April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Ever Hunting

by Thotor - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a RPG with only the main aspect remaining ! You only have to do the battles.
WARNING : Death is permanent. Fleeing might become necessary in some encounter.
Game is dictated by heavy RNG which can slow progression, make the game easy or challenging !

Controls :
Mouse
Press M to mute the sounds
Press + or - on the numpad to increase/decrease volume

Featuring :
* 3 Class
* 38 Items
* 13 Skills
* 11 Monsters and 2 Boss
* Random Events

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#271Audio3.17
#501Overall3.22
#643Fun2.89
#669Graphics2.89
#702Theme3.39
#1048Innovation2.39
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

kannas says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:51pm

wow, you took the theme very literally xD the result is a good game, though the time between the battles is a bit too long :P

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59pm

I like this idea. fun :)

thephantom says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:14pm

great effort and great game :)

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:43pm

i think i just didn´t get it.

Gravel says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:35am

Very good interpretation of the theme.
I like that you don't display a character but only is archetypal image.
And it's fun to play!
Good work!

Jod says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:36am

Managed to get my warrior to level 5, until one of those surprisingly tough Red Imps got me.

Good audio. Would have loved to have some earlier access to new skills.

Fun! :)

deepnight says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:25pm

Nice job :) The walk sequences are a bit slow though. I got killed by a giant bat which spammed healing on itself, making it impossible to kill :)
Very nice take on the theme!

ashdnazg says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:20pm

The game is well made and the scope is impressive, but it became boring too soon for me :(

rezzish says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 11:30pm

You can kind of zone out and play this game. That's pretty awesome.

Thotor says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 4:21pm

Thank you all for the comments

@ashdnazg : I pretty much felt the same. Unfortunately, it was too late for me to change the concept.

stefan says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Its a nice game, but I have the impression that there is not that much happening when I play it. Sometimes it takes quite a long time to walk to the next opponent... But overall this is a very nice work.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]