April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Octopia

by H-Bomb - Jam Entry

In a distant future, extraterrestrial octopi have taken over the Earth, creating an invincible army of cloned tyrannosaurus.
You are humanity's last hope. You gotta be careful, for those twisted octopi from outer space will send you back in time repeatedly, hoping to make you fail with each travel making you weaker.

The first thing we agreed on as a team when the theme "Minimalist" showed up was not taking the path of minimalist graphics. A game cannot exist without its gameplay, so if you are making a game based on a theme, the gameplay has to be connected to it. But even then, what fun is there if the theme is present right out of the bat?

Octopia is a little platformer that loops every time you complete it. Each loop removes an element the player had before (a weapon, multiple lives, the ability to jump...). Thus, it begins with a simple gameplay that slowly becomes a minimalist gameplay all the while staying a playable, more challenging, more exciting game !

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness55%
#23Graphics(Jam)4.42
#141Humor(Jam)2.75
#301Mood(Jam)2.83
#402Overall(Jam)2.80
#444Fun(Jam)2.36
#457Innovation(Jam)2.32
#459Audio(Jam)1.38
#510Theme(Jam)2.38

Comments

gilmore606 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:01pm

Your web link doesn't work...

omaromeir says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:35pm

Cool idea, I loved the idea of losing abilities, I played another game with a similar idea, different implementation though. Awesome graphics ;D.

zairon says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:35pm

The graphic style is really great, but I don't think this fits the theme at all unless I am missing something. It's just like a game you guys made for the jam and put it up for LD26?

Robert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36pm

web link is down, ld26.pauljoannon.com and pauljoannon.com does not resolve to any IP

JohnnySix says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:36pm

I have a reasonably new PC, but I had difficulty running the game- it loaded for me but chugged a bit in Chrome - which is a shame because the style and the graphics are wonderful.

Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:39pm

Web link worked perfect for me (win7-chrome). Great style on the graphics. Very earthwormJimesq

dray says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:40pm

first the artstyle is awesome, does your artist have a website or something? for the game it's very difficult to judge because he have a very low framerate and the character can't stay on moving plateform because they move too fast.

H-Bomb says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:48pm

Thank's for the feedbacks.
I just added a second link (seems like my dns have some issues).
If you're experiencing some lag try the link in the bottom of the page, might be better.

folmerkelly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:22pm

Geez that art is amazing! Which is a double edged sword as it makes me feel like the gameplay isn't doing the visuals justice.

Enjoyable though and I'm glad to have played it.

lytedev says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:54pm

Personally, I wasn't a fan of the art style, but I can tell you have talent and put a lot of effort into it! The ridiculousness of everything made me giggle a couple times also. That's definitely a beaver with a Star Fox glasses HUD on a T-Rex with a laser cannon, which, when fired, causes the T-Rex to flip his completely around, bend over, and blast whatever's in front of him.

I found the gameplay rather boring, however. =(

Game perhaps wasn't running properly on my PC, but it was a little slow and there was no sound.

Blinked says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

I LOVE the art!!! And it still fits the theme by having minimalistic mechanics. The controls are a little sticky and it can get quite annoying, especially later on when you have no weapon. Overall great game though :)

uberneen says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:55pm

I really like the look of it, but I encountered some clipping issues with platforms. Very nice overall.

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:56pm

Interesting concept - loved the visuals. The one downside is the lack of music.

TheMightyComp says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:57pm

Loved the visuals, but the lack of music was kind of a letdown. I could see some funky 8-bit going really well with this.

free_napalm says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:00pm

I did not feel like beating all the loops, because the collisions are somewhat buggy and I often died for unexplainable reasons. Great art though!

protensity says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:02pm

I like seeing HTML5 games with great art styles. The collision detection was a little poor, but it looks like a great start for something bigger.

jerombd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:49pm

Awesome visual art!! but like other people say, the controls are quite bugged.
And some SFX similar to a Contra/Turrican OST should be a great add to this game ;)

ataxkt says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:56pm

Aw man, any game that looks this great needs more polish! I wish it had sound and better gameplay very much. Hope you continue it! 5 star graphics anyway!

tnovelli says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:01pm

No sound? yeah... I didn't have time for that in my game either :( Major kudos for non-minimal gfx!

oh yeah, it does burn cpu in Chrome (30%) but not Firefox (8%). Weird; it's the opposite for almost everything I write. Runs fine in both btw... on a 3.3ghz quad i5 anyway :)

amijlee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:55am

Love the graphics!

robotality says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:10pm

I loved the art :) the game was a little bit unsmooth on my laptop but overall it run okay. Nice idea with taking features away.

May 2, 2013 @ 9:34am

Art is fantastic. Everything else needs more work and polish. Gun blasts are too over done. Jumping is off. Not real fun, yet. But the art style is phenomenal. You need to continue on this and make a killer shooter.

MinionStudios says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 7:21pm

Fun and really hard! LOVE the artwork.

MrShoestore says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 2:01am

I liked it, especially the art. but i dont know if it didnt load or there was none to be had, lack of sound is a big killer for me. I find it to be one of the best ways to give feedback to the player. i think if you threw some sfx down, it would go from "that's cool" to "that's amazing" for me. definitely wanna keep my eye on this one.

JustinMullin says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 1:34am

Love the art!

Gungnir says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 4:05am

Loved the artwork.

TurboDindon says ...
May 11, 2013 @ 10:40am

Very good visual style.
What a pity there is no sound and the game is lagging on my computer.

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

May 12, 2013 @ 8:59am

Cool graphics! :)

TheSheep says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:25pm

Nice drawings, but could use better animations, especially a getting hurt animation for the main character. The boss is too easy. The platforms look like they would kill you when they reach the bottom, but they don't.

kidevil says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 12:55am

Beautiful artwork...had some issues with the gameplay...falling through platforms and not getting carried by the horizontal platforms.

Roupette says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 3:21pm

I want my laser-T-Rex :p

Purplescape says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:56pm

I love the style of the graphics! The platforms seemed to move faster than the player. Interesting take on the theme by losing weapons.

davidpeter says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 12:38am

Collisions drove me crazy, but graphics made me stay.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]