April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Fortuitous

by Follett - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Fortuitous is a game about escaping a collapsing world of blocks. Run and jump your way through randomly generated courses and get a highscore which you can submit to the leaderboard.

Made in unity using gimp and dreamlo leaderboards.

LOOK DOWN WHEN YOU START AND LAND ON A PLATFORM! WASD ALSO MOVES AND HOLD SPACE FOR LONGER JUMPS!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness100%
#422Audio2.93
#547Graphics3.04
#679Innovation2.97
#713Mood2.73
#864Fun2.65
#888Overall2.86
#917Theme3.15
#957Humor1.68

Comments

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:57am

Nice color palette!

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:58am

Camera (on web version anyway) was a bit tight to centre of gravity, making it tough to get perspective on where you are

omaha says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:17am

The graphics are pretty great. I had a hard time not dying. I need to try again with a proper mouse, laptop trackpad isn't cutting it.

Misael.K says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:30am

Wow, what a hard and unforgiving game! I had a good mixture of fun and frustration playing this one. The player movements have a lot of inertia, making me feel out of control. Still, nice job!

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:16pm

Very mirrors edge time-trial.
Good idea for where to go, although the shooting mechanic was a bit of an odd fit.

Something about the actual movement though made things really difficult. Also, vast majority of the distance for my scores was falling.

Spierek says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:16pm

It's quite fun, but it suffers from a bug that makes all of the platforms spin randomly. Probably has to due with the fact that you didn't lock rotations and are using the RigidBody/Mesh Collider combination for the platforms :)

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:29pm

Some of the platforms are meant to spin randomly. Thats not a bug.

shaircast says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:37pm

It looks super-fun, but needs more polishing. I started and did nothing but fell into empty space and died, 3 times. :(

Follett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:38pm

Hey shaircast there should be 3 arrows pointing down. You need to look down and land on a platform yourself.

tonic says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:40pm

I feel I'd need a 3rd hand to play, since space & arrow keys need two, and 3rd hand to move mouse and shoot? Or did I miss something obvious?-)

Anyway, I feel the idea and basic execution pretty nice. But it is also very hard, I usually just drop through the cracks almost immediately.

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:41pm

Really like the gfx and music. You do have to be extremely fortuitous to last more than a few seconds ;)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:42pm

took me AGES to get to the point where I even felt I could play, super slow accelerating movement and slow jumping meant it was hard to get a feel for the controls quickly, I didn't even realise I could hold jump to jump higher until after I'd died a bunch of times, and even then it felt weird since if you jump up against a block you don't jump as high (and of course walls are precisely where I'm most likely to be trying to jump). and before I'd even wrestled with the controls I spawned in thin air a few times with no platforms below me.
a lot of the issues could be dealt with if the first chunk of blocks didn't start falling until after a player has gotten past them, at least then you know the player has a grasp of the controls before punishing them.

I think with some tweaks it could totally be something I'd love, but that start was so unpleasant it's turned me off it for the time being...

JimmyLord says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Nice visuals, died a few times before figuring out what was going on, but once I caught on, it worked, but I still suck :) Could use an invert mouse option.

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Nice! Scored 602 :) I really dig the background music, fits the visuals perfectly.

hughsk says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:36pm

The overall design looks interesting but unfortunately the game's pretty unforgiving - had a lot of trouble getting beyond the first group of blocks. Would be great to try a version where the blocks don't fall out from under you so fast, or at least one at a time so you know they're coming :)

quill18 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:53pm

I very nearly made a game like this myself, and I'm happy that I didn't -- this is MUCH better than what I would have done.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:08pm

Nice concept, but very hard to control! The levels were procedural? I think maybe some of the level layouts were impossible to solve (i.e.: starting in a place were you couldn't jump to other cubes)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:35pm

..move with arrow-keys and use space to jump? That is insane.

Like the sound and graphics, but the actual game seems ..difficult. I keep automatically falling through the floor and dying.

Nonameghost says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:39pm

Awesome. Was a bit glitchy at first, but once you get the timing it's awesome, sweet graphics too! I actually had a lot of fun with it. Highscores don't work though :<

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:46pm

Hey it's good, where is your source ?

semi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:51pm

Takes a little to get used to and the controls could probably be tightened up a lot, but a great deal of fun and the online highscore is a nice touch!

artifex says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:57pm

Man, this kind of gameplay was exactly my first idea. For sure that your implementation is waaaay better. I can't be objective. Great game :)

mortus says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:59pm

It was very hard and uncomfortable at first, but when you get the hang of controls it turns out to be a fun game!

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:16pm

The visuals are nice. I found the game really hard however, as I was trying to get my bearings everything would collapse.
Still, nice concept.

kazukishida says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:41am

Graphics are good. Controls feel a bit clunky at first, though if you get the hang of it, the air time is pretty darn cool. Gameplay is cool, but it can be hit or miss --- three of us played the game, and it took awhile to get used to the controls. One of us kinda gave up early on because of the jumping mechanic. Music is just right.
Overall, a good game. :D

Logun says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:34am

Very hard. I didn't achieve few meters, sometimes fall directly :( I want to ruuun !

cahman says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:21pm

Good concept! Good implementation! a good game! I agree with other some of the other comments though: the procedural generation could be unforgiving and the controls felt slightly unresponsive. Polish it up, maybe add in a rumble sound when the platforms are about to fall, and you'll be in business!

ryuurei says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:02am

I found camera control to be very frustrating, had no idea what I might want to shoot at, and was disappointed with the fact that all it seemed to take to lose was getting caught on one edge. It was far too difficult to navigate due to the poor camera control, and I didn't have a very good feel for the motion of the player.

gregdevice says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 7:06am

Woah, I died like every 3 seconds.

Rafael Sales says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Very interesting game. Extremely hard, but very intelligent one. Congratz!!!

Prelucid says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:35pm

It's a cool effect, but I wish the game didn't start paused. Took me awhile to figure out why it wasn't working. Also high score thing gets in the way when you keep dying/falling and want to restart.

_Rilem says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:14pm

Great idea, but a bit hard. I liked that you can jump very far. It would be easier if you could somehow see when the blocks you are standing on are going to fall.

MinionStudios says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 6:55pm

Hectic and satisfying! This is really hard and really fun!

Catman says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 7:36am

Genius intro :D

May 15, 2013 @ 1:16pm

Needs more work but still the concept behind it is interesting enough.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]