April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Better Triangle

by Jiddo - Jam Entry

If one of the links doesn't load, please try another!

You are a small and minimalistic space ship armed with nothing but a low yield laser gun. In order to survive you must kill the evil potato and his battleship of death.

Shoot off parts from the enemy ship using your gun and fly to them to pick equip them on your own ship. Use the added shielding and firepower to lay waste to your enemy.

Use WASD to control your ship and the mouse pointer to aim. The left mouse pointer fires all available weapons towards your mouse cursor.

Team:
* Simeon Atanasov - art and sound
* Cem Eliyurekli - code
* Einar Holst - code
* John David Olovsson - code
* Mark Wiseman - testing and tweaking

Tech:
* Developed using Java and Slick2D.

Update history:
1.0. Initial upload

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness71%
#20Graphics(Jam)4.48
#42Overall(Jam)3.83
#61Fun(Jam)3.58
#67Innovation(Jam)3.67
#90Humor(Jam)3.08
#159Mood(Jam)3.33
#269Audio(Jam)2.92
#289Theme(Jam)3.21

Comments

Tyro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:32pm

Really creative idea! I quite enjoyed this one. :)

deathray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45pm

I have become the thing that I hate! :) It is very satisfying to steal all the parts. The art style is wonderful and the gameplay is simple but fun.
I would've liked to have some kind of maneto-gravity power that I can activate to pull parts in... just for something to do other than zap, zap, zap.

kingsman142 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:51pm

Difficult, but in a good way. It was very enjoyable.

fishbrain says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Nice graphics!

Benjamin says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Wahaha I had too grab 2-3 before realizing how it will end :) A very epic and kickass boss battle. You guys made some great work. I'm not sure to understand how 4 people can work on code together... it is discussion + one guys typing code ? Or one for the bullet system one other for the sperical parts etc ? Anyway congratulaton fot this very nice entry and innovative boss mechanic.

Jiddo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:51pm

Thanks for the comments! We're glad you enjoyed it!

We were actually just three main coders. The last one is sort of an "apprentice" coder who just helped with some tweaking and bugfixing.

Between the three of us we basically just split up the different big tasks. One implemented the boss composition of small parts, one the weapon systems, one the player controls, one the camera handling, one the scrap part stuff etc. We already had sort of a framework ready that we've developed over the past few game jams. :)

derdragon says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:26pm

I'd say it'd probably be a little more challenging if your enemy moved around but... after all... it IS a potato.

Whiteclaws says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:31pm

Love the art and the idea was genius , well done :P

alwaysinbeta says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:37pm

Fun game. Lovely art.

Dissing says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:24am

The art is really great!

WhatTheTeam says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:06am

I love the graphics! Cool idea!

The Consul says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:57pm

Fantastic graphics! I really love this style. It's a great break from all the retro pixel stuff.

The goal of stealing parts of the enemy ship for your own could have been a bit more clear within the game.

Blizzil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:52pm

Cool idea and amazing visuals. It is a simply game, but fun to play! And nice use of the potato :)

Zener says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:09pm

Pretty cool! And very fun

May 1, 2013 @ 3:43pm

Lovely graphical style to the game. Game had very minimal controls and game play which was difficult enough to be easy but no overwhelming.
Had lots of fun coming up with strategies to not die so easily. Great to see something with made with Java play so smoothly!
Only issues seemed to be that parts were too hard to keep on your ship, but that may be because I only spent 10 minuted trying to beat the game, and it seemed that you only had the one 'zap' attack?

Other than that, it was a very solid fun game. :)

Jiddo says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 3:48pm

Again, thanks for all the comments! :)

The different parts vary in toughness. The solid steel ones will be able to take much more of a beating than the ones with windows and stuff and the restaurant modules.

You start with only the zap attack, but once you have taken some of the enemy's weapon modules they will also fire whenever they are facing in the same direction as your mouse pointer/zap attack.

dotteri says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 4:15pm

I like the idea to steal parts of your enemy. It make you feel overpowered! =D. Nice and funny game.

Ariake81 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:01pm

Great game. favourite game yet! Excellent graphics and presentation. Great how the screen pans out and the concept is pretty unique. Most complete and least buggy game i've played in the jam

Jiggawatt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 10:09pm

A pretty damn solid game, to be honest. The "stealing enemy parts" thing is clever, but there's something too heavy about the ship's movement. Sleek graphical style.

GranaDa says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:12pm

This game is GREAT! Nicely done!

graytest says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:05pm

The game looks amazing, love the style! The idea is also good, but unfortunately it isn't very fun... too monotone.

Angerus says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:53am

Fun idea("shoot'em up" always is) and great visuals! Congrats!

Jorjon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:55pm

org.lwjgl.LWJGLException: Pixel format not accelerated
at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsPeerInfo.nChoosePixelFormat(Native Method)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsPeerInfo.choosePixelFormat(WindowsPeerInfo.java:52)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.WindowsDisplay.createWindow(WindowsDisplay.java:229)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.createWindow(Display.java:303)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:845)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:754)
at org.lwjgl.opengl.Display.create(Display.java:736)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$ContainerPanel.createDisplay(AppletGameContainer.java:194)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$ContainerPanel.start(AppletGameContainer.java:213)
at org.newdawn.slick.AppletGameContainer$1.run(AppletGameContainer.java:92)

jwolf says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 3:24am

Poor potato didn't stand a chance...

Neat concept! I really liked the graphical style used for the parts.

mildmojo says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:46am

Really clever and very complete! I love that to win, you have to become your enemy. It took a while to reliably collect parts without surrendering them back to the boss, but I got through it eventually. Nice work!

Sylvain.p says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 7:51pm

The graphics are great and nice atmosphere, but I don't Understand the link with the subject.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]