April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Blurr

by Rabbits... - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Hello, this is my fourth Ludum Dare entry. It was made in Haxe/Flash from the ground up. Sound was created in Csound and Graphics in Gimp.

READ THIS:
*This game requires learning by dying, so please recognize that it will be confusing but I know you and you can probably make it through this puzzle.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#196Mood3.38
#249Audio3.22
#871Innovation2.71
#983Graphics2.48
#1169Overall2.50
#1255Theme2.58
#1290Fun1.84
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:50am

Interesting. I wasn't sure why sometimes I wanted to get the red orbs and sometimes the blue. I liked the blurry consequences of choosing wrong. The atmosphere was great.

Mark Hildreth says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:56am

Neat! It did take me awhile (had a few false positives), but eventually made it through.

May 1, 2013 @ 12:14am

Nice soundtrack, gives the game a gloomy feel, the idea of blurring was good (I'm not spoling it, I hope...). Still it felt a bit random when the orbs just apear right in front of you and you cannot evade them ...

metadept says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:35am

I like the idea behind this, but it was a little too confusing for me. I guess that was part of the point, but I felt like there wasn't effective feedback, or my actions didn't have predictable enough results. That said, I always like these kind of abstract conceptual games.

amijlee says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:34am

Interesting idea, I like the moody sound track.

pjchardt says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 5:40am

I agree with others that the premise is intriguing but I felt there was not enough feedback as to what I should doing. Interesting idea and nice mood.

shohs says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 7:03am

I really love the atmosphere, and the music really contributed to that. It's a bit short, but I guess that suits the trial and error style gameplay.

NozomiVulcan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:05pm

Worst game ever.....5 stars!!

Puzzlem00n says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 8:43pm

Got to the end eventually. Trial and error is not particularly good for games, but I understand if you wanted to experiment with it. At first, I thought the background flopping between sun/ sun and cloud would give me some kind of clue, but it didn't seem to.

dzebna says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:22pm

I like the music in the background, but the trial and error mechanic doesn't really make the game fun. It'd be nice if it was explain what was the player actually supposed to collect/do.

alwaysinbeta says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 12:42pm

Nice mood. Found it a bit confusing, but maybe that's the point...

Cake&Code says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 6:36am

Really well set atmosphere. Like others have said, some sort of feedback would be nice. I liked the way the tutorial worked through, very fluid with the game.

Floko says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:53am

The concept is pretty interesting, but I got a bit confused by the feedback :(
I mean, there was nothing to tell me it if I was supposed to pick up the blue or red circles, and finding that out by picking them up can lead me to some frustrating consequences ... It would be nicer to have some sort of indication so I know what i'm doing. Also, If the game doesn't use the mouse for any in-game action, it's better not to put the "click for replay" function...That way i'll keep my hands on the keyboard the entire time i'm playing the game instead of having to go for the mouse just for a retry.

I did find the blurriness idea pretty interesting and could result in a nice game with some extra feedback :)

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]