April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Souls of the Forest

by dek - Jam Entry

Get XNA Framework: http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/download/details.aspx?id=20914

Help the fallen to return to mother nature.
You are a wisp in the woods. You collect the souls of the dead animals. Because your lights do not reach through the night, you carry a magical lantern that you have to replenish at certain locations. If you fail to do that before the Lantern runs out, the game is over.You deploy the souls at chopped tree stumps. That way they can return to the circle of life through the trees roots. The world is procedurally generated.

Please read the Instructions.

Controls:
WASD - Movement
Mouse - Look around

Created by:
@dekdev - art
@wupto - art
@tice666 - programming

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness69%
#28Mood(Jam)3.88
#48Graphics(Jam)4.17
#248Overall(Jam)3.20
#253Audio(Jam)2.97
#359Innovation(Jam)2.69
#382Humor(Jam)1.68
#403Fun(Jam)2.54
#546Theme(Jam)2.18

Comments

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:59pm

I'd love to play this game, but after clicking on the link it said there was an internal server error and no download started.

dek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:04am

@Tyro, game will be up in a few minutes :)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:10am

Really good looking world!

nuprahtor says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:36am

Really relaxing and beatiful game, too bad that Esc key quits to the main menu without asking

Pinkerator says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:44am

This game reminded me about wisps from Warcraft 3 :) Cool level design for two days in development!

juaxix says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:56am

I like almost everything about this game, the night air with ambient sound of the crickets, flying over a forest near the sea, ...it is certainly a very romantic idea, and also has a spiritual touch, I must say that there is many dead animals to collect and a short lamp life to do haha

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:01am

Awesome game, that shows what a three man team can acomplish in 72hours, good job guys!

dek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:02am

@juaxix you can refresh the lantern :D! But there is a catch to this game.. It has to do with lantern consumption speed and your movement speed. :)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:06am

Love this game, even for the graphic ;)

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:07am

Great graphics and sounds, but not enough gameplay, going there and back over and over is kinda boring. Maybe you should add enemies, upgrades, something else.

captainkraft says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:11am

Really loved the environment. The mushrooms, water, lighting... I felt like I was in a real forest.

I had a little trouble controlling the camera at first. The sensitivity on the control is a little high, but I became used to it after a while.

I also like how you handled the world boundaries by draining the lantern's fuel faster when you enter the ocean. Great entry!

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:00pm

Lovely mood and ambiance!

tiffi says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:04pm

awesome grafics, really cool game

Jhelle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Awesome graphical style. Didn't feel like there was much else to do, maybe I was missing something.

bernhard says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:33pm

Screenshots remind me of "Black Lake" from Double Fine, which is cool, couldn't play it though as I have no XNA stuff.

Qaterknan says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:39pm

I don't know what happened, but there the LudumDare26.exe crashed right after launching it :-(
I have Win7 Home Premium 64

psychopsam says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:29am

My best score was 3840. Really great graphics and sound. Enjoyable and challenging. Nice work.

GetFun says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:06pm

Cool graphic

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:22pm

The game feels good while playing. Maybe I missed it, but is there a goal? I keep running around collecting while there is no enemy?

Misfit says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Nice graphics

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:19pm

Very nice! from the materials to the animations, good work!

kyyninen says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 9:19pm

Wonderful mood and love the theme, I just don't know if watching meters fill/run out is the most engaging game mechanic. Some kind of warning sound when lantern is half full would have been nice!

It's midnight now where I am, this was the perfect game to end the day and go to sleep.

Entity2D says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:32am

Very interesting game, simple, yet gorgeous looking!

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 8:35am

Excellent atmosphere, but the gameplay is a bit sparse.

dalbinblue says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 2:21pm

Beautiful game with an excellent atmosphere, but the game-play is lacking. An obstacle or some progression in the game that makes the players feel like they are accomplishing something would help.

May 20, 2013 @ 10:58pm

The camera controls are a little too sensitive. Not having any vertical control over the camera view felt a bit odd, particularly when returning to the tree when your view is very obstructed. The art and feel of the game is very nice though.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]