April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Bear Necessities

by itsZN - Jam Entry

*Please tell us if the mac one is working, we didn't get much chance to test the port


You have just come out of hibernation, and are extremely hungry.
Sadly, you can only lumber around for a short time before you fall asleep from exhaustion.
Oh, and look out for those nasty bees.
Can you gather enough food before you doze off?

To win, consume enough food to last you through the winter, then return to your cave.

This game features a map editor and an online map mode which allows new maps to be played over time. However, there are currently no map packs available until later this week.

This game was made in the LWJGL, a java binding to OpenGL.
Tools used include Eclipse, Photoshop, Pickle (sprite editor), and original music in Garageband (with the 8-bit plugin.)

Have fun playing!

(Made by a group of 3; 2 coders, and 1 artist)

*Please tell me if the ground does not render!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness60%
#76Humor(Jam)3.15
#202Audio(Jam)3.12
#208Mood(Jam)3.15
#248Fun(Jam)2.97
#310Overall(Jam)3.00
#337Innovation(Jam)2.76
#392Graphics(Jam)2.76
#460Theme(Jam)2.66

Comments

messiano says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58am

Nice art and concept, but the music was a bit annoying. A map editor was unexpected!

DaanVanYperen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:37pm

That was actually pretty funny. Liked the music slowing down.

lasergans says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:02pm

Crashes on Mac OSX 10.7.5 :(
JavaVM WARNING: JAWT_GetAWT must be called after loading a JVM
org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Could not get the JAWT interface

billknye says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Interesting concept, pretty cool that there was a built in map-editor getting fish from the river was fun. I walked many a meter in vain.

dook says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:27pm

Not bad! I liked the music changing speed and the eye-meter.

alcazar says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37pm

A very fun game. I like the sound feedback when you fall down.

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:37pm

It's awesome that you thought long-term and not only added a map editor but an online repository for new levels to be loaded in.

The game itself is pretty fun and I think it definitely deserves some post-LD polishing! Hope you keep working on it :)

reheated says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I find it fun, and I like the way the music slows down as you get tired. Is there any way to get away from those damn bees??

Meep says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:11pm

I liked the varying sound speed; Overall fun game. The map editor was a nice touch but I feel that it's more of a post-LD thing to add, and the time could have gone to polishing/adding something else. Just my thoughts, though. Great work, regardless. :)

itsZN says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:05pm

I had already slightly developed the editor just from spawning things to test and make maps, so it was actually really easy to implement.

Jeremias says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:12pm

Was fun to play, here is my feedback:
+ Funny idea with the eyes as health bar
+ Music slows down is a nice effect, too
- The bees are arbitrary: you can't have any control over them so it's totally random if you can finish a level or not
- The collision of the trees is somehow buggy and a bit too big (sometimes I can't shake it and need to move multiple times on it)
- The water is somehow buggy, too. In the level with the many rivers flowing in different directions, I get stucked between two rivers sometimes
- The music gets annoying after some time :D

May 1, 2013 @ 1:18pm

I didn't make it past the second level, seemingly I needed 3 fishes to satisfy the bear's needs but always lost before a third one appeared.
Anyway, I like the game and especially the way you made minimalism part of the concept instead of just relying on minimalistic gameplay or art style.

Tyro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Pretty cool! It'd be nice if you could press a key or something once in the cave to hibernate once you were done collecting food. I liked the music, especially how it slowed once you started losing energy. The map editor was nifty as well!

Ernyz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:54pm

The music which was slowing down was very funny :D

V0ID says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:44pm

Nice game. Many good things were already mentioned. I liked the eye-balls following the mouse : )
I would've liked the bear to stay in the center of the screen, because like this I ran unintentionally into trees several times and was overwhelmend by a bee :(

stqn says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:37pm

I tried the windows version under linux, but it failed with "no lwjgl in java.library.path". I don't understand why java games often have separate downloads for windows, osx and linux; isn't it supposed to be cross-platform?

itsZN says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:42am

@stqn This game uses LWJGL, which has different natives for each operating system, so you have to package each diffrent

avidgamerNino says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:39pm

I liked the map creator, I did get to see my map in action though. I couldn't figure out how to get energy I thought the honeycombs would help but I didn't see their real purpose.

itsZN says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:01am

They fill the hunger bar, while the energy bar never increases. That way you have to make the minimal amount of motion.

eedok says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Awesome idea, though the camera dead zone could probably be lowered a bit to make it a bit easier to see if honeycombs fall on the far side of trees or where the river will lead to your demise

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:09pm

The web version is not loading on firefox. Based on the windows version, the game is fun to play, Like already commented, the bees are annoying. Nice concept!

cakemonitor says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:40pm

Feels like Envirobear-2000 (without the car) :)
I sometimes found the display didn't scroll enough so I couldn't see what was just ahead of me - especially on the right-hand side. but overall a great job, I really enjoyed playing

noa says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:48am

Good game, I enjoyed it. Good sound too.

shatterhand says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:49pm

Loved the game. The music is awesome and the way it slow downs while the bear is getting sleepy its brilliant. I usually don't like much randomness in my games in a way I can't control if I can win or not (Like the bees which appear randomly), but all in all a pretty good entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]