April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Minimal Deathmatch

by xgeovanni - 48 Hour Compo Entry

Well, here's my second entry to the Ludum Dare.

The enemy horde charges, you kill them.

The minimalism lies partially in the fact that there are very few images packaged with the game, with everything but the title screen drawn with code.

This limitation also forces a minimalist art style.

Controls:
WASD / Arrows - Movement
Click - shoot
ESC - minimise game window
Tab - toggle between click-and-hold or click-to-fire shooting.
M - toggle sound on / off

Note:
The game was originally released without click-and-hold shooting, which was added after the deadline. If you want to play the original, download the "Without click-and-hold" version.

Please post your scores!

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness63%
#670Audio2.51
#676Fun2.84
#713Theme3.38
#852Mood2.59
#940Overall2.81
#1007Humor1.57
#1089Graphics2.31
#1225Innovation2.06

Comments

Kinzata says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 4:34am

Click and hold is always nice for these types of games ;) Even if you shoot a little slower than otherwise. Having to click for every shot hurts the finger after a while.

lucasncv says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:05pm

Simple and classic. And click and hold is a must, indeed.

ashdnazg says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 1:27pm

I join the words of the wise posters before me :)

kreddor says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 2:43pm

Nice little game - lasted 235 seconds in my first try, and that was without click and hold :)

PushmePullyu says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:03pm

Nice minimum take on a dual stick shooter :D

kulhajs says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:04pm

251 seconds, 14520! Awesome game! and yay for Python!

egos says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 9:03pm

very simple

Destroyer40k says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:40am

I love the title screen, but don't like how it doesn't really look anything like the game itself. I also like how you don't limit the firing speed, so one can click away(or macro away). I also think you might've put too much HP for the player as it takes a lot of time to get killed in the game. Anyways, good job!

Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:45am

Nice twist to the traditional formula.

Madball says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 9:51am

Very plain and monotone. I just was going in circles, and green enemies couldn't reach me. I shot browns when they stopped, they're an easy target, and rare circles were the only hazard. Reached 597 secs and about 40000 score, got bored, suicided.

Tainted_Code says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:22pm

Click and hold is the way forward. I enjoyed this :)

Xatulu says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:04pm

340, 20340

Was a fun game and could have played longer as you can pretty easily kite anything, but i lost my motivation mid game! But good job!

multitude says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:13pm

classic - i wish there was something more...

Drabiter says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 11:56am

Wish there's linux/web version :(

intripoon says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 10:03pm

21040. Fun game!

Joror says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 3:11pm

Replace the green blocks with asteroids, you with earth and it is an educational game ;)

klianc09 says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Basically a complete game, but nothing special. I was missing something out of the ordinary.

JonathanG says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:37pm

A functional twin stick style shooter. With some tweaking could be more compelling, but as it is I got bored after a few minutes of kiting the enemies around. Ramping up the difficulty more quickly as well as making the bullets, player and enemies faster would help. I realise it's minimalistic, but games like this need to be "juicy" and give a lot of feedback to feel rewarding - explosions, satisfying sounds, score numbers flying off... The music loop could do with being longer.

gerritg says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:21pm

Plays OK, but it needs borders and I swear the controls locked in two times. Couldn't move left or right then. A solid entry.

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]