April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Conversion

by Spiridios - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Minimalism in this case is minimal senses. This is a sound-based game and the only visuals are messages telling you what your tactile senses would tell you. You need to locate things based on their sound until you get close enough to feel them. You will need stereo headphones or speakers in order to locate items.

NEW! There is now an HTML5 build thanks to Kevin Gadd adding support for panning to JSIL so quickly! I have only successfully tested it in Chrome. It may work in Safari. It does NOT work in Firefox due to Firefox not yet supporting the Web audio API. I put a bit of detection code in the page, so if the audio API isn't supported you should get a big red message saying so.

Note, the initial sound is supposed quite loud, and you should be able to hear every sound thereafter. If you hit a point and can't hear the next goal, your sound is probably turned down too low.

Hints:
There are two endings, you can decide if either is a "win" or not.
The controls are first-person - left/right rotates you, up/down moves forward/back.
Sounds are slightly quieter when coming from behind.

It's much shorter than I had envisioned, but the core idea is there.

Tools used:
Visual C# Express with XNA
JSIL
Tiled (there is a map behind the game. If you get really frustrated you can make it visible by editing the map.)
Audacity
A Belkin TuneTalk stereo recording adapter for my iPod classic

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#10Innovation4.25
#23Audio4.00
#46Mood3.86
#46Theme4.25
#352Overall3.38
#487Humor2.32
#700Fun2.82
#1165Graphics2.19

Comments

manabreak says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:55am

This was something quite unusual. Kudos!

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:56pm

You have the beginning of something really, really good. This would be a great game to play on a phone, in the dark, with headphones on, but rather than pressing keys, you take steps to control your character.

Spiridios says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:26pm

@badlydrawnrod I'm planning on trying a monogame port which opens up the possibility of an Android port. Though I can just imagine people falling down stairs trying to play it in the dark though. :P

hgouveia says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:09am

it reminds me the all text adventures game :D

Cheshyr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:09am

Excellent.

Pitzik4 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:20am

This was great, proves the importance of audio in video games. Was I supposed to die at the end? More importantly, was I supposed to shoot everything that breathes? I'm not really sure, but I think that not quite knowing if you could have made a different choice is a good thing in games.

Furyhunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:56am

Spent a lot of time rather confused, but nevertheless was able to complete the game. Interesting concept to play by the idea of sound.

Bevilacqua says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:02am

I liked this, it was very different i liked that.

nathanj439 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:05am

Really unique idea. Nice job.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:12am

Unique concept that goes surprisingly well along with the theme.

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:53am

Very interesing idea!

Cosine says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:05pm

Sounds like a great game. Won't run, complaining about Direct3D. Either way, like the originality.

Spiridios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:56pm

@Cosine - what is the exact error message and which OS are you trying this on? Is the XNA 4 runtime installed? (second link above). Hopefully either I or the JSIL developer will make some headway on getting panning support in JSIL so I can have an HTML5 version up.

nintendoeats says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:38am

I've seen one other game that was along these lines (ON the XBLI a couple years ago), but I think this one gave much better feedback. Assuming that you came up with more mechanics I think that there is a full game in here.

I'm not really sure what was going on at the end or why I was expected to do what I did.

I do really wish that it was full screen so that I could have full sensory deprivation. I was closing my eyes, but it would have been nice to have my screen go completely black so that I could see the text when it came up.

Also, multi-channel support! I have 4 speakers, I want to use them!

Nezzhil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:16pm

Incredible use of the proposed theme. 4/5 overall score.

dapierce says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 5:57am

Awesome idea and executed really well. The sound effects tell enough of a story to carry it, and require you to fill in a lot of blanks, and it made me feel very tense through part of it. Well done!

Armix says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:45am

It was quite a unique experience and haven't played any game quite like this one. Excellent consideration of the theme. It would be awesome to have an awe-inspiring quality of audio design if you choose to develop a post-compo version. Otherwise, very nice!

Prelucid says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Strange game. Not in a bad way.

Ryusui says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 3:32am

Excellent. Short, but made great use of its premise. By any chance, is there more than one ending? Because "Game Over" suggests I screwed up by shooting the guy at the end.

zatyka says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:16am

That was pretty cool. Definitely a very interesting experience.

Spiridios says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:50am

@everyone who asked about the ending, I've added a hint to the entry description that mentions that there are two endings. Thanks everyone for the great comments!

May 3, 2013 @ 5:03am

Echoloco! :D

dick_claus says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:07am

Perfect idea, but really hard to play.

Jesse111 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:14am

That was slightly creepier than I thought it would be! Very inventive take on the theme. Very high rankings, I give!

@SamPotasz says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:20pm

Immersing and difficult :)

Super Hamster says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:08am

Interesting concept.

dalbinblue says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 4:28am

Interesting game and excellent use of sound. I'm unfortunately not too good at this game (found some items, but had difficulty interacting).

May 4, 2013 @ 4:48am

Cool idea and definitely takes the Minimalism theme to an extreme. One thing that might be helpful is to let the player know if the movement is top down or FPS-style. For example, when I hit a wall, do I hold left to turn around then hold up to walk forward for awhile, or do I hold left instead of up to walk left instead for awhile?

Ragzouken says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:33am

It's really fun playing all the different games that did limited vision - everyone has a different take on it. Yours is the most similar to mine that I've played so far, your sounds are much nicer, but I can't tell what kind of movement scheme is being used (left/right to turn or to move?).

Dir3kt says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:31pm

That's very funny how you create a mental representation of the surrounding. Good job!

Spiridios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:50pm

Thanks for the comments! I took it for granted that the controls were obvious. :P Movement is FPS-style. I added two more hints to the entry description to help with this.

_Ziemowit says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:45pm

Cool idea (maybe because it's similar to mine ;P), but on headphones i hear the same sound in both left and right ear ;)

Spiridios says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:45am

@_Ziemowit - which build did you try (Web or Windows?) If web, which browser and version so I can test it. The Audio API code that the web build is using for panning is bleeding edge, so it might have some issues. It's only known to work in Chrome 26 or better and it's known NOT to work in Firefox.

Cybearg says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Very well done!

This isn't the first blind game that I've played in this LD, but this is the only one that I enjoyed. The implementation of sounds that you're drawn towards with written feedback is a superb and elegant implementation.

Still, I'd like to see the idea expanded upon somehow so that there's more to it. Something to consider after the Dare is done.

In any case, well done!

HD408 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:05am

Quite a fearsome experience. First I shot someone, and then I just lost. The game flow is very short, but intriguing and interesting.

tankete says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:57am

Unique idea. Not easy to play, but fun. Great job!

davidwparker says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 9:15pm

Didn't see to run on OSX Chrome.

Cosine says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:21am

Really great game, really creative. 5 stars for Innovation, Theme and Mood.

Spiridios says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 5:54am

@davidwparker I'm not quite sure what you mean by "didn't see", but you could try it in Safari - it's supposed to have the Web Audio API that's being used for sound. I don't have access to a Mac to try it in.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 5:41pm

I found the sound, but kept hitting a wall, so I did not know how to continue. The stereo sound worked quite well.

Spiridios says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 10:08pm

Thanks everyone who voted me up to #10 in innovation!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]