April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

_M_

by GranaDa - Jam Entry

Unveil the Mystery.

Puzzle and some action...

Try it! ^^

Rate it! ^^

Twitter: www.twitter.com/granadainteract
Facebook: www.facebook.com/granadastudio

Runs on Chrome (better) and Firefox.
The web version takes 2-3 seconds between frames to load, seems faster on Chrome. If nothing works, try refreshing the page. ^^

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#45Innovation(Jam)3.81
#51Mood(Jam)3.75
#58Theme(Jam)3.97
#86Audio(Jam)3.57
#114Graphics(Jam)3.81
#144Overall(Jam)3.47
#298Fun(Jam)2.82
#313Humor(Jam)1.99

Comments

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:01am

The game evokes a nice mood.

ddionisio says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:32am

I really like the style and the ambiance! I feel like I woke up in the future and trying to open the door.

Took me a while to figure it out...if this was the door to my fridge I would be in big trouble!

infernet89 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:34pm

Really hard to understand what's going on, but very interesting puzzles.. Nicely done!

xandy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:35pm

very cool! best game i'Ve seen so far :)

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Amazing visual style and audio, absolutely astounding. Full scores all around for me.

namuol says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:36pm

Runs in Linux with WINE, but the visuals are all squashed over to the left, which makes it mostly unplayable. :[

The audio is -phenomenal-. I may have to boot into windows to play this...

brookman32k says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:43pm

Very nice music. Also, the puzzle is very puzzling. Great Job!

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:44pm

A bit hard to understand whether you're doing well or not. Very nice overall presentation.

lanz says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:46pm

Nice and minimalistic!

May 1, 2013 @ 1:47pm

I have no clue what I'm doing, but damn, it's pretty. Very nicely done - I just don't have a head for puzzles right now :D

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:10pm

Can't play, have a mac.

Typedeaf says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:14pm

The puzzle is fun, but the timer seems out of place. I want to be able to think quietly on the puzzle, but it keeps resetting and throwing me off :O

Otherwise, very nice graphics and sound, mood is perfect and the challenge is addictive :)

jerombd says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:19pm

Nice abstract/si-fi feeling! But like Liddo says it's "A bit hard to understand whether you're doing well or not"; it's maybe too abstract afterall...

IceCliff says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:20pm

I really wish this was part of the competition, I found it really challenging.

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:27pm

Beautiful looking game. I love the mysterious puzzle style.

fishbrain says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:33pm

Found it quite difficult to play, but really nice style, superb graphics.

infinitedog says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:37pm

The sound is amazing. Hard to understand at the beginning but a nice game.

Zener says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Nice minimalistic game, good sfx. Goodjob

ovenchips says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:49pm

Oozes originality and a distinct visual theme. Does the theme justice. A pat on the back all round!

Kalakian says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:49pm

As others have said, it's not very clear whether you've done well or bad. I could get onto the third screen, but not sure how well/badly I did. Revering the direction didn't always work either (most of the time ok).

Good use of the theme, and the audio/graphics fit well together.

gre says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Mysterious!

BrothersT says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:06pm

I got a black screen after the circle-click bit at the beginning :(

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:14pm

Maybe you could post a strategy guide or spoilers? It's fun to play with but I have no idea what I'm doing, or how my actions affect the outcome.

bowlercaptain says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:17pm

Very interesting puzzle, and the graphics and audio are astounding. I couldn't figure it out - suddenly it just ended and I'd done it, but had no idea how. I just kept matching up the circle and triangle and it kept doing stuff, but I didn't see any pattern. Sometimes I could get them to match up simultaneously, but not always.

GreenPixelDev says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:23pm

Interesting concept and beautiful style! I wish I was better at puzzles :D You've managed to set a nice mood with the simplest of shapes! Great job!

yellowlemming says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:26pm

it's difficult to work out what to do but it is really well done

Tokken18 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:28pm

Thanks for commenting and letting me know you put up a web build! Glad I was able to try this, it's really interesting. Audio really helps create a mysterious ambiance. Graphically it's really clean and well laid out. Well done. Only thing is I don't think I'm smart enough for the puzzles, but enjoyed it none the less!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:55pm

Good creation with very nice atmosphere. The begin is a bit hard to understand.


What software do you use to build this game ?

john_conder9 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:00pm

Great job! I found it pretty confusing but by the third time I had it pretty much figured out, although I still don't quite understand how I am supposed to know when I should be trying to get the circle or the triangle to touch. But really cool concept and it was fun and nifty, I like it!

Tozy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:20pm

Cool!
It took me a while to understand what was going on. I could only guess that when the circles and the triangles match you gain some time, then I did that again and again till I reached the final stage, but I suppose I could have done better (getting all the triangles form the bottom... but how?).
Nice presentation!

PsenFilip says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:15pm

Interesting frame/window size.
I like the games simplicity and flow. The mechanics make me feel like I am playing with a safe lock or something, trying desperately to find my way out.
Game state reset is flawless, pretty cool.
The puzzle is very interesting, took me quite a bit to figure it out. Well done.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:29pm

Impressive quality. Extremely immersive. Congratz!

8BitPimp says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:08pm

That's a really nice game. The audio in particular is really great.

I also recompiled my entry for you since you said you had troubles running it. I hope that helps.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:09pm

Red, black, white & I have no idea how to solve the second puzzle. Cool style.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 10:03pm

Really intriguing. Absolutely love the audio.

May 2, 2013 @ 11:56pm

I really like the graphics and audio, the general mood, but i'm not sure how i won this...i'm sad there is not more levels.

Travis Irby says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:43am

Woe this game was really weird! In a good way :D Very unique and cool style, nicee.

BrothersT says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 1:06am

Thanks for playing our game! I tried yours again and it worked this time but before it was hanging on a black screen forever I swear.. Works now though so I wouldn't worry about it - probably just this old computer I'm using. I really like the style of this game although for the life of me I can't figure out the puzzle. I've recognized certain patterns in the behavior of the puzzle and at one point thought you had to get the shapes to line up with the arrow pointing either up or down, to gain an up or down triangle, but that didn't work either. And expanding on what Tozy said, there is barely any time to think about what direction to go/ which shape to line up next to gain more time on the clock, so most of the time is spent, not trying to solve the puzzle, but trying not to run out of time to solve the puzzle, and luckily happening upon the right solution without really understanding what you've done. Well.. maybe other people are finding it easier than I am. Nice game though! very interesting.

Tyro says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 2:24am

The audio really set the mood. I'm not sure if I've figured it out quite yet, but I like it when games challenge you to think outside the box. It's almost like a visual riddle of sorts. Great work! :)

namuol says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 5:06am

This is how I feel when I'm trying to solve the puzzle in time: http://i.imgur.com/2PV9L3i.gif

But I like that. It's a game that really forces you to explore the mechanics, and I'm a sucker for that kind of design, lately.

Not to er-- echo what others are saying, but the aural ambience is really just outstanding in your game.

lotusgame says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:53am

Good minimalist puzzle game. Congrats :)

Neonlare says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:16am

Timer felt really out of place as the puzzles seemed to often have very little conveyance to them. I just didn't understand what was going on most of the time, but that doesn't change the fact that they're very cleverly designed and very well presented with the minimalistic style. Audio is fantastic and really adds a lot to the game's mood, very good job here.

Mekuri says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Very nice game. I'm not sure if I beat it or not. I figured out how to color the triangles at the bottom white, but never succeeded in getting them all white- But I did get past it a few times, so.. I won? :-)

Good job nonetheless, good audio, which creates a nice mood.

GranaDa says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:27pm

@all: if you saw the last screen depicted on the last screenshot: yes you won. If not: try again!

miotatsu says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:40pm

interesting presentation, both the visuals and the audio are amazing, really intuitive game design. I think this is the best interpretation of the theme I've seen so far!

Shugor says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:43pm

It's a pretty interesting game, with cool graphics, smooth motion, and nice sound effects. I'm so confused on what to do though but it looks nice.

NateNaterson says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:37pm

Creepy! Had a hard time figuring it out but I'd be lying if I said I didn't have fun.

GaTechGrad says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:39pm

The learning curve seemed on this one seemed a little steep to me. Maybe start people out by making them only have to make one or two triangles white, then on a later level make them fill all seven.

Husky says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:56am

I didn't really get it ...,
but it truly has a good mood and ambient!
Good job! :p

SmilingCat says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 11:50am

I think I figured out one or two things about this game, but must be missing something because I can't seem to make it past getting 3 white triangles at the bottom lit.

I like the sounds and how they work together with the graphics to build a mood of eerie, futuristic suspense. Good job!

mrx says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:02pm

interesting but confusing loved the design and the music

TuxedoFish says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:23pm

I love this game, the graphics are really cool and it really fits the theme while still looking well designed. The puzzles are really engaging and it makes you want to figure out why your going wrong and just keep doing it while never feeling frustrated its just really fun :D

Waynetron says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:36am

Has a very nice feel to it. Well done.

plash says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 2:39am

Notes:

- I like the opening theme.
- And the ambiance.
- Woah. What is going on here? I am not really sure.
- Seems if I pass the circle over its cutout it moves and activates a white triangle?
- Seems to alternate between activating on the triangle and circle.
- Held to make the circle envelop its enclosure. Seems to be playing the intro again.
- Somehow got back to the start screen. Two triangles in center circle now.
- Do I have to make all of the triangles on the bottom white before the black ones on the top run out?
- Hm. Got back to the start screen again. Definitely did not make all of them white. Same two triangles in the center circle.

- Not really sure what is going on here, but I like the mood, audio, and visuals a lot.
- I see a screenshot with all triangles in the circle, so I must be missing something.

omaromeir says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:48am

I'm not sure what the rules were. I got that I had to pass the circle and the triangle over their cutouts, I got really nervous and excited at the end and I finished it. I had fun. Really cool and innovative game, but I would recommend that you put a hint of some kind. Great job!

mortl8324 says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:49am

Hmm.. Isn't loading for me on safari on mac.

euwaku says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:34am

This game is a bit confusing, however we can't deny all the efforts in graphics and design. Overall a good game, maybe more indications would be nice.

tsb says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:49am

very cool but at first look hard to understund.

FaBrito says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:48am

Really good idea and mood well set. Nice difficulty balance too. I was struggling to remember which marker I had to achieve sometimes, but I'm sure that's intentional.
Congrats!

Catman says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 10:59am

Cool graphics and style, but the mechanics are really hard to grasp, I am not even sure why stuff is moving :)

Branch says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:15pm

cool stuff mate

Mesene says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Nice style and audio. Hard to undertant it, very challenging.

Fnkee says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:11pm

It was fun, figuring out the system of the game. Would love to see you do more of the puzzles, but in different variations! Good job on this.

Floko says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:54am

gives me a white screen forever =/

damn, I wanted to see! So many good comments!

MinionStudios says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:52am

Wicked sweet! I totally suck at this form of logic. Much respect!

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:12am

coold design, great use of theme -- hard puzzles -- great effort.

Floko says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:53am

Got it this time. It was interesting, but I think I couldn't figure it out how to really play D:

Sebastian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:12am

I'm confused, but compelled to play even more.

lasergans says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:04pm

Hard to figure out. Nice mood. Minimalistic. Well done ;)

May 6, 2013 @ 7:27pm

This game remembers me of the Predator's gadgets! Congratulations, very innovative gameplay, totally intuitive!

May 6, 2013 @ 7:36pm

This one was quite tricky.

fermcg says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:41am

Fun game man. I didn't get it yet lol, but It's fun and well done.

Crazi456 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:09am

Very amusing game!

ohsqueezy says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:41am

Cool it could be part of an extraterrestrial artifact or mysterious sacred temple.

KEFIR says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:52pm

Very hard to my brain! Challanging. Sounds are best!

May 7, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Makes good use of the theme and while it took me some time to get familiar with the game, I think by the time I was done with it, I liked it! xD

LionelJitro says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:26pm

Really nice atmosphere with the minimalistic art and ambient music.

It made me feel like a complete idiot though because I had no idea what I was doing. I'd sometimes get white triangle down the bottom for matching up things, then I thought I'd had it, I'd match up things again and I didn't get a white triangle.

Really nice game though.

May 8, 2013 @ 6:09am

Strangely spooky...

FREEZX says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 10:09am

Pretty interesting puzzle. Liked the ambient.

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:38pm

Wow.
Great combination.
well done.

whilefun says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:12pm

Neat visuals and audio, but I didn't quite understand how to play properly (I don't think). Interesting use of the theme. Love the audio and atypical graphical layout/style. Will have to give this one another try soon.

mkpictures says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 2:40am

Haha, I got stuck on the second puzzle ^^'
But I enjoyed the game, great sounds and beautiful graphics :) Good job!

angelk says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:22am

The design, ambience and music were all great. I really wanted to understand the puzzles, but I just didn't know what was going on!

kill0u says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 9:32pm

Nice mood, interesting puzzles :)

onzephyr says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 5:51pm

great mood. Nice audio. With art that fits the theme well. I don't know if I fully understood what I was supposed to do but I kept trying things until something seemed to progress. Well made.

May 12, 2013 @ 7:16pm

Creative and moody, well done :3

dertom says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 11:23pm

Nice atmosphere and challenging puzzles

May 14, 2013 @ 10:20am

Didnt have a clue what I was doing... And I thought I was good at puzzle games...

omaha says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:40am

I have no idea what I just played or what I was supposed to do but it was still great. Audio was fantastic. Loved the (industrial?) background noise.

dick_claus says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 8:36am

Stuck on first level, because really hard to understand rules >_<

Jhelle says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 4:14pm

Loving these abstract machine puzzles. Great job!

csanyk says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:27am

Excellent, solid entry. Very well done.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]