April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Keepy Uppy

by Paul Sinnett - 48 Hour Compo Entry

A minimalist game in Scratch. How to play: move the mouse to control the bat and attempt to keep the ball within the screen. Press the mouse button to restart.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness65%
#235Theme3.89
#700Fun2.82
#772Audio2.33
#839Humor1.86
#1019Mood2.38
#1069Overall2.66
#1259Graphics2.00
#1286Innovation1.89

Comments

Jesse111 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

Doesn't seem to be loading for me so far

Jesse111 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:23am

Nevermind, there it goes!

gokuhd says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:29am

Very nice game, it fits the theme well :). Have you considered letting the ball bounce on the right and left walls maybe would help the player to keep playing?

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:52am

I did consider that. It would make the game a lot easier, but it's difficult to know if that would make it better without a fair amount of play testing. I didn't have long to devote to the competition this year. The whole thing was made in about an hour.

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:59am

Out of interest, what's your highest score? Mine's 25 so far.

Kiwiboi says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:54am

Nice little game! ^^ as mentioned really fits the theme!

Jod says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:51pm

Well, defenitely fits the theme! I got 18. Would have loved if the noises you made on a succesful bounce would have somehow created a tune or something. It sorta sounds like that sometimes, but I guess it's sorta random, right?

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:58pm

Yeah it's random. It would be great to play a tune though. I definitely would have experimented with that if I'd had more time.

I did change the intro music. Originally it was just CEG but that sounded too 'final' when played and replayed. So I changed it down to CEF. Now it sounds 'incomplete' and the random additional notes carry it on.

qdowngames says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:26am

Haha fun!

Paul Sinnett says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:30am

Thanks. It helped that I stole a game idea that was already fun. It's a shame I couldn't think of anything to make it a little more innovative without adding complications.

Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:45am

In theme, work, and fun (kinda)! Good entry, though as you said yourself, maybe a bit too simple.

MegaBrutal says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:51am

Very fun game! My record is 22 so far, and I had to practice a little to reach it. I especially liked the sound.

I'd be curious of the source code but I can't download it - it gives a 404!

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:45pm

Hm. It seems that the link doesn't work. But you can download the source from the game page. The link is at the top right of the page.

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:55pm

Okay, I think I have the link for the source working now. You will need a copy of Scratch to open it of course.

Ariake81 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:14pm

Great inversion of pong, why have i never played it before!! I like the idea of using the walls. graphics sound and gameplay are a perfect match for the theme. it reminds me of california games - not enough hacky sack sims out there!!

larb says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:33am

Very minimal. Simple. And fun. I like the title. :)

ZYXer says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 12:37am

Well this is minimalism at its finest ;)
But I think I'm to clumsy for this game, I didn't make it past 8.

moomoo112 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 2:38am

using Scratch in LD, gutsy

tudd says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 9:00pm

pretty cool!

I agree with playing a tune w/ the sound effects
maybe making it speed up eventually would be good?

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 11:33pm

Or maybe I could have the walls closing in :)

Covenant says ...
May 4, 2013 @ 10:56am

I'm terrible at this! :) But excelente work, very minimal and yet fun!

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 6:56pm

I've posted an alternative web link because the Scratch web site is going down for a few days to upgrade to Scratch 2.0. I'll post about how to do that on the blog.

Paul Sinnett says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 1:21pm

Done. http://www.ludumdare.com/compo/2013/05/06/hosting-your-own-scratch-web-player/

GameRespect says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 3:39pm

Mesmerizingly minimalistic. Additional gameplay mechanics to make the gameplay more interesting would help though! Nonetheless, this is a very fun game :)

zkenshin says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 12:07am

Very fitting to the theme. :)

Erunaamo says ...
May 19, 2013 @ 9:21pm

Fits the theme all right, and it's classic non-computer gameplay I don't recall seeing in a computer game before. Cute. Pretty hard, but then it should be.

FREEZX says ...
May 20, 2013 @ 6:05pm

Nice and challenging little game.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]