April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

The Lamp

by Catman - Jam Entry

You are stuck in a room. It is empty, save for a lamp in the middle. The lamp is your only hope.

Turn the lamp off, then turn it on.
See what happens.
Survive.


Controls:
WASD or arrow keys to move
any other key to use objects

Mac and Linux versions have not been tested. If there is any problem please let me know!


Hints:
Beware of the eyes.
Use the torches.
Match the colors.
Fear the hours.
Keep going.


This minimalistic survival game (both in the graphics and the gameplay) was created by:

Michele Pirovano - Programming, Game Design, Animation
Federica Tana - Graphic Design, 2D Art
Dario Campanella - Graphic Design, 2D Art, Game Design, Sound
Andrea Campanella - Music, Sound
Dario Bertini - Programming
Riccardo Sacchi - Programming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#43Mood(Jam)3.79
#65Innovation(Jam)3.69
#72Fun(Jam)3.55
#102Overall(Jam)3.61
#106Theme(Jam)3.74
#144Humor(Jam)2.74
#150Audio(Jam)3.33
#278Graphics(Jam)3.16

Comments

sboerwinkle says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:20pm

Linux gives a dropbox 404.

Catman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:21pm

Thanks, fixing...

Musicolor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:27pm

creeeeeepy and fun

Catman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:29pm

Should be working now!

I am going to bed, so if there is any problem with the Mac or Linux versions (or even the others) please let me know and I'll fix the ports tomorrow, thank you!!

Tanius says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:35pm

really nice game, well done.

DarioOliGPI says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:04pm

OMFG! :) really cool :) I played it a lot :) very original and fun. Maybe sounds are too loud compared to music if you want to find something wrong at any cost XD

sittaman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:07am

Cool game!

rujo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:56am

fine and peculiar game, fits the theme.

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:01am

This was very atmospheric. I also like the variety of monsters, sounds. There seems to be no ending, right?

Catman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:03am

Thank you everyone for your comments, and for playing!

There is a single ending: death.

You can aim for the best time, tho ;)

dsoft20 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:06am

Great well executed game, it perfectly fits the theme and it's fun to play

ArkadyDracul says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:36pm

Simple and perfect!

Lidfrid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:49pm

Creepy, nice concept :)

BleuLlama says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:51pm

Unique! I like it!

zkenshin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:54pm

Interesting game. Well done. :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I had fun, really good entry !

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:59pm

That's pretty original game - great job :)

Sestren says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:00pm

Really fun idea with good mood. The sounds were a bit loud and harsh, at times, though.

JustinMullin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Much fun. At times i felt like I didn't want to turn off the lights, too scared. :) Overall fun game though. Good work!

Jubjub. says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:14pm

Interesting game, I enjoyed the flavor text and found the sound effects quite effective (specially the growling!).

dick_claus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:47pm

Really cool, guys!

atraxgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Very atmospheric. Good game!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:02pm

In my favourite ld game for the moment! Good idea =)

metaldemon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:46pm

awesome game. really neat concept. and fun how the same enemy is sometimes scared and sometimes attracted of/to light!

naufr4g0 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:59pm

Very creepy for a so minimal game! :)
Love the footsteps, that help you to perceive the dangerousness of monsters, and the sounds.

saguaro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:28pm

I really liked the mood.

Potentialing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:12am

Very enjoyable, I got some thrills playing this one, and reminded me of my childhood days playing "Ghost in the Graveyard", running to safe spots before people tagged me in the dark. This entry had a very nice mood, and the music helped bring the mood home. The SFX kinda detracted from that mood, though, and the graphics, while simplistic, did the job just right. Nice job!

LTyrosine says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:28pm

Creepy and funny. Nice job.

olkeencole says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:04pm

Excellent entry. Fits the theme well, fun to play, and the mood is well conveyed.

May 2, 2013 @ 7:31am

Interesting and very good at creating mood with its mechanics. Thank you!

Zhrack says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:07am

creepy and funny!

xdegtyarev says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:40am

Great horror game. Simple means achieve tense atmosphere. Would be nice if you could explore a house and not just one box room.

saggiosoft says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:49pm

Original, fun, cool, professional.

May 2, 2013 @ 8:29pm

This is great, amazing work!

Love the gentle vibe, which contrasts nicely with the brutal monsters in the dark.

axcho says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:13am

The alternating light and dark is a very clever way to structure the experience. I like it. The sounds are great too - they really make it scary, not just frustrating.

infernet89 says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Very nice atmosphere, pretty scary! Even if it is minimalistic!

loxo says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Nice simple concept, graphics and sounds.

ethankennerly says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:10pm

The things barely seen moving in the dark scared me. Simple and novel. If you continue to develop this, I did not understand the colored squares that are there sometimes when light is on.

0beah says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:15am

Nice Idea. Monster sound effects are really creepy. creates great atmosphere.

KEFIR says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:58am

It was fun! Great idea! I think you should give this game a future, maybe with less minimalism ;)

GranaDa says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Really good idea! Nice mood and audio. Awesome!

TijmenTio says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 1:13pm

Even though it is so simple, playing it gives me chills down my spine. Well done!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:14am

Great game and very stresful atmosphere.

Ninja Doggy says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:14am

Nice game and concept actually.It fits very well in the LD#26
theme. 10/10 *

someone says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 5:01pm

Nice game.

euwaku says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Wow, the atmosphere was crazy. This game almost awakened my inner kid fears :O
Very good entry.

Catman says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 7:14am

Loving your comments, you all are the reason making games is sooooo good. :)

lorancou says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Great use of sound and darkness

nimblegorilla says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 9:00pm

Really fun game. I died a bunch because I kept trying to shine the flashlight on monsters to see what they looked like instead of getting to the lamp. haha.

May 14, 2013 @ 9:58am

wow!!! Very very cool concept!!! while being minimalist you managed to make this game creepy!! I love this game!!! Excellent work!!! :D

Benjamin says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:28am

The lamp idea is neat, the switching on and off bring the perfect rythm to the game. The monsters are simple but scary and their screams are just perfect. I think I'm just not fond of size fading footstep, alpha fading or no fading would work better imho.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]