April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

You can't step out of my way so we must fight

by C.D Buckmaster - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Player 1: Left=A, Right=S, Push=D, Grab=F
Player 2: Left=H, Right=J, Push=K, Grab=L

Press R to start or restart the game

YCSOOMWSWMF is a game about one dimensional, sumo wrestlers who, due to the linear nature of their reality, must push past each other in order to reach their aspirations. They take no pride in this senseless violence, but their warrior spirit compels them to push onwards, trampling over the dreams of others in the name of blind ambition.

The goal of the game is to push the other player backwards, off screen.

Each player can move left or right and push or grab the other player. Pushes have a long reach and knock the other player back, whereas grabs allow you to move the other player freely and stop them from pushing you until you or them break out by pressing the grab button. When a player is being grabbed by another player, their mawashi (belt) turns yellow.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

#153Theme4.00
#194Humor2.94
#439Innovation3.27
#532Overall3.19
#667Fun2.85
#1080Graphics2.32
#1140Mood2.18
#1485Coolness42%

Comments

Andrio says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:23am

Hilarious! Really really cool :)

JonRB says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:26am

2 players! What?! Love the game, can get a bit crazy. A distinct lack of instructions but it didn't take long to figure out. Very true to the theme and a pretty original idea.

TheFudster says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 8:26am

Love it. Simple yet clever.

finefin says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 12:22pm

1D? I'm sold.
have seen some sumo wrestling games, but no 1D sumo wrestling game. nice idea and execution.

robertcalvert says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:09pm

This is a fun 2 player game. Very cleaver.

berjah says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:12pm

gotta love 1D =) interesting game!

Ragzouken says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:27pm

The simplicity of this is great :)

IndieRetro says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:41pm

Not that fun, but the idea is pretty creative and funny haha:p

mushbuh says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:02pm

it should take place on a Möbius strip

Conve says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 10:28am

Really Cool!!!

netmute says ...
May 6, 2013 @ 12:10pm

Love the idea! Nice and simple :)
I was a bit hard to figure out what key I'm supposed to press to start the game because the font didn't make it clear.

Nikteddy92 says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 5:03pm

My friend is crying Muahahahaha

AndyBumpkin says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 10:25pm

Great take on the theme, One of the most minimalistic games I've ever played. And it actually is a game still! WOuld have been cool to have 1 player, but on the other hand since it was just me here, I never lost!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]