fun way to go :)

Michael Hall says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:01am

Very well done old school feel

May 3, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Interesting game that goes both well with the theme and evokes nostalgia. Nice effort!

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:31pm

Curious, still no sound for me. My Java must be misconfigured somehow. :(

CoffeeOnimal says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 5:11am

Very nice.

dertom says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 7:58am

Great! Just great! I brings back old times and hits the theme with a 100% punch! Nicely done"
I have a "Mario Bros" game&watch just holding in my hands and wonder where the corresponding batteries are hidden :D
Good job!

Rafael Sales says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 9:04pm

Cool game. The purpose of an old school experience is interesting, but a better interface could improve the quality. Congrats anyway! Keep making games!

moomoo112 says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:46pm

#rafael: interface like the onscreen buttons? 'cause those didn't turn out too well as I ran out of time..

MinionStudios says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 1:28am

back to the originals!

KunoNoOni says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:43am

Nothing says minimal like Game and Watch! Good job!

frogmaster says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 11:37am

Wohoho, that's nostalgic! Game A is a bit boring and in game B dead planes sometimes stay in the place and You can't shoot through them. Anyway, I'm impressed :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]