April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

YLBIN

by intripoon - 48 Hour Compo Entry

YLBIN is the oldschool snake game with a few twists. Use your cursor keys or WASD to move your snake.

I made it in Flash with Flash Develop and draw the little art that is in there with Paint.Net. The sounds are create with sfxr.

I planned for taking part in ld for quite some time now but my schedule didn't allow it for the past three times. So this weekend I reserved at least a few hours to enter something. I also felt like "minimalism" is the theme that fits perfectly with my art skills.

I'm not using flash very often - only for two other very simple games over a year ago. I had some issues in the beginning, like how to draw a tiles background efficiently in flash - I'm still not quite sure if it's the best way now, but it seems to be fast enough. I spent some time adjusting the response of the input system. It turned out to be a bit more complicated than I first expected.

Ok. Thanks for reading all of this. Enjoy the game and happy playing & voting to all of us! :D

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#406Overall3.31
#430Innovation3.28
#485Fun3.06
#512Humor2.28
#664Theme3.43
#668Mood2.76
#920Audio2.05
#1047Graphics2.37

Comments

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20am

Really cool idea!

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:21am

Pretty cool. Gamefield is a little big. I couldn't view the whole game at once on my 1280x800 laptop so scrolling was an additional challenge.

Gilvado says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:24am

Awesome new take on the old snake formula, really impressive!

igrowbeards says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:26am

Fun game and congrats on finishing! I did find the controls/speed to be a little too twitchy, which ended up being frustrating.

tgwozdz says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:29am

So hard!

Fnkee says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:37am

Fabulous concept! Great learning curve as well.

intripoon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:49am

Wow, Thx for all the positive feedback - especially since this is my first ld. :)

Sorry for the resolution issue. I wasn't sure what resolution to choose. I didn't want to leave out low res people while I also didn't want a tiny screen for people with high resolutions.

I got the speed comment a few times already. I guess I played it too much while testing and therefore made it a bit too fast in the end.

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:50am

I really enjoyed it! When I wasn't swearing at it! Snake is perhaps challenging with scissor keys >_>.

That gravity mechanic is a really neat idea, and you founf some clever uses for it. I did feel that the "touching the sky" puzzle had an "I get it, but please don't make me do this especially with those blue guys ruining everything" feel". On that subject, I'm conflicted on the fun value of enemies that move at random.

Anyway, great job duder!

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:08am

Good job, you definitely managed to add some interest to the standard snake formula. The timing is very challenging! I got to level 14 but had to retry so many times on the earlier levels that my concentration was breaking down. Still want to keep playing, though!

GaTechGrad says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:20am

Reminds me of the days when I would play the snakes game that came bundled with QBasic (Nibbles)

bobo72a says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:28am

I really liked this game, but stage 8 was frustrating.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:44am

Very cool idea indeed, though I would disagree with Fnkee, sort of. The learning curve is fine, as in the concepts aren't introduced too quickly, but the difficulty curve is nuts. I got frustrated and quit in the level with the expanding orange stuff because I was having too much trouble getting the snake to make precision turns. Perhaps just me, though. Still, if the snake had started slower so one could get more used to it and then sped up over time in the level or across levels, I think it would make this more enjoyable. As it stands, it goes from interesting to frustrating too quickly for me to stay invested.

stevejohnson says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:13am

There is so little here, but it works for you. The level titles do a lot to help the tone.

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Felt like snake with nos!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:51am

Great take on classic game concept.
The speed was to hight for me so I couldn't beat it. Nonetheless good game.

mortus says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:45pm

Great fun and innovative game! I didn't figure it out first but levels weren't fitting on my screen for some reason (web link), so I couldn't beat level 10 i think. Figured it out only when closed the game and looked at screenshots.

fullmontis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:56am

I really like the concept but the delay in the response of the "snake" makes it very difficult to have precise control, so it leads to frustration in the later levels.

May 3, 2013 @ 9:12am

Pretty hard, I stopped at the level with both red and pink blocks. Didn't get what the pink blocks did, I had no problems with them although I must've touched at least one. The spreading of the red blocks is a really cool idea.

brookman32k says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:41am

Cool idea, but i think sometimes I had some delay on the controls. I'm not good at this game XD

patrickward says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:44am

I love the concept, and the levels are progressively interesting. However, I did find the controls not responsive enough and the game play too fast (or maybe I'm too slow) . Way too difficult for me. I would suggest slowing things down or perhaps making it so the player can choose a degree of difficulty before playing (to train and learn). Keep going, you've got a great idea here! Thanks for making it!

KEFIR says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:39am

Concept is great! But controls a little too delayed :(

Robrock55 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:54am

A great remake of my favorite old snake, more difficult than ever !

ovenchips says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Snake-tastic! I got to level 15 and the threw my keyboard out of the window. Frustrating and delightful in equal measures. Well done.

naufr4g0 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Really innovative mechanics in a classic game! :)
Levels are really hard!

mrx says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Very fun, very frustrating, making it addictive! :)

DBRalir says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:23am

Fantastic game, great concept. The audio got a bit annoying, but overall good job! I really love the red lava stuff, although the randomly moving pink blocks were unnecessary. Really great game!
(Unrelated: I updated my own game in response to your comment.)

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:12pm

Great way to improve on a yet simple and well known concept. My big reproaches here:
- The game resolution is way too large, on laptops it's pretty hard to finish some levels
- The snake speed is a bit too high

sudorossy says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:58pm

It was a good game, but there seemed to be a delay between when you press the button and when you move. Made it nearly unplayably difficult for me

SaintHeiser says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:32pm

Awesome concept, but terrible implementation. This stupid delayed controls and damn resolution killed my enjoying =(

May 7, 2013 @ 1:09am

the "snake with gravity" idea is brilliant. my suggestion would be to switch to a non-web based engine for your games (Multimedia Fusion 2, Unity, Game Maker, etc.). that's just my preference though... i think it's dumb that anyone would want to play a game in windowed mode, period, so my opinion might be skewed :P

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:00pm

I don't think I've ever seen anyone do this before. Very clever!

bms says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 2:22pm

I like the game a lot, but the only problem for me was the responsiveness of the keys. it felt like there was this random delay to them.. otherwise great game, well done!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]