April 26th-29th 2013 :: Theme: Minimalism

Ludum Dare 26 — April 26-29th, 2013
[ Results: Top 100 Compo, Jam | Top 25 Categories | View My Entry ]
[ View All 2346 Games (Compo Only, Jam Only) | Warmup ]

[ LD26 Video Compilation (x3) | LD26 Supercut ]

IMPORTANT NOTE: If you want to place in the final results, you NEED votes. The easiest way to get votes is by rating other games. Judging lasts for 3 weeks following the end of Ludum Dare. For best effect, rate 20 games as soon as possible. Rating more games is encouraged.

MORE TIPS AND DETAILS AT THE BOTTOM OF THIS PAGE

Back to Browse Entries

MinimizeArt

by ahm99 - 48 Hour Compo Entry

This is a game about a person who hates minimal art (see: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Minimalism). He hates it so much that he decides to minimize it by breaking into a museum/art gallery, stealing all the art, AND BURNING IT!

//////////// PLEASE READ //////////
// WARNING MAY CONTAIN POTATOES
// Java 7 required
// NOTE. THE TIMER IS POST-COMPO. I WANTED TO SEE HOW FAST YOU ARE
// POST YOUR TIME
// You can't grab paintings while moving (feature)
// There are only two levels but the second one is hard.
// Please play to the end as there are things I want you to see
// TO RESTART FASTER, SIMPLY HOLD SPACE AND THE KEY WILL REPEAT.
// My best time (and probably fastest possible) is 25
// (post-compo hard difficulty)

// POST-COMPO INFO
// See post compo speedrun here: http://youtu.be/sJetktlg7fE
Added difficulty levels
Added sound and music
Changed player image
My INSANE speed is: 23

// SOURCE INFO
// Source includes a script to compile the source (requires jdk)

Controls:
Arrow keys to move.
X to steal a painting (you don't have to steal them all)
Avoid guards by hiding in the dark

Remember, It's all about timing.

I had things to do so I ran out of time to catch bugs, which I will fix. I will also make a post compo.

Also, this is the first game I'm actually proud of.

Thanks for playing

Downloads and Links


Ratings

Coolness78%
#76Humor3.53
#731Fun2.79
#754Mood2.69
#790Overall2.95
#847Theme3.23
#865Graphics2.64
#890Innovation2.67
#1021Audio1.63

Comments

deige101 says ...
Apr 29, 2013 @ 3:04pm

Thought this game was funny. I too have infiltrated a minimalist art display.

CagedRat says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 12:47am

This may be the funniest game I've played so far.

dakeese says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:24am

I love the two-step game over screen.

Daniel H says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:42am

I actually laughed out loud.

JokerDen says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 3:57pm

It's have good humor sence!

EdoMiyamoto says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 4:19pm

I laughed a lot !

Joror says ...
Apr 30, 2013 @ 8:49pm

A bit too strict on the 'your are caught' for my taste. A little warning by the guard would be nice. :) Also, can't do a snatch & run (moving and hitting X) - by hands are fast enough! Otherwise fun concept & game, also not a big fan of minimalist art. ;)

Shugor says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 12:55am

This game if pretty funny. It has allowed me to unleash my inner desire: robbing an art gallery of its Minimalism. I never got too far though, the guards on the second level are too fast for me. As a side note, the potato is some quality art and is in the wrong section.

ahm99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:38am

Joror: I made it so you can't run and grab on purpose so it wouldn't be too easy. If the guards were any less sensitive I don't think it would be as hard. And as there are only two levels, that is important. But thanks for playing :)

Logan says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:47am

Time when I finally managed to beat it (all paintings): 42.

ahm99 says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 2:58am

Logan: Thanks for playing (and for actually posting your time). I hope you enjoyed it.

Blizzil says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 1:44pm

Funny idea and the second level is really quite hard, my timing was a mess, so i just managed to beat it in a really poor time (~70).

DBRalir says ...
May 1, 2013 @ 9:38pm

Nice game, restarting was annoying though. Time to complete a perfect run: 44.
(Unrelated: I ported my game to Windows if you want to check it out.)

ahm99 says ...
May 2, 2013 @ 3:20am

DBRalir: Sorry about that. I added a note that holding space practically teleports you to the play screen.

minibutmany says ...
May 3, 2013 @ 12:45am

Pretty good, kind of a puzzle game in a way, it took me a while to figure out the first level(mainly because i was trying to go up the entrance elevator). Game play was a little jerky but otherwise I thought it was a well planned and executed game.

Cyboot says ...
May 5, 2013 @ 8:06pm

Nice game and pretty funny ;)
Good graphics and fun to play. Good job.
Also I like to play some java-games from time to time :D

HelkeGames says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:03pm

Funny game, well done!

kddekadenz says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 7:28pm

The webplayer and the executable jar did not work for me. Probably my version of Java is outdated or anything.

ahm99 says ...
May 10, 2013 @ 8:13pm

kddekadenz: could you maybe enable java console and give me the error? Make sure you have the latest java version.

Sylvain.p says ...
May 13, 2013 @ 8:21pm

Good puzzles.

avidgamerNino says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 3:52am

I enjoyed the humor and take on the theme minialism

saggiosoft says ...
May 14, 2013 @ 2:20pm

Good job. I also enjoyed the "two fists" punishment!

ilo says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 11:16am

Oh man, I can't beat the second level. Still, nice humour and mechanic. Adding a speed-run on the post-compo version is a great idea too. :)

ahm99 says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 6:26pm

ilo: well I only added sound and difficulty on the post compo

JonathanG says ...
May 15, 2013 @ 9:34pm

This game was pretty funny, I liked the writing and the style of it. The spotting was unforgiving, but the game was short enough that it didn't make it onerous. The downloaded jar worked for me, but not the web applet version. Maybe that's just me. I only found a single sound effect in the menu. Some pink panther style spy music would add a lot to the comedy of the game. For 48 hours though, a very coherent and complete entry.

ahm99 says ...
May 16, 2013 @ 4:51am

JonathanG: I was actually planning on making "pink panther" music but I ran out of time. I have some written so I might add it in the next post compo, but I don't know if it sounds good.

stqn says ...
May 18, 2013 @ 9:39pm

You should mention that there's a jar available!
Funny introduction and "caught" sequence.
Problem: I have to release the arrow key before pressing X to steal a painting.
Bigger problem: I have to restart from the beginning when I'm caught.
Otherwise seems like a decent simple game; not sure how it evolves after level 2 because I didn't pass it.

ahm99 says ...
May 21, 2013 @ 2:32am

stgn: There are only two levels. I made the last level quickly. Also, I had a jar up, but I ran out of links for post compo :(

You must sign in to comment.


TEAMS: Teams entering the Jam should pick a single representative to submit your game, or create a team specific account you can share. We currently do not support Team Voting, but sharing an account and together playing and rating games is acceptable.

NOT LOGGED IN?: If you get a message about not being logged in, even though you are, it’s because your web browser cached the non-logged in page. You can fix this by either refreshing your cache or clearing your cache. CTRL+F5 in many browsers. Chrome is a bit more work. Press F12 to enable Developer Mode, then you can right click on the refresh button and select “Empty Cache and Hard Reload”. This option is unavailable if you are not in Developer Mode.

PORTS: Ports to other platforms can be done after the deadline. That said, the sooner you finish your port, the sooner people can play your game, improving your chances of placing in the final results. For best results, provide a Web version of your game, or a Windows version with no dependencies. Also be sure to rate about 20 games to improve your visibility.

MY GAME DOESN’T SHOW UP: If you can’t find your game, it’s usually because the URL to your downloads are missing ‘http://‘. Fix your URLs (http://mysite.com/mygame.zip) and you will show up.

MY GAME CRASHES, IS UNBEATABLE, OR I MADE A TYPO: We allow you to fix crash or win condition bugs after the deadline (in a sense, like “porting” to support more players). We also allow “typo” bugs. I.e. A true that should have been a false, a word that should have been a different word, very tiny changes that you would have caught if you had more sleep. We leave this open to interpretation, but generally speaking your game should be identical to the game you submitted. No new features, just things you messed up last minute. Typos.


[cache: storing page]