April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Square Heart Flower

by JonathanG - Jam Entry

WASD to move, mouse to look around. Left-click for actions.

A peaceful exploration/puzzle game set on a minimalist island.
- by Jonathan Gover, Ricky Willis and Duncan Stead

Bonus trivia: all audio was created using an electric guitar

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness61%
#20Innovation(Jam)4.02
#20Overall(Jam)4.02
#25Theme(Jam)4.19
#29Mood(Jam)3.87
#37Graphics(Jam)4.30
#55Audio(Jam)3.76
#103Fun(Jam)3.39
#127Humor(Jam)2.83

Comments

bbrown2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:04am

Beautiful work. I believe I got the boat fixed to finish the game, but I never got inside the castle (or did anything with my coins). Definitely works with the minimalism theme on multiple levels.

EdoMiyamoto says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 8:27am

Very very good job, amazing what you can do learning this language !

AlbertoSM says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:54pm

Holy cow, I love the BW effect. Did you guys make it? Or is it a Unity plugin? Nevertheless, it really made an impression on me. Nice job!!!

JonathanG says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 6:29pm

Thanks for the positive comments! The black/white effect isn't built in, and we used a number of techniques to get it working. The materials are all Self-Illumin/VertexLit to remove all the shading and make them solid colours. The black outlines are different materials on extra geometry around the edges of the models (see the post-mortem link above for an explanation). The ocean is a modified version of the basic Unity water shader with the textures and parameters changed. The terrain uses a custom rim-shader with various tweaks to make the black outlines appear in the right places. It's all worth the effort though!

mrexcessive says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 7:39pm

Nice shader work. Green cube seems broken... can't start sequences with green, which makes opening gate tricky... I think. Tried all other permutations I think... none opened the gate. Excellent game with a small bug (or user error on my part)

JonathanG says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 9:33pm

You can't make cubes believe whatever you tell them about themselves, but you can engineer the situation so that their needs are fulfilled.

Dohan says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:15pm

That shader was simply beautiful.

Geoege says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 10:13am

Ok ! This game is absolutely amazing, love the graphics, the sound and that dialog system is incredible.

Really great job here !

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:40am

Music and atmosphere were just great! I bit hard to navigate because one can't see depth when everything is white ;)

Ernyz says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:44am

The graphics are sooo awesome :) really good job. I think ill return here to play this game again, when i have more time :)

Sebastian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:35pm

Very beautiful experience, I love the day/night effect though the transition between them is quite harsh.

yellowlemming says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:25pm

the graphics are great and I rather like the way you were able to get across the cubes' messages using symbols. The sound also work really well for the game

kddekadenz says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:59pm

Since this was created using Unity, please be so kind to provide an executable for Linux and inform me then.

May 10, 2013 @ 7:07pm

Nice game, but too much for my brain right now, especially as the screen is sooo bright... :)

Jod says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 9:03am

Loved the way you handled the theme. At one point everything turned black and I was confused for a moment before I saw the moon and realized it was night. Awesome.

Great music, loved the dialogue system (even if I didn't quite get it when I had to reunite the green and yellow block) and very well done indeed.

Jacic says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 10:07pm

Amazing art style and music! The conversations were hard to figure out, but it was fun.

Madball says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Great idea! I liked how we can actually talk to cubes. The black/white graphics are fantastic! Even given the simplicity, I can perfectly see everything. And I like the day/night change. Also, cubes are a bit low.

lotusgame says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 6:21pm

Excellent entry ! I am impressed :)

May 18, 2013 @ 6:26am

Really great, my favourite so far!

May 18, 2013 @ 6:42am

Really great, my favourite so far! Got stuck after I got the bread though...

wallmasterr says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 8:52am

Realy like the minimal style but i couldn't solve the puzzles, might try again later

Xanjos says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Took a while to learn the cube "language" but it was eventually easy to understand but overall, this was a very nice game plus I really loved the visual style you went for. Also, dunno if it's intentional or not but I think the puzzles involving the orange cube might be slightly bugged since you can get the loaf of bread much earlier without having to solve the other puzzles to get the wheat and essentially fix the boat much earlier as well.

omaha says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 6:33pm

This was pretty cool. Couldn't figure out the cube communication bits, but it was beautiful.

May 18, 2013 @ 10:54pm

Awesome game!

Dotanukii says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:42am

This is my favorite entry yet. It's absolutely beautiful and it actually made me empathize with colored cubes, which is amazing. Wonderful job. I wasn't sure what to do after I got the bread though.

kddekadenz says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 1:00pm

Very cool! I recently wanted to make a game using images instead of common language, too. Good job on this! The atmosphere was good. Cons: The black-white effect sometimes was confusing and I didn't get what to do after having the bread.

May 25, 2013 @ 6:50am

Make a full game from this!

Jun 6, 2013 @ 7:40am

Can we get a download of this game?

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]