April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Insert Name Here

by Syawra - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This game intends to show you a part of what's behind the scenes of game design.

Although I've got lots of work left, I couldn't miss this LD because I'm just fond of this theme. So, here I am, with a really short game I made in two hours. If only I had the two whole days, I'd have made maaaany more levels, as well as a few sound effects using Acapela or Google Translate ~

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Theme4.60
#182Fun3.47
#284Innovation3.47
#334Overall3.40
#1894Coolness17%

Comments

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34am

This game is hilarious!

foul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:23pm

Most minimalist game so far..:)

heuermh says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14am

Well done. Small Reward.

Are says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:32pm

This game would be perfect with sounds from google translator :( but, anyway, I like it very much :)

Jorjon says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:24pm

Wow this is very cool. You should teach game design with this.

Myyyvothrr says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 11:38am

Really cool!

ashdnazg says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:07pm

Very good take on the theme!
Have you thought of putting an audio loop of yourself saying: "Ambient music"

mildmojo says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:15am

Nice work. Clever, semi-challenging, great sense of humor.

Since it feels like it would be quick to add more elements, I would've liked to see just a few more levels or challenges.

May 13, 2013 @ 12:35pm

Oh, wow, very clever! Thanks!

EggDestroyer says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:14pm

I... I think I love you.
Really, I actually laughed while playing this game, and I'm actually thinking of showing your game to people asking me "wtf is game design ?".

LizEngland says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 7:31pm

Very cool! Someone else pointed me to this game because we had very similar ideas, but very different implementation. I really love the direction you went with it.

Xanjos says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:51pm

Loved the subtle humour.

Syawra says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Many thanks ! Next week (after judging ends), I might make more levels and polish the game (sound effects, background and stuff).
I'll post here when this is done, or maybe submit it on Kongregate.

May 19, 2013 @ 11:19pm

Very nice game. :) I like how you made the objectives clear with only words. Small reward!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]