April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Illumbox

by Tyler Churchill - 48 Hour Compo Entry

**OSX USERS HAVE TO RUN THE JAR THROUGH TERMINAL WITH:
java -jar userPathToJar

This is my first entry to the Ludum Dare and here is what I accomplished in around 10 or so hours. I was quite busy this weekend so I couldn't dedicate any more time. I am not happy with the player handling and sometimes unbeatable situations arise and I didn't incorporate a lot of the game mechanics I was hoping to.

There are probably loads of bugs but hey, its all for fun!


My highest score: 10450

CONTROLS: WASD to dodge obstacles

Frame work: LibGDX (java)
Graphics: Photoshop
Audio: SXFR, FLStudio




*****KNOWN ISSUES (besides it being made in 10hrs :)*********
-player control is slow and clunky
-impossible to beat waves
-difficulty is too easy
-some lighting combinations makes it hard to see(feature?)
*************************************


Can't wait until the next comp. FOR SURE I am setting my self a full 48 hours and will hopefully be more comfortable with the library I am using

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness83%
#168Audio3.38
#374Graphics3.30
#505Theme3.58
#579Mood2.85
#644Overall3.09
#700Fun2.82
#766Innovation2.86
#946Humor1.70

Comments

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:47am

So chill.

fueelin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:04am

Pretty easy but really liked the aesthetic. The colors were awesome and the graphics in general worked nicely with the music. Good work.

robcozzens says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:29am

Great use of the theme.
It seemed to be moving really slowly... I don't know if it's just a problem on my computer or if it's supposed to be that slow.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:44am

First off, I thought that the use of light to let you know what was coming was clever. I enjoyed the music and the sharp aesthetic. However, the game itself doesn't have much to it. As others have said, it moved overly slowly. I could move my cube up to the top of the screen, but the screen didn't move up with it, so I was forced to keep a slow pace whether I liked it or not. There wasn't any challenge anywhere to be found, so unfortunately it wasn't very "fun."

Suggestions for the game: try to expand on the gameplay to add something that will give it some sort of challenge. It could be as simple as speeding things up.

TylerC says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:56am

I made the game a whole lot better by changing a "2" to a "1.3". Can I still submit that or is that bending the rules

paulopn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:36am

I really liked the light effects!

imagnity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:22am

The movement is slow. Is it might be because of graphics card? The light is really well crafted.

KhaoTom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:55am

I wouldn't mind playing the faster version. Maybe add it as an alternate download.

Ernyz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:23pm

Liked this one, although it took some time for me to get used to controls and to find best tactics (to keep the rectangle at top of the screen).

lambomang says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Nice visuals. Those impossible waves are annoying though. Got one the first time on my first try xD

Rabbits... says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:03am

I got 1975, amazing lighting effects...

kibertoad says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:05am

Nice vibes.

Anickyan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:00pm

Great little game! A bit slow, but very fun and good-looking.

KEFIR says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Really liked the aesthetic! This music and colors. Smoooth! Gameplay is easy but fun.

mortl8324 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:54am

Interesting game. Frustrating to move around though.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:23pm

it ran slow at first, then the second time it ran great. If those impossible waves werent there this would be wayyy more fun.

May 4, 2013 @ 7:17pm

Looks and sounds great! Gameplay was fun but you need to ramp up the challenge.

Teejay5 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:37pm

great visuals, only to be complemented by the awesome music!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:48am

I was kind of expecting a path to navigate, like at the beginning, but it totally changes. Excellent minimalism. The white-on-light-yellow color scheme does not have enough contrast.

ddionisio says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:00am

Very nice effects! I like the idea of anticipating the walls. I dig the audio. I have to agree that the pacing can get a little slow from time to time. Maybe some way to boost.

stqn says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 1:02am

Pretty colour effects, even if they don't make much sense to me. As you wrote, obstacles are impossible to avoid, and the player moves a bit slowly. Nice music.

kddekadenz says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:25pm

Psychedelic. The level generation was sometimes unfair.

JonathanG says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:38pm

I managed to get a score of 7600. I could have probably played a bit longer but I felt like I'd seen all there was to see. Other games to rate and all that :P The lighting on the shapes was excellent, the font choice was good, and it had a nice clean aesthetic. The music was sweet and very chill. As others seem to have commented, at the start you expect it to be a continuing corridor upwards, where you use the shadows to predict where to go, but then it quickly devolves to dodging shapes endlessly encroaching from the sides. I feel like there's something in this idea though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]