April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Simply Escape

by wccrawford - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Windows is the better experience due to the issues with grabbing the mouse cursor in a web player.

Mouse control is the only real option. Gamepad now works in the Windows version, but still doesn't fully work in the web player.

Made with Unity, NGUI, Blender, Inkscape, http://www.bfxr.net/, Substance Designer, ASE, and BMFont. Wow, I used a lot of tools in such a short time!

The goal is simply to escape each room. I've implemented 3 gradually more difficult rooms, though none are actually very difficult at all. You might say they are minimally difficult. ;)

I had more planned, but I'm pretty exhausted at this point, and don't know if I'll get them done before the deadline.

I had also hoped to add in Oculus Rift support, but I'd rather have more levels at this point, and I'm unsure of some things about the GUI and the Rift, so I'm not chancing it.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#714Humor2.00
#883Graphics2.62
#899Audio2.10
#901Theme3.17
#941Mood2.49
#1072Fun2.37
#1074Overall2.65
#1084Innovation2.30

Comments

wccrawford says ...
Apr 28, 2013 @ 5:08pm

Windows is the better experience due to the issues with grabbing the mouse cursor in a web player.

Mouse control is the only real option. Gamepad will move you around, but only the left mouse button will activate things.

7Soul says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:20am

The idea of reusing the same room is pretty nice. I used to love these 'escape the room' games
The movement and mouse all felt too fast, not sure if it's my pc (because I notice most games when I play for the first time have very fast mouse movement)

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:28am

I like this kind of game

Nanolotl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:30am

Nice simply puzzles. I liked how to location of the combination changes each time.
In the last level you can grab the key through the wall without opening the safe...

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:52am

Clever enough. The click targets were oddly above the items.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:59am

I've played a very similar game before, but I love the idea. At some points (in the web player) I could grab the key through obstructions.

Cybearg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:26am

It was alright. Simple, didn't do much, not much to it, no real challenge to speak of and not much that I would consider "fun," but it's certainly minimalist.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:13am

Very nice, I would love to see a longer game made of this (:

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54am

I like the idea!

wccrawford says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:28am

If (probably when) I make another of these, I'll definitely do the crosshair targeting differently. This way didn't work well at all, but it was all I could come up with in time.

I had actually seen the 'through the wall' bug for the key, but forgot to fix it. Oops! It's a simple fix, too.

I know it was a bit lacking in 'fun' because of the minimalist aspects. I had hoped to add a couple more rooms, with more and harder to find stuff, but time just didn't allow for it.

Thanks for the feedback so far everyone! :)

Morgawr says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:10pm

Game was overall interesting, especially for a 48 hours game. I don't know if it's because I played it in Wine on Linux but I had a hell of a hard time targeting buttons on the panel, like the game was pushing the crosshair away whenever I went over it.

wccrawford says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:16am

That's weird behavior indeed. My targeting solution was horrible, though, so I'm just not surprised by any problems people have with it. I'm definitely completely redoing that part in the future.

JFlegle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:36am

Mouse is too twitch to target objects.

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:55pm

The camera is a bit twitchy to aim with. Nice base for a game which could be longer. The last room didn't even need the color sequence I think? I think I just got the key at first click without the button seq.

nemec says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Good, but create more levels for Web version.

MrHalfman says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:56pm

Despite that it's too short, I liked this game. Good idea.

drstik says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:58pm

Not as easy as it seems at first (but still pretty easy). Reusing the room was a clever twist. The only problem I found was that I may or may not have picked up the final key *through* the wall :)

thatwhichis says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:59pm

I enjoy these types of games, and feel like I still earned that last key even if I did grab it through the wall by having found the puzzle solution.

Complete, everything you need, not a whole lot you don't. Minimalist!

daniel2357 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:00pm

it's a little hard to control the mouse-(but you get used to it ). Enjoy it!

Haversack says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:04pm

Love the idea. Would have liked a pause menu to help with browser funkiness.

anatolat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:13pm

Game is good, but too short! Also at the beginning I was thinking that key to the safe was somehow encrypted in the picture.

sharbelfs says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14pm

Great game, just more levels and an adjustement in the mouse and it will be great.

wccrawford says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:44pm

Yeah, I agree the mouse was poorly done. I'll definitely look into doing that better in the future.

@anatolat I never considered that! I wonder what I could have done to prevent that idea... I was trying to make it real simple, so red-herrings weren't really something I tried for.

I'm glad everyone seems to have enjoyed it!

s0ulcrusher says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:36pm

Nice puzzle! Setting Screen.lockCursor to true will fix the mouse bug in the webplayer, also it won't work in the Start() method of an object that's created when the app initializes, so you gotta do this in your Update():

if(Screen.lockCursor == false)
if(Input.GetMouseButtonDown(0))
Screen.lockCursor = true;

bbrown2 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:35pm

Solid for a 48 hour effort, though obviously in a full version there would be more puzzles and objects to interact with. Good job!

Tifu says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 11:09am

I didn't even have to move until the third room, minimally difficult indeed :D
Shame you didn't have more time, this would have been pretty cool if it had been expanded with a few more "rooms"

Benjamin says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 5:42am

I was a nice idea to let the player restart 3x time in the same rooms but it was a bit disturbing when I opened this chest in 2nd level and found nothing in it. I was thinking it was a bug.

siondream says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:21am

Nice concept but the camera movement was way too fast.

wccrawford says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 11:21am

Yeah, I was of 2 minds about whether to disable the safe in the first 2 rooms. I actually had started to do so, and then decided I wanted them enabled. (Both for my ease, and for consistency.) Congrats on finding the combo there. ;)

Richard Matey says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 3:47pm

Cool idea, would have liked to seen some signs of progression to know the puzzle has changed in the room. Maybe the room gets dirtier and darker ?

ratboy2713 says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 6:57pm

I like "Escape the room games" and this one is very nice for the minimulist nature. The puzzle with the colored buttons is broken as I was able to pick up the key without doing the puzzle. Also, the detection on the button is a little off, I have to aim high for it. Nice little progression of levels, I know it is silly but would have liked to have a timer so I could see how fast I did it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]