April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Brushman by Digital Apathy

by notepid - Jam Entry

This is our contribution to the LD26 Jam.

You play as a paintbrush trapped inside a canvas where you have to solve puzzles and skilltests in order to paint a painting. At the end of each level the path you took to solve the puzzles results in a different painting. The idea was to have multiple ways to solve each level, and that there were many different resulting paintings depending on how the player solved map.

Since we are all family people with real life commitments we had to settle with a demo that shows the concept, but we hope that this communicates the idea we had when we started creating this game. We only finished 3 levels to show the concept, and tried to work more on polish on those levels than making a lot of levels. We had plans for ice-blocks and teleport-blocks, but those did not make it into the game at this time.

We believe it is a somewhat original take on the theme, and that we have managed to create something that is interesting. If you do not believe that we hit the theme, then do a google image search for "minimalism" and you will see what we tried to do :)

Later I will post a post-mortem (hopefully with a time-lapse).

Hope you enjoy this little game!



HIT "R" TO RESTART A LEVEL!!! :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness58%
#43Innovation(Jam)3.83
#49Fun(Jam)3.62
#63Theme(Jam)3.94
#102Overall(Jam)3.61
#132Humor(Jam)2.81
#224Audio(Jam)3.06
#245Graphics(Jam)3.31
#253Mood(Jam)3.03

Comments

nhmllr says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:38am

I love the transitions between the levels! Very neat concept too, painting a Mondrian painting. Nice music, and cool idea for puzzler. This is a very well executed game.

Tahooey says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:40am

Really nice little game :)

fysx says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:47am

This is awesome! Very bright idea! You should further explore this idea!

manabreak says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:48am

Nicely follows the theme and the idea is quite unique. :)

dark_hunter says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:50am

Really good idea an realization. It would be great if I can restart a level.

lotusgame says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:50am

Need a restart button when you are stuck. Controls are not enough accurate. But very nice concept !

LizEngland says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:53am

Very pretty, and plenty fun. The whole aesthetic matches the gameplay really well.

noa says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:21am

Very interresting mechanics, great job :D

Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:23am

Very smart and nice mechanics. There's really a lot of great stuff to do with this idea. Nice job !

notepid says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:27am

Thanks for the comments guys! You CAN restart the game by hitting the "R" key. It says so on the very first hint on level 1, but I guess it is not obvious :)

HelkeGames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:46am

Cool minimal game , great job ;)

caporaltito says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:47am

Nice ! Hard to understand at first, then it becomes a nice puzzle game !

pereubu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:49am

this is quiete a simple game, but the transition is a great idea, nice job :D

mollymus says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:59am

Wow, I really liked this one! Good and simple idea for a game!

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:44pm

Not a bad little game man! :)

Brassawiking says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:18pm

Great game design!

robcozzens says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:19pm

Excellent!
The controls of the brush could have been a little bit tighter, but not much.

enzo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:59pm

The painting transformations were the coolest things ever. You thought you were playing a puzzle platformer? Surprise, you were actually painting!

CyberYeti says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:23am

Really great game, extremely innovative and puzzling, great job!

Yezu says ...
May 12, 2013 @ 4:01pm

Great idea, I'd improve level design though :)

kidevil says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 1:11am

Very cool idea! Nice work!

mrexcessive says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:24pm

Interesting mechanic... not sure using mouse and keyboard is easy - well maybe not for me. Always like games where world changes consequentially.

swizzcheez says ...
May 17, 2013 @ 7:34pm

Excellent demo game! One of the best.

Zim the Fox says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 3:21am

I love it. It is charming :3

You should change W and up arrow key to jump. Other than that, it is a charming, fun little game that I wish were longer. ^^

Congrats on making a game for the LD!

Jod says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 11:45am

Lovely! Tight level design, good music and a cool concept. One of the better entries I've seen.

Of course it wouldn't be a comment with some points of improvement :). Sometimes my red squares would not get their black borders. I could still jump on them just fine.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]