April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Vortex Runner

by YM - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Pilot your ship bravely through the vortex. Don't touch the edges or the potatoids!

Features:
*Retro wireframe rendering!
*Newfangled controller support!
*Potato shaped asteroids!
*Social Networking!
*Invertable Y-Axis!
*Monochromatic colour scheme!
*Twin deadly lasers!
*Playable with one hand only!
*Unconventional aspect ratio!

Controls: (PC)
*WASD to steer
*I to invert the vertical axis
*Space to fire deadly lasers!

Controls: (XBox)
*Left stick to steer
*Every other button fires the deadly lasers (just about)

Tweet your scores!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness72%
#127Graphics3.84
#293Overall3.44
#300Fun3.27
#443Mood3.03
#446Theme3.64
#785Audio2.30
#802Humor1.90
#971Innovation2.53

Comments

Sanguine says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:21am

I really liked the graphics, music would have been cool though

DST says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:45am

Nice :)

Chman says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 10:47am

That 80's vibe ! Nothing new, but really cool game. Graphics are easy to read (can be hard to get right with wireframe game but you nailed it) and I just love how the buzzing sound react to the ship movements ! It just needs some music :)

voxel says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:07am

lots of fun, liked the audio. only complaint was that my constant spamming of space means the game instantly restarts when i die :(

Split82 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:12am

Nice atnosphere.

Skywilly says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 11:45am

Really good graphics ! But... My Twitter says "Potato, Potato" now ! :)

LrdKzrth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:04pm

Very good!

Diventurer says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:26pm

It was fun, but a lot of asteroids appeared later on. Faster speed after a while would be cool to see. I got 3984 score.
First two times I thought the asteroids were collectibles. *_*

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:10pm

cool! mouse controls would be neat.

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:16pm

@Diventurer Width of the vortex, corner sharpness, ship speed and asteroid density all increase over time. My personal highest score is just under 8000 though I know it'll be possible to get much higher.

@Voxel It's not ideal but it always shows your highest score in the top right and if the tweet button is what you're after, dying is easy enough, then you're free to edit the tweet with your highest score.

Masadow says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 5:21pm

Impressive work ! The theme is very well respected. Even if graphics are simple, it stays a beauty :)

bentog says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:02pm

Nice aesthetics, it is a fun arcade :) Also, I managed to get out of the tube and surprisingly there are asteroids outside the level, so I died easily.

Xatulu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Awesome game, i love the graphics and the gameplay, though i hate to have inverted controls forced on me!

littleball says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:29pm

Classic arcade feel, nicely done. Although it gets old quickly

simvig says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:44pm

Really fun game! Simple and effective concept and nice difficulty curve.

YM says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:19pm

@xatulu you can invert the controls by pressing i!

Lamprabbit says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:20am

Very cool game, love the wireframe rendering!!! there almost looks like little ghosts in the distance .. I was hoping they was something.

rogueNoodle says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:21am

I really dig the retro vibe on this. Some music would be great, and maybe a way to spin the ship? Very cool - hypnotizing :)

Apr 30, 2013 @ 2:04pm

I really like the graphics. Nice, fun game :)

Cake&Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:35pm

Great detail work on the game. I loved seeing the flecks of dust on the screen. I liked your wireframes art style too, it really lent to the whole atmosphere of the game. Not especially fond of the sound/sfx. It was kind of jarring on my first crash to hear it so loud and so noisy. Overall great work! :)

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:41pm

Not a bad little game, I like it :)

May 1, 2013 @ 10:33am

Dat aspect ratio. Would have greatly benefitted from a barrel roll feature.

Conve says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 6:00pm

i don't know why but makes me remember StarFox.

Robrock55 says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:23pm

Great game ! The noise is just irritating after a long time playing, but the gameplay and the graphism are fun !

TenTonToon says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:46pm

A strong entry, with nice old-school gameplay, neat wireframe graphics and an arcade-like vibe. The controls are really tight, much more than they feel like at first, and the sense of speed is exhilarating. A really fun game!

I'm just not sure how much does it fit the theme, though. I don't care about the graphics, theme-wise. To me, what really makes or breaks an entry (again, theme-wise) is how much the overall design, encompassing both gameplay and mechanics, shows it's been created with the theme in mind, and not the other way around. And this game is more simple (arcade-like) than minimalistic.

Anyway, a huge accomplishment for the meager 48 hours we had available! Congratulations! :D

Best score: 5813

tikilittle says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 4:48pm

I loved the wire-frame style. The audio buzzing was super annoying. I was also playing on the Xbox controller and I could not shoot. There seemed to be no button to shoot with.

YM says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 4:55pm

I'd love to know how that's happened tikilittle, every button except back/start, the sticks and d-pad shoot for me.

Sebastian says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 4:52am

Pretty fun gameplay. On my mac the default xbox shoot button is set to be the up d-pad button, which is very awkward. I think you got the responsiveness of the controls to a perfect degree though. Good job.

Saturnyn says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 11:43am

Great work ! Graphics are really original and quite nice :)

YM says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 3:55pm

I've heard something about macs having different input names for the xbox controllers, I have no idea why Unity does this. I'll have to look up how to get it working on both in future!

lorancou says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 3:54pm

3082

sP0CkEr2 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:33am

cool - i escaped the vortex -- not sure how -- anyway cool game

TurboDindon says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 9:36am

My best record is 4000!
Very good visual!!

- SEPHY (@sephyka)

May 20, 2013 @ 7:13pm

Fun game, but I guess I would have prefered mouse control, too! :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]