April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Less is more

by McBeef - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A game about simplicity.
I tried going for an artsy thing, but even that went away when I had to start cutting corners.
Anyway, I believe it still transmits it's message. Remember that less is more, and stick to the essential.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#483Theme3.61
#584Mood2.84
#811Innovation2.79
#1146Overall2.54
#1150Graphics2.21
#1204Fun2.13
#1503Coolness41%

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:40am

Took me a while to realize what I was supposed to be doing haha. Nicely done.

Jonapulse says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:46am

At first it was just pretty good for a laugh--guy walks around eating stuff while pretentious quotes play in the background. I found the bad ending and thought that was pretty interesting--trying to figure out how to make the world keep on decomposing. Getting the bad ending was my favorite part. But I couldn't figure out how to get the good ending quickly enough--just stay in the middle? I gave up. But fun and interesting.

badlydrawnrod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:12pm

Intriguing.

invaderJim says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:17pm

Interesting take on the theme. The graphical deterioration gets the message across pretty well. A little music would've helped knock a few more stars out of me, particularly in the Mood category :)

theGiallo says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:28pm

Nice one! Theme well applied to the game.

tony.pe says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:56pm

Nice message. Got the bad ending first, then it clicked, and I got the good ending.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 11:59pm

I liked the idea, maybe you could have made the good ending more difficult. Good job though.

lekochen says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:03am

You did transmit the message, nice quotes!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]