April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Rokhopr

by d_durham - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is my first HTML5 game. I haven't tested extensively on browsers/devices but runs great in Chrome on my desktop and on my iPad and iPhone. Let me know how it works for you and what you run it on.

I have embraced the minimalism theme by creating a simple single button game for one or two players. Additional I have used a minimal 4 colour palette.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness66%
#119Innovation3.77
#235Theme3.89
#283Overall3.45
#383Fun3.17
#569Graphics3.00
#936Humor1.71
#945Mood2.48

Comments

daniel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

Clever little game :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:42am

Almost broke my mouse jumping on one platform to rotate that guy to required direction :)
Most fun game i've played so far in LD26

orangepascal says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:45am

nice control scheme :D

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:58am

Very cool game mechanic you have here.

Winterblood says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59am

Innovative...but really punishing! Almost impossible to recover if you make a tiny timing error.

stqn says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:22pm

Good idea and kinda fun but I find it impossible to go farther than a few jumps…

Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:26pm

Good idea but it's sometimes impossible and then really frustrating.

MaxguN says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:30pm

Nice idea, i like it. Though, makes controls quite hard, a better way to know with which angle land would have been nice (like with a mini map to know where are next platforms).

Well done anyway :)

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:31pm

Nice, the mechanics feels pretty good, and the game is fluid. We get stuck too easily though, and it feels kinda frustrating when you land in the wrond position.
You could find a way to avoid this and your game would be much more addictive!

terrivellmann says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:22pm

Very cool, knowing where the next platforms are at all times would remove some of the frustrating bits.

d_durham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:01pm

Thanks for all the feedback so far. Maybe I should have zoomed the view back a bit so you can see more at once?

Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:58pm

Will there be a leaderboard? Really fun!

d_durham says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:06pm

Yes, once the contest is over I'll 'finish' the game properly, and include some kind of high score system.

metadept says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:29pm

This is very fun, thematically consistent, and well executed. It's also respectably difficult, which is good! Mechanically, I think it would be nice to have some indicator of which direction the next rocks will be in, and also perhaps a way to correct your direction after a bad landing? Maybe some kind of limited 'double jump' type boost in the air. Great job though, really enjoyed it.

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:30pm

Really smart game mechanic! With a little balancing and polish this could be a very addictive mobile game. Great job.

McFunkypants says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:03pm

BRILLIANT control scheme. Totally original to me. This is pretty much the perfect execution of the minimalism theme. Great work.

jerombd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:15pm

Frustrating but addictive!! ... but frustrating (stuck at 9530)...

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

Very unique control scheme. I love when games ask me to learn a completely new activity. Rapidly tapping or clicking anything can be a bit of a pain though :)

I also like the simple but evocative visuals that didn't demand that I make a particular choice of interpretations. Many games I've played so far have similarly abstract visuals, but on the title screen they demand that I choose a particular interpretation.

At first I thought I was a frog with one eye, but later I decided I was a space creature.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:30am

Very unique control scheme. I love when games ask me to learn a completely new activity. Rapidly tapping or clicking anything can be a bit of a pain though :)

I also like the simple but evocative visuals that didn't demand that I make a particular choice of interpretations. Many games I've played so far have similarly abstract visuals, but on the title screen they demand that I choose a particular interpretation.

At first I thought I was a frog with one eye, but later I decided I was a space creature.

High schore: 12940

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:31am

Sorry for the double submit!

Chman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:29am

Very interesting control scheme. Simple to understand, hard to master. Couldn't get past 10k.

Idovoodoo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:30am

Takes a moment to get used to the controls but once you get the hang of it the mechanic is quite cool. Well done! :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:17pm

Good use of minimalism in terms of visuals and controls. Scoring this high on theme.

ataxkt says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:47pm

This is so much fun. My favourite entry yet, and the only one to make me cry out in frustrated joy! Damn you!

chowdy says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Excellent fun! Great aesthetic too. Got around 8k =)

timtipgames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:49pm

I love it when one-button-games differ from smartphone habits. Well done.

Axelhein says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:56pm

I liked this game a lot. It was really innovative and fun. The graphics were nice and simple and the game felt really polished.

PsenFilip says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:10am

Managed to hit 6660 points (no jokes on the number please).
The controls are utterly weird. Anyway I enjoyed my session, constantly fighting against the control mechanic. It was fun

Husky says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:30pm

The moving method is cute lol.
Good job!

jamioflan says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:05am

I got to 10,000! Clearly I win at life!

ElScootro says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:35am

Very fun!!

Shigor says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:11am

On ipad it's almost unplayable

yetanother says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:41pm

very fun one!

wademcgillis says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:41pm

Agh this is hard. I couldn't go more than a few of the circles.

DaveDobson says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 12:14pm

Interesting game! You do a lot with a little here. It is crazy difficult - sometimes just impossible. I think it might be better if you started out without rocks and then progressed to harder and harder jumps. Two-player implementation is impressive and cool.

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 1:52am

A little bit hard, perhaps, but a very good implementation of minimalism. Well done.

Brassawiking says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 4:48pm

Would like to be able to look ahead a bit more so you can plan your jumps. Now it is just a gamble.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]