April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

Crystal Of Shadows

by Serilyn - 48 Hour Compo Entry

In Crystal of Shadows you are defending the crystal from some shades that were attracted by the mushrooms that some faes left nearby. The fewer mushrooms you have, the fewer shades will come in the future, and because they drain power, the power reserves in the area can't handle this many for very long. Minimize the number of mushrooms but keep enough so you can kill the shades that attack.

Hints:
You can move mushrooms with the hand tool.
You win the game if you survive a round that starts with fewer than 10 shades.

Tools Used:
Language: C#/XNA
Javascript Conversion: JSIL
IDE: Visual Studio
Art: Photoshop
Sound Effects: Microphone and Audacity
Music: autotracker and OpenMPT
Map Editor: Tiled

The Javascript version will run in Firefox or Chrome but Firefox is a little sluggish and has some sound problems so Chrome is recommended.

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness74%
#457Humor2.38
#457Overall3.26
#484Innovation3.21
#496Fun3.05
#584Mood2.84
#615Graphics2.95
#670Audio2.51
#994Theme3.05

Comments

sparkleswirl says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 6:53pm

This game is excellent. I really love the way you twisted the tower defense genre. Definitely very creative and fits the theme well.

lody says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 7:02pm

I started the first time a little lost (thinking it was a standard tower-defense game) and then came back to see your description (how to win) and it made more sense. Once I was playing with that in mind it is an interesting game.

VictorGrunn says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:48am

A good game, but gott in himmel, the audio when they fire.

KunoNoOni says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 1:56am

Loved the gameplay mechanics. very good use of theme.

Fadobo says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:14pm

Cool take on tower defense. Great game. Btw. JSIL? I never heard of it. You mean I can make my XNA games run in the browser?! I think I just peed myself a little out of pure exitement. :D

Julian Ceipek says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:21pm

A refreshing take on the tower defense genre that unfortunately seems somewhat underdeveloped. The mechanics are interesting and have the potential to make for a more compelling game, but the experience doesn't seem to be balanced very well; I didn't get the feeling that I was being challenged very much, and the act of juggling mushroom types, which seemed to be the game's focus, didn't feel very urgent because I was never in danger of losing the crystal resource.

mrexcessive says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:27pm

Tower defense cool. Not seen JSIL before interesting. Impressive all the lasers and fireballs, fun to watch once set up.

jukimv1986 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:35pm

Took some time on good connection to load (about 30 seconds). Very interesting concept, I like how you have to keep reducing the numbers without compromising too much. It could be more challenging if there were different types of shades, as I beat it in 4 rounds, but overall it was very enjoyable.

klianc09 says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 6:49pm

Already the second great take on the tower-defense genre. Well done.

8BitPimp says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 7:08pm

Nice effort put into this game, even though its not a genre I play much. I did note it ran very slowly in my firefox when things started to get going. Still good effort.

May 7, 2013 @ 7:08am

Very nice concept. You basically reversed the tower defence game. I really enjoyed slowly relearning to play. I wonder what other genres could benefit from such a reversal?

I lost my first game, but the second game I just started by removing all my non-yellow mushrooms. I won shortly there-after without loosing a single crystal. Yellow is OP! :p

Catman says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 7:26am

Cute little TD! The various mushrooms seems too strong to me, though!

dertom says ...
May 7, 2013 @ 9:52pm

Cool, very new TD-approach! Not that easy in the end. Funny animation of the shadows :D Good job

MaxSzlagor says ...
May 8, 2013 @ 5:13am

Interesting variation on the tower defense theme and the mechanics tie into the compo theme. Sound effects play at a very loud volume. Thank you for sharing!

kibertoad says ...
May 9, 2013 @ 4:34am

I really enjoyed playing this interesting take on TDs. I liked how I had to work my way down to a minimum of strategically placed mushrooms. Good job!

Tsuki_Usagi says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 4:16am

nice idea but must say that I didn't needed to do anything in order to win the game; just pulsed "go" and after all the shadows died, I won xD

I liked the music thought

PD: it also ran slow in Chrome D:

Serilyn says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 5:42am

@Tsuki_Usagi I think you either found a bug or misunderstood the winning condition. You haven't won unless you got the dialog that says "The shades have stopped coming! You have saved the day!" Yes just pushing "go" in the beginning will result in all the shades getting killed before they get to the crystal but that's not sustainable. The colors will drain over time based on the number of that color mushroom and eventually you can't push go anymore without deleting some mushrooms.

KevinLaity says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 2:04am

You have officially rocked the theme!

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]