April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Mag Ball

by MTO - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well I didn't get enough time to quite finish the game part of it, but I did accomplish my goal of creating something cool with WebGL.

Have this very bright ball tossing simulator!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness67%
#477Graphics3.13
#889Audio2.11
#945Mood2.48
#1014Innovation2.44
#1062Humor1.21
#1181Theme2.73
#1303Fun1.76
#1303Overall2.16

Comments

CMaster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:04pm

The look is oddly surreal, and almost "2.5d" - it feels like the ball rotates to look at you.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:08pm

It's nice too bad it isn't finished

noa says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:15pm

good physics, it's not too bad

Hyaku says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:53pm

Not a game, but a cool tech demo.

gmaker says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:54pm

Not a game (

dualtagh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Very interesing!

zerebruin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:59pm

Feels nice in a tiny, tiny browser window ;)
I bet if performance was better this could really become a fun game.

glbs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:08pm

Sorry, my Computer sucks I can't make it work correctly. Too bad I was interested..

MTO says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:18pm

Yeah I definitely should have added some GFX options to help people run it. A small chrome window is the best option since other browsers are still behind when it comes to webgl.

Nolojen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:58pm

neat demo, keep workin on it :)

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:31pm

For a tech demo it's actually pretty fun - you just need some bad guys in there!

BradleySmith says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:33pm

Wacky concept, pretty interesting.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:34pm

Look interesting but I'm afraid it was unplayable on my computer, even in a very small Chrome window. I could see the ball was there though.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:07pm

Fun little demo, would like to see a 3D Bomberman-style game made out of this.

CogComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:09pm

More of a mood piece than a game, but with a really nice feel to it. This could really be the start of something cool

Toki Anholmes says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:10pm

yep, cool tech

Jeremias says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:51pm

So your approach was minimalistic gameplay? Nicely done!

:D

Love the graphics.

tonic says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:06pm

Quite interesting, and not bad looking at all.

MinionStudios says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:52pm

Very hard to see and control, but I love where you are going with this one. That shader for the stars is crazy!

dek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:14pm

I love that sky for some reason. Nice little entry.

SmallDeadGuy says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:01pm

Runs REALLY badly on my native 1920x1080 resolution even though I have a beastly gaming laptop which runs most things at max settings perfectly, had to make a pretty damn small window. Didn't seem like a game at all, and the kinda thing you might knock up in an hour to test a physics engine.

Norritt42 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 6:15pm

Would have been interesting to play a game around this.

TheBenjaneer says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:13pm

Pretty Cool Demo. Too bad you didn't get to make a game out of it.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]