April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Zenbox

by drstik - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Zenbox is a minimalist puzzle game. Fill the board with one or more closed loops by using your rake while avoiding the stones.

Click / drag to make tracks. Right click erases tracks.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#269Graphics3.49
#316Innovation3.43
#431Mood3.06
#675Audio2.50
#680Theme3.41
#825Overall2.92
#980Humor1.64
#991Fun2.49
#1411Coolness45%

Comments

acronaut says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39am

Love it!
simple enough yet hard to master!
love the grass! :)
pretty chill.. zentastic!

lpcustom says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

Challenging like a game should be! I like it. I'm not good at it, but it's a great idea!

CagedRat says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:45am

I like it! At first I was frustrated by having to redraw connections that didn't meet up properly, but I came to like it a little. The angle makes the back rows awkward.

FuzzyWuzzie says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46am

Very cool! I definitely got my Zen on :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:47pm

Very nice! Sometimes a little buggy (if you screw a path, it is hard to make the same shape appear again to connect with the previous path), but overall, very good!

PTSnoop says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:40pm

When you're starting a line, it's quite hard to make sure you're starting from the right direction. Slight changes often took longer than they could have done - slightly frustrating. But then, if I'm getting frustrated it's probably my own fault for not being Zen enough. :)

Apart from that, a very nice puzzle game! I like the vaguely Go-style aesthetic of the stones.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:17pm

Is there only one level ? Because when i make the first level in only one loop it takes me back to the main screen..

Khaldrin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:23pm

Very nice one. I like the idea as well as the presentation - the background with the moving grass is simply amazing and really contributes to the athmosphere. The minimalistic music fits the theme. Maybe a quiet sound for the rake shoule be in too? Tracks get sometimes messed up when trying to correct small mistakes but being patient is maybe zen like. Nice contribution :)

ericlass says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:26pm

Nice game. I liked the challenge.

drstik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:48pm

EdoMiyamoto: The placement of the stones is random, so it's a little different every time you play.

fullmontis says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:14am

I like the idea, but using the mouse for this isn't simple. Still, great puzzle game that perfectly fits the theme.

Alucard J says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:40pm

Very challenging, controls are a learning curve but if you lead in from the last section then it all comes together. The terrain and music fit very well, perhaps something for the future could be a hint mechanic? Well Done =]

cmjd says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:21pm

It's a pretty cool game, I love the music and the looks of the garden, nice work :)

mrexcessive says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:19pm

That is excellent fun, fairly straightforward to win/complete a level, but gentle on the mind... nice one!

May 4, 2013 @ 5:45pm

I am stuck, is there always a solution ? however, nice concept, perfectly in the theme

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 6:20pm

Fun to come up with new patterns and it rearranges the rocks every round. I like it!

May 4, 2013 @ 9:27pm

This is great idea :D (if quite difficult)

May 4, 2013 @ 11:06pm

I like the idea, but the controls are very frustrating.

Saturnyn says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:48am

Art is really nice, concept is cool too, but it could use a "You win" screen or sound ;)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]