April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Chromatater

by Jim Haslett - 48 Hour Compo Entry

The instructions are on the pause/start screen. Pretty simple controls. The goal is to find the potatoes on each level. There are a couple tutorial levels, then a harder level. I would like to add more levels, but I'm out of time and energy to do it right now.

This is my first submission with music and sound effects. The music is an original "song" I composed just for this game. :)

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness77%
#261Innovation3.50
#457Overall3.26
#526Fun3.02
#639Mood2.79
#670Humor2.07
#827Audio2.23
#1022Theme3.00
#1150Graphics2.21

Comments

argo15 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:41am

This game has lots of potential, I like it.

ChuiGum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

LOVE A LOT!!! Like argo15 said, has tons of potential. This may be one of my favorite entries so far! :D

protensity says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:48am

The soundtrack is perhaps a little repetitive, but it has the basic elements of what could be a really neat and surprising puzzle platforming game.

jpcote says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:53am

Control were easy to understand, but I would have like a restart level button. Good work !

nintendoeats says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:53am

It feels a bit wonky to manage the 3 talismans, but these mechanics are great! I would love to see some more levels and expansions on the concept. Just try to avoid anything that involves doing things quickly, thanks to aforementioned wonkiness.

I also enjoyed the song.

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54am

Nice little platformer. The powerup abilities were well implemented in what I saw.

Mystify says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:54am

Developed further, it has some real potential. As-is, it is fairly lacking

Zhrack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:56am

Very good game! Want more!

minibutmany says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:31am

The mechanics of the red jump block where a little weird. Is it supposed to only shoot you left? Otherwise, I though level design was very clever and I the stick figure's animations where pretty cute.

tankete says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:57am

I like the nature of the three different colored blocks. The music got a bit repetitive, but I enjoyed the game overall. The transition upon getting the potato seemed a bit too quick/disorienting. Would love to see more levels. Well done!

Jim Haslett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:58am

Thanks for the positive feedback everyone, I really appreciate it. This is my third entry, and I'm very pleased with the way this one turned out.

The red blocks, when hit from the top or bottom, throw you the opposite direction that you are moving. If hit from the side it bounces you back and up.

They were intentionally "strange" as it is something you are supposed to figure out through experimentation.

I definitely agree that the talisman controls are a bit complicated. I have a few levels I created, but I didn't get to polish them before submitting.

reverso13 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:00am

Very nice game! I really like the idea. The only negative thing I see is the camera, many times it doesnt let you see what yo have in front.

smealum says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:02pm

great gameplay, it's a real shame the game is so short ! also the graphics could use a little tune up, but otherwise good job :D

acro says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:06pm

I like the experimental nature of it. Would be good to see more levels but that's the curse of LD :) Good effort.

ericlass says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:10pm

Nice game. I liked it a lot.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:26pm

This game looks good, but it sadly freezes up before I can play. Look really interesting, though!

lathomas64 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:52pm

web version asked me permission for java to run and I told it to go ahead but it never loaded. :(

hardycore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 1:26am

As a concept, this works well. If you can come up with further level ideas and ways to simplify the talisman controls, it could be a lot of fun with some polish.

gameXcore says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:11pm

Definitely has potential.

Wiering says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:53am

That music is too minimal!

mtrc says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 1:25am

Yes! This has so much potential. That last level was GREAT. Please extend this with more levels and complete it. Wonderful.

May 4, 2013 @ 1:34am

Very intriguing, and I loved the crazy bounce into the blue talisman!

Ryusui says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:23am

I'd love to see this expanded to a full game. I had no trouble with the talisman controls - my issue was with the final "bounce back and forth to reach the top" puzzle. Fortunately, I discovered a cheat for it: stand in the middle of the rightmost column of red blocks, then press 1 twice. The collision detection will freak out and you'll teleport to the top. :3

SuperDisk says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 2:37am

This one's really cool. I was ready for more, but it ended on me :(

Nice work, though the guitar was kinda repetitive.

Dietrich Epp says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:29am

Kinda short, and I got ejected out of the level on the last level so I had to start over again. The physics can be a bit tricky to work with, and I hit 1 on the last level and landed on the blue tile with no velocity, so I couldn't get off of it because I didn't have the third talisman yet. Great concept, though.

cakemonitor says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 4:47pm

this is a nice idea and a fun game - I'd like it to be a bit longer. Also, I think glitched my way to success on the final level ;)

stefan says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:38pm

I really enjoyed this game, this is great. Please add some more levels, I would be happy to play them :) The background music is th eonly think I didn't like, but the idea is great.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]