April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Just Shapes

by Zanzlanz - Jam Entry

Hey!

This weekend was a bit crazy. I went the the Newgrounds Pico Day Party, so I only had a few minutes of down time to actually work on the Ludum Dare game. I worked on the majority of it at the party!
I was tired enough from the drive that Minimalism came easily to me. I created the core of this game in practically a few minutes, but polished it off on Monday. I couldn't actually submit to the compo, for I wanted to make sure it was pretty solid for release. The Jam is okay though, since I didn't really want to share my sloppy source code anyway.

I made the music and some sfx in FL Studio, graphics in GIMP, coded in Flash AS3, and the rest of the sfx in BFXR.net. The only code I had to steal from an old project was the text renderer which I originally made for Mine Blocks 2.

I plan on making this full arcade game in the future. Of course, this isn't what it will end up looking like; think of this as an early prototype of my future plan. I'm thinking about selling it for a small amount on iOS, which will be awesome.

Hope you enjoy this relaxed, simple arcade game! Thanks and good luck in Ludum Dare!

- Zanzlanz

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#30Fun(Jam)3.76
#52Audio(Jam)3.80
#88Innovation(Jam)3.56
#112Overall(Jam)3.58
#148Theme(Jam)3.64
#211Graphics(Jam)3.44
#231Mood(Jam)3.08
#248Humor(Jam)2.25
#1800Coolness24%

Comments

Hyaku says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:05am

Good proof of concept.
Definitely would be great for touch devices.

Brunodev says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:09am

Congratulations Zanzlanz, awesome as always! The game fits well on the theme, its really addicting and fun! Music is good and does not get tiring. Always going to be a mystery to me on how you made those awesome graphics on AS3! Great work!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:41am

Intense! The music is the thing that really does it, so 5/5 for that. In later levels you could have more polygons that are potentially difficult to tell apart since, despite the intense presentation, one could solve this game by just grabbing a shape and waiting.

They wouldn't get the high score though!

Zanzlanz says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:30am

Thank you Hyaku, I hope the finished product turns out well :)

Thanks for the comment Brunodev! I always appreciate your feedback <3. Remember to check out bitmapData if you want to make pixel-y games :D

Hi arrogant.gamer! I didn't expect the music to be liked so much, actually - I spent literally 15 minutes on it haha. Well I'm super glad it worked out. Yes, the game was more designed around getting the highest score rather than just beating the level (I would connect it to Game Center for iOS). I might perhaps have a menu for selecting different game modes to change that kind of game play too.

RARoadkill says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:50pm

fun concept. I would like to see a version of this on a touch screen. think it would play well on one. Good job

Tanius says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:52pm

really a nice concept! maybe to easy, maybe you can add some obstacle when dragging figures, or a small time to drag. I like the music too.

Zanzlanz says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:49pm

Thanks for your comments ;)
RARoadkill - I would love to try it out on my iPod in the near future.
Tanius - I actually never intended for it to be difficult. It was more of a speed thing, I guess. I did think about different game modes, where difficulty does play a factor in some modes.

cwilloughby says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 8:25am

Cool. Pulled in by the 10s video. Liked the style and art.

Zanzlanz says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 9:25pm

Thanks! I'm glad you saw the video. I loved all of the games I saw on it.

GhostID says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:27pm

You, my friend, are one HECK of a programmer. ;) I really like the concept, I haven't really seen games like this before. I also like how you used the art definition of minimalism instead of the easier definition of minimal something. :) Once again that's my opinion, others probably thought that minimalism was easier than minimal something.

Zanzlanz says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 11:34pm

Thanks for your compliment GhostID! I was actually quite surprised that I actually came up with a unique idea for the theme. That was most likely due to me being half asleep in a hotel room before a party, haha. When I thought of minimalism, I thought simple game rules, and simple concepts. I started with just blocks going in an elliptical path, because that was easiest to code. Then as time went on I decided circles would look better. I downloaded GIMP and made them into circles which turned out great. Lastly, I added a couple more shapes to make the game more challenging and pleasing to the eyes. At first the text were hand-drawn graphics, but once I got back home I spent a few minutes implementing the text rendering code I made in an earlier project. All in all I'm really happy how the graphics and game rules both match the theme at the extent I was hoping for.

joe40001 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:29am

Graphics/mood/audio are good, though I don't know that the loony toons slips noises are the best for scoring. Ok game otherwise, not my style seemed more based on making something that should be easy more frustrating, but then again games like super hexagon do that and are very successful. Clearly you have talent, just not entirely my cup of tea.

Sebastian says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 7:41pm

Really enjoyed playing this. I thought the music was very well done. Highscores are really needed for this sort of game! My best score is 247586 after two tries. Would have loved to know how that compares..

Zanzlanz says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 10:23am

Thanks for the comment joe40001. The sound effects were very rushed actually, and I see what you mean about the match noise being weird, hahaha! I didn't exactly want this to be very frustrating as a first play, actually. I was more focused on the score mechanic, where your goal is to beat your high score (and eventually, others). Plus I am not sure how it will fend on iOS yet.

Hey Sebastian, thanks for playing. High score boards are planned for iOS, and I have not yet added the Newgrounds/Mochimedia api yet. I would also love to see how the competition stacks up! From what I've seen so far, your score is actually really good! Still need a little work to beat my high score though: 271231. ;)

zkenshin says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 1:35am

Would make a good mobile game. :)

Zanzlanz says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 7:50pm

Yes, zkenshin, it's going to be for iOS :) (I do not have a phone.)

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 11:02am

Good game. Song and graphics are very awesome.
It's sometimes very difficult to grab the shapes at the end.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

Zanzlanz says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 5:53pm

Thanks very much SEPHY - TurboDindon!
I agree with the difficulty of grabbing pieces. Perhaps grabbing pieces should be made easier than placing them, just to be more fair with the gameplay. We'll see what happens when I make it for iOS.

OnlySlightly says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:52am

Loved the style and the music

Zanzlanz says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Thanks OnlySlightly!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]